Why Isn't Entrepreneurship For Everybody?

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Hi there!! How are you?

So today I will share with you why I think entrepreneurship is not for everybody.

The Reality

Well, I'm not the best model. I'm 23 years old and I don't achieve any type of success yet. But I think I already can say "entrepreneurship is not for everybody".

The people just show what they want to show. It's very VERY hard to build a startup. We are always with issues, we need to say "no" to parties, social life, comfort and a punch of other thinks. 

Yes, after the bad times, the "fame", money, and other great think may come, but what about the beginning? Well, in the beginning, is a piece of shit. 

The Dichotomy Between THINK And DO 

@ricardocardoso wrote a great article on this topic. Everybody can have great ideas and usually, everybody wants to be more than already is. For me an entrepreneur is someone DO more and "think" less. 

An entrepreneur is someone ready to give up on the comfort, the certainty. It's someone ready to give up about a simple and peaceful life.

I really believe in this words. So for me, it's impossible saying "entrepreneurship is for everyone". I don't know a lot of people capable to give up of a peaceful life.

When I think in myself I don't know if entrepreneurship is for me. It's really hard to do this all the time. Sometimes, I just want to be on the bed watching Bleach or other shit like that.

Say No For What You Love

Like I said. If you think entrepreneurship is for you, you need to be ready to say "no" for your friends, for your PlayStation, Girlfriend, Parties, Tranquility, and so on...

If you can truly say I'm ready for entrepreneurship knowing all about this I really want to meet you better. Because I would like to understand how you think, what is your dreams and how can you be sure. I'm very curious about you! :)

The Ambition Need To Be Your Best Friend

I consider myself a ambitions guy. I'm in the last year of Marketing and Advertising and I'm helping to build Eddisrupt. But I'm thinking that really hard days are coming. 

We (I and Pedro) have the ambition to democratize the technological creation. So we build the first Bootcamp teaching the MEAN stack in Portugal. It's been a spectacular adventure! But equally tiring. 

In the last 2 weeks, I slept 4 hours a day. Why? Well, like I said, I'm a university student and an entrepreneur wannabe. So I need to split my time, energy and mental power. For me, it is a really hard task :/

You Need Like To Be Alone

In the begin is something really hard. Well, maybe other people are better than me in this eheh

But I lost my girlfriend when I decide to be an entrepreneur. It was one of the most difficult decisions of my life. Because when I decided this I knew that I was not able to take the time she needed.

The reason is I needed and need to learn a lot of stuff to achieve my objectives. I need to improve my social skills, improve my English, learn how to code, complete the course and a lot of other things...

Conclusion

I really don't believe that most of the people can do all that I said. At the moment, I don't know if I can do it too xb

If you read my last article "What Did I Learn From My Father's Mistakes In Business" you know that my father failed in this task. So I'm afraid I'm not ready to do this kind of entrepreneur life like the majority of the people.

All I said is just what I feel. Maybe I'm wrong. Maybe You have better answers. If you have, please, share with me. I'd love to hear your opinion on the topic. So don't be shy! :)

Some Interesting People

Before I saying goodbye, I would like to share with you 2 people that write REALLY GOOD content about entrepreneurship.

Check @bluedemon and @yasminep. I believe in the work of the people. So just check it out and say what do you think about them! :)

The Winner Of The Best Comment

And of course, the winner of the best comment: @anjkara.

She is awesome! If she starts to follow you, you can wait for really great comments!!

In the last post, she gives me a great comment where she shared a link to a great book.

The Best Comment

I give an upvote in all the good comments and I will refer the person who wrote the best comment in my next post (the best comment will be the one to start a good discussion).

See you later!


Sort:  

Hello Rui!

Entrepreneurship is a big step, most especially if you would like to do a start-up. You're going to give up on something just to focus on this. Not everyone who starts with start-ups are successful so you must have PLAN A, B, C, D, E and so forth. ^^

I do hope that you are going to be succesful. Steemit is a great community as well for you to share all your learnings and updates on how your project is going. I wish you all the best.

You are right. More them 80% more than 80% of startups fail. I'm trying make steemit my plan B.
Lets see if I can do it :)

Good work Rui!

I see you're growing your audience and that you already have a quite dynamic comment section.
That's great!
Cheers

Yes, I'm trying eheh
I would like a little bit more of engagement but I will get it :)

Thanks for your support! :)

Aw thank you so much for the shoutout Ddua :D

You're too kind.

About your drive to succeed and this article. I see you're trying so hard to get everything right. You work like a demon. You've got that hunger to be the best you can be.

That's all brilliant.

I also think you must do whatever you love to do and make that your job or your business.

Do what you love and you'll never work a day in your life.
-- Marc Anthony

You may succeed at the business, or not. But there will always be something you learn along the way. Nothing is wasted. You're bright and I'm sure your future will be too.

Best wishes
Anj x

You are a Sweet @anjkara! Thank you so much for your support!! I hope one day meet you! :)

I don't know if I'm a bright person ahah But I hope you are right about my future ahah

giphy (2).gif

Great post Rui, I took a look at EdDisrupt and it seems like a pretty ambitious mission.

I definitely find it interesting that so many young entrepeneurs are creating online courses for their first business venture - in many cases they're trying to teach skills that they are yet to master themselves (digital marketing and social media is the worst for this).

I think it's great that you seem to be offering something quite practical though, with a clear market opportunity around Portugese-language programming courses.

Best of luck, keen to follow your journey!

Thanks. I really appreciated your post.
Eddisrupt is not an online course, is a Bootcamp :)

I'm not a teacher eheh We hire professionals to teach the students. At the moment I'm in charge of marketing.

I hope you are right.

Thanks for the support! :)

giphy (8).gif

I have a 1 year old clothing business. Sometimes it give me so much stress when I cannot achieve the projected sales that I set. But it gives me so much satisfaction, that I have something to look forward everyday. It gives me the real meaning of "Everyday is another Day."

1 year? Great! What is the brand? Can you share the site here? :)
I understand how you feel.

What is the biggest problem that keeps you away from achieving the goals?

My short term goal is to achieve my sales projection per month. With this kind of business, we always rely on the purchasing power the public.

I get it. Do you have a site to visit? I'm curious about your business.
giphy (6).gif

Sorry but I am not online, I have a physical shop

giphy (5).gif

Why? Do you have some special reason?

EVERYTHING in U$A is "online" several times, we have YELP, Yahoo, Google, and the phone book sites that all host a page for the business and reviews. I suggest you get on there and claim your pages, and put up pictures. Over here this is all FREE, because the sites want the traffic.

Good tips eheh
giphy (7).gif

So let's do it @marloujen!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64