Giving Thanks To The Shepherds Of STEEM

in #budget7 years ago (edited)

Woes of the witness and the salvation the elders bring

Pricefeed

Yesterday my witness server had an issue. The pricefeed failed irreparably.

I have been running he steemfeed-js since my witness went online a bit over three weeks ago. I found that over the last week I was having to restart it over and over. Eventually It got to a point I could not get it to run. The Feed name was locked in the Network Bridge and I could not get it to flush. Error after error, I was done.

Here is where I need to thank @yabapmatt for his new pricefeed. It works like a charm. It even continued to run today as I upgraded my witness configuration today to deal with the out of memeory issue.

Memory

Yes, I had to upgrade my configuration today as my witness server had an issue this morning. It ran out of memory.

My witness server is 1 half of a twin 1U Supermicro server, the other half is an in production MySQL server for a client of my hosting company. So I could not shut it down and pull it from the rack to do an upgrade of the the physical RAM. The board was stuck with 32GB Ram. Well I had an ace up my sleeve! A fresh deck of cards was dealt to me by @deltik about a month ago. So I knew what I had to do. ZRAM!

My Test Lab

I had a couple of these twin servers laying around from my hosting company and so I started working on my SEED server at home last week on one of them.
I decided to experiment with ZRAM since it was not yet a production SEED server so I could screw up and not be kicking myself for failing in a production environment. I read a post a month ago about making your STEEM server last longer with memory compression. This was my Ace.

Well I built my SEED server and before I ran the replay I installed ZRAM and configured it, I thought. Things went okay for a bit but I kept having an issue at about 19% of the replay. It would just stop running. I dealt with this for a couple of hours and finally posted to the witness channel on Steemit.chat. This is when @samrg472 piped up and mentioned I may need to remount the SAWP. DOH! I felt like such a noob! Sure enough a remount did the trick. My SEED server was running replay and not stopping in midstream now. It ran althe way through and is ready.

So I took what I learned on my SEED server and applied the ZRAM install to my Production witness server. But I had a problem. My server was up for a block in about 30 minutes and I could not do the install and replay before my block. I needed to disable my witness.

Right now I have not missed a block. My server is running very well and my Network is SOLID. I did not want to screw that little statistic up. I used the suggestion from @Drakos to disable the signing key with “STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm”. It Worked! Then I got started on my ZRAM upgrade.

I used everything I learned on my SEED server to configure my production witness server. A couple of misteps but I finally got the configuration right and my replay was up and running. 3 hours later it finished and I opened my witness wallet and put the active signing key back in and ran the witness_update and I was back. I may have missed my place in line but thanks to the sheparding from these other gratious witnesses I was able to get back in line and get my next block. I am still at ZERO missed blocks and my Witness server now shows a useable 64GB of ram and ZERO blocks missed.

Tomorrow I plan to clone my SEED server in Proxmox and bring the clone up as my backup witness. I have 4 new 3.0GHz XEON CPU's I am installing in place of the 2.0 running on both sides now.

That will allow me to have a SEED and my backup witness running on a single server using virtualzation and 32 GB physical ram. Now that's hot!

My Current Witness Server Settings
Specs:
8 Core (16 Thread) Intel CPU
32GB RAM with 32 in ZRAM
860GB SSD Storage
Unlimited Bandwidth
Ubuntu 16.04
APR: 0%
Account Creation Fee: 0.1
Block Processing Daily Average: 3.9
Blocks Missed: 0
Price Feed: Updated Hourly using @yabapmatt's pricefeed
Current witness rank: 82

Going forward using the knowledge I have now and the access to the rackspace and bandwidth I have, I plan on providing a full 512GB Ram RPC node for public development. I need to see crypto do another parabolic run up to the moon to swing the $9,000.00 for the equipment that the node is going to cost. That is my next commitment to STEEM and the devolpers on the network.

I have some others I would like to thank, (not mentioned above) that helped me along the way. Each of them has earned a witness vote from me because of there assistance.

  1. @Yehey for providing very well documented easy to follow guides;
    Build your witness
    Build your seed
  2. @jatinhota that gave me an alternative way to access my cli_wallet
  3. @bobinson that helped me with my original pricefeed configuration using steemfeed.js
  4. @someguy123 for providing the gtihub docker used in @yehey's guides. That Docker script is the BOMB!
  5. @Jerrybanfield for providing his @budgets program that helps underpaid witnesses below an active rank of 80 with additional steem helping us afford the cost of being a witnesses. I would also like to thank Jerry for all his how to and his "inspirational" videos. I would not even be on STEEMit.com had it not been for @Jerrybanfield. A true inspiration and the one witness I consider the STEEM Evangilist. We all owe Jerry a debt of gratitude for his undying preaching of the STEEM.

Nothing works with out community assistance here. I just want to remind everyone. Pay it forward. If you learn something new post it, share it. Push it up to github if you can.

Just my two STEEMS Worth.Steemerica_mini.JPG Steemerica_mini.JPG
Vote LibertyRanger as your Witness or Set Proxy.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses URL address then scroll down to Vote.

Or you may simply follow this link and click the Continue button to confirm your vote.
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=libertyranger&approve=1
Please follow me @LibertyRanger, Vote Up and Resteem
Thank you,
@LibertyRanger

This work is free for any use with attribution under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY) License.

Sort:  

nice

@libertyranger we are very grateful for your service as a witness! Thank you for keeping us updated and making the request for the 100 Steem as a witness below rank 80 which I just sent from @budgets!

For increasing votes, it seems one of the most helpful strategies when participating in the community is to identify those of us not making any witness votes and request they set us as a proxy because this proxy voting power allows for other witnesses more which creates a positive feedback loop for getting more witness votes!

I still did not understand what witnesses really do?

When you post a comment like this comment somewhere in the world that comment has to be stored. We run and maintain the servers that store that comment. There are a total of 20 main server distributed around the world. Having this many servers allows the steem blockchain to stay online 24/7 without any failures. IT is a type of redundancy through mass deployment.

The people like myself that run "backup-witness servers" stand ready to fill in when load is high or when a primary witness server may go off line for any given reason.

We are like the volunteer website hosting company of employees for steemit to put it in a more simple explanation.

You got my vote for witness. Good luck!

Thank you very much.
If you have more votes left over you may want to consider voting for those witnesses I mentioned in my post. They would appreciate your support as much as I do if not even more. They have certainly worked hard to earn the support and respect of the STEEM community. We each get to make a total of 30 votes.

When will the price of Steem go up?
According to the viral growth cycle of three months we are seeing now, we should reach over one million users around the end of 2017 or the beginning of 2018. The additional buying demand of these new users to power up Steem will drive the price steadily up for months to first over $10 and within another year or two over $100. Steem will eventually have the number one market position even above Bitcoin at over $1000 per Steem because it is the only cryptocurrency easy to get started with and practical for adoption by the masses. No competitor will be able to copy the format or features because at the rate Steem is growing they would need to offer 10 times more value than Steem as Steem does compared to existing social media websites and blogging platforms. Read more about the price increase

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you budgets for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 18.72% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Good information

thanks for the information,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81