What Did I Learn From My Father's Mistakes In Business

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Hi there! How are you, people? 

First of all. Thank you so much for resteem my last post. I really like your content @bluedemon.

In today's post, I will share some mistakes that my father did and what I learned with them.

 Let's Meet My Father

My father's name is Eduardo. He's a cool guy. He studied until 12º grade. He is/as a businessman and he doesn't know anything about the "new world" like, code, blockchain, and stuff like that.

One of the most important things in his life is the family. He loves animals. Happiness for him is to be with the poneys, and the others animals we have on the farm.

So I think you have some idea who my father is. So let's start.

1.He doesn't care about technologic.

For me, it is one of the biggest mistakes. He has a lot of good things, but he doesn't know how to use correctly the Facebook, or take a photo using the smartphone or even make a downloading in Google Play.

When I ask him why he doesn't care or why does not he learn this simple thing he says something "I don't need" Or "This is to fast for me".

When I think about this last answer well, I understand. He left to much stuff behind. When he was born the internet doesn't exist! So Yah, it's normal.

For me, a businessman is an entrepreneur and for this reason, this type of people need to follow the disruptive things, the innovation needs to be the best friend. "Entrepreneur" is not just a fancy word. For me is a mindset.

The first lesson I take from him is "never stop learning". He stopped learning the disruptive things and now is too late.

2.Network, where are you?

Yah... Networking isn't his thing... He doesn't go any event about startups, or stuff like that. I feel that he doesn't follow the rule: If you want to be a victorious person, you need to be friend of 5 successful people.

His friends are great people! I really enjoy his friends but... They aren't big fishes.

The second lesson is "never isolate my self". If I want to be big I need to be where the big ones are. I need to see new ideas and improve my ideas. I can't be the better in the group. It's a hard task, not because I'm the best (I'm not), but because we are human beings. We want to be where we are the best.

3. I think this is the best for the clients

Yah... The old problem. It's usual to hear this. When we build a product or a service I build it for the clients, not for us. Yes, we can and we should give our touch. But just to improve what the client asks.

When we build a project about our assumptions something are wrong and can't be the market. 

The third lesson is: "always listen the market". The market says what he wants and he just gives then what he asks. 

And this leads us to the last point.

4. I just accept the perfection

This shit is horrible. The perfection doesn't a real thing. We are human, and we are not perfect so, how can we make something perfect? xb

In the last "startup" that my father built he spent over 500k euros. It's a lot of money! It's too much money for a project like that. He waited for everything to be over to send the product to the market. What do you think happened? The market rejected the product and we ran out of money...

The fourth lesson is "just make 60% of the product. Sent the product soon as possible to the market!". Anyone can predict the future. So it's impossible to get it in the first shot. 

Conclusion

I really love my father. He is an interesting guy. And he did the best he knew. I'm very grateful for everything he teaches me and gives me.

He had I really difficult childhood. When my father was young my family lost everything in 1975 (Mozambique decolonization). He did a lot of good thinks! Like, start your own business, visit almost all Europe, etc. My father is a really nice guy and he knows a lot of cool shit! For example, he is very good with number, in my case... Well, I don't know any arithmetic tables and my mental calculation is a crap...

So the final conclusion is in "my father's mistakes in business" is we need to be very careful what way we take. We need be always alert to any type of new input. And the most important thing in life is people. We need surround ourselves with the best of the best.

I hope you enjoy this post. It's a little be person but I think you can get some good examples for your life.

Like always, I would like to know what you think about. Tell me in the comment section if you think I wrong in some of the thoughts.

I give an upvote in all the good comments and I will refer the person who wrote the best comment in my next post (the best comment will be the one to start a good discussion).

Se you later!

Sort:  

I am reminded by the story of Gary Vaynerchuk how he was pitching tech to his dad when he was handling their wine business and how he was able to transform it and also start his Vayner Media empire.

I really appreciated the Gary Vee works. It's kind of inspiring :)
giphy (7).gif

What do you like more in Gary Vee?

Do you follow him on YouTube?

Yeah I follow him in Facebook and Snapchat and his videos are awesome to get you pumped up!
I have several of his books like The Thank you economy, jab jab right hook and the two Crush it books.
Excellent reading materials.

Wow!! A true fan I see eheh
Maybe one day you can meet him! :)

giphy (8).gif

Sounds like your dad did the best he could with the skills he had. It's clever to learn from his mistakes.

I agree that you need to keep on learning. Everything is always moving. If you stop learning, you fall behind.

There's a good book that talks about this: The Red Queen:Sex and the Evolution of Human Nature.

Cheers
Anj x

Yes, he did! :)
Hum... I will check the book. Thanks for sharing :)

Even I will check the book, the title makes it look kickass!

Tell me what you think about it after! :)

Thanks, Bro ='D

I'm very sorry to hear that you lost 500k. That's why I wrote, in my other article, that you need to create a prototype and then Pre-sell the idea.

Create a prototype saves you from bankruptcy and pre-selling tests the market.

Another great post.. love to read them =) Keep up the good work Bro. =)

ahah Thanks, man!
Yes, you are right. Create a prototype and then Pre-sell the idea is one of the most important things! :)

Thanks for your feedback. I really appreciated! :)

Ja se conheceram na escola?

Nop... Ainda não xb

I'm glad you two are helping each other... have you met in School already? :D

Nop... Not yet... Maybe in the next semester! :)

Definitely something we should do ;)

Do you live here in Santarém?
If the answer is yes:

Do you like beer?
If the answer is yes:

Do you want to drink one tomorrow? :)

It's always great to learn from our father's mistakes. Thanks for sharing this. If you have any other advice for Small Business Owners, use the hashtag #sbo i'm creating a community for like-minded thinkers! :-)

Thanks for your comment! I really appreciated!
I'm already using your hashtag!

Well, I have some more advice. In the future, I will write another post about this and I will use your hastag! I promise!

I will check the community! :)

giphy (8).gif

Awesome. No worries. Also love your posts. Keep them coming!

Thank you!! :)
Tomorow I will check your blog.

Here in Portugal is 5:27am and I need to sleep eheh
Se ya! :)

Nice post, glad you learned that much with your dad. I also learned a lot with mine, and he shares some of the traits your old man has.

Cheers!

Yes, it's true ahah
My father doesn't really like Tech ahah

Can you share what is the biggest lesson that you lernerd with you father? :)

Not to try and fix things that are broken. You'll do worse.

Nice one!! :)
I will remember this one.

giphy (10).gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55