Bozzlife: Beer Saturday

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190927_200404.jpg


@mrsbozz and I were fairly busy for about half of our weekend. It all started Friday after work as most weekends do. Typically on Friday, we leave work and head to the grocery store to get what we need for the next week. Then we go out to eat and head home for the evening.

This past weekend was Homecoming for the school that we work at, and Homecoming Friday night means two things: a parade, and a football game.

For the last 5 years or so, the elementary school she works at has been having staff members drive trucks in the parade. The students sit in the bed of the truck and throw candy to the bystanders.

I was one of the truck drivers this year and @mrsbozz sat in a chair in the bed of our truck while the students sat in the bed and threw candy. Everyone had a great time and the weather held out leaving us dry.

We don't usually stick around for the football game, so after the parade we headed to the bar to get some takeout food and then home.

IMG_20190927_200413.jpg


@mrsbozz is a pretty big fan of Hefe-Weizen beers so when I saw this traditional looking brand in Trader Joe's, I knew I had to pick up a six pack. It wasn't until I got it home and was reading the outside of the six pack that I saw this is supposedly Germany's #1 Hefe-Weizen.

I don't know if it is just an American thing, but we tend to drink bottled beer right out of the bottle. That means I didn't get any good shots of what it looks like in a glass. I thought it was pretty good and @mrsbozz felt that it tasted very similar to the Trader Joe's brand Hefe-Weizen that we buy occasionally.

IMG_20190927_204554.jpg


After my Hefe-Weizen I was really itching for some of the Oktoberfest that I had purchased. The Leinenkugel Oktoberfest is probably my favorite Oktoberfest from one of the major brands. Samuel Adams would probably come in a close second.

Oktoberfest is quite possibly my favorite kind of beer. I think it is the perfect blend of a darker beer and a lighter beer. It is always a treat for me when this time of year comes around and I get the chance to try as many of them as I can.

As I said, I drink it straight out of the bottle, so no pretty pictures of the pour or the head for you!

IMG_20190928_212105.jpg


I know this is a beer Saturday post, but all of those were actually consumed on Friday. Saturday @mrsbozz and I had a wedding that we were invited to. Since I was driving I only had a couple spiced rum and cokes and then switched to water for the rest of the night.

Sunday was a lazy day filled with church, and sitting on the couch watching football. I can't think of a better way to end a Fall weekend!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Well, Oktoberfest beer tastes better in Munich fresh from tap. There is also the strong beer festival in the spring where the beer is a little stronger. So, if you come by, I can give you guided tour.

Posted using Partiko Android

Trust me, it is on my bucket list for sure! They have a Oktoberfest down the road from me in Frankenmuth, MI but I have never been to it. I see this year they had the Oktoberfest from Hobrauhaus on tap. That would be interesting to try.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

i would probably hang out on the sofa and watch football too... sounds like a great plan and was a regular part of my day 15 years ago when i lived in America. It kind of loses its appeal when it it 2am to 8am like it is over here though. Sometimes i do get up to see monday or Thursday night football at 7 or 8 am.... which just feels wrong and kind of ruins the rest of my day. Sacrifices must be made!

I feel the same way when they play those games in the UK now and it is on at like 7AM in the morning on Sunday. It's basically sacrilegious. :)

I am not sure i have tried that Oktoberfest Beer, but i have had a few of Paulaner Beers over the years including that style

I to drink Beer from a bottle hay the bottle is made of glass so to me it makes perfect sense

I think it was you that asked about what was behind the fence with the razor wire I share a shot of recently i passed by it again and i was right it is just trash bins and other junk nothing that poked like it had any vale

Wow, that is interesting that they would secure their trash so much!

Well I am guessing in the past they had something worth securing and even thought not now the razor wire is still there

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

hi @bozz, .. i worked in germany for a few years and the cloudy Hefe-Weizen beer was everywhere, .. its the only time i went through a few months of drinking it but its a bit too sweet really. i also went to the Octoberfest in Munich where large jugs (ooerr) of Lowenbrau were had. i just cant handle the volume nowadays... almost stayed over there, lifestyle is great.

That is awesome. I definitely want to make it there someday.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love Samual Adams Oktoberfest as well. Good stuff !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82