Brock Pierce discussing Puerto Rico and plans to build the future in the present

in #brock-pierce6 years ago (edited)

Tonight at the Blockchain Unbound welcome party, I happened to hear (via @quinneaker) about a group of people heading to Brock Pierce's place for a party. @corinnestokes, @sean-king, @steemed-open, and I were hanging out and thought, "Eh? Why not? Let's go check it out."

His place is pretty amazing, and it was a packed party with all kinds of really interesting people. Brock gave a little speech which I was able to capture on my phone and wanted to share with you all. This was recorded Wednesday night, March 14th, 2018:

My favorite part:

"We're not here to judge the past. We're here to learn from it. We're here to be solution oriented and build the future in the present."

In case you didn't know, Last Week Tonight recently aired what some people describe as a hit piece on EOS and, specifically, Brock Pierce. EOS recently let Brock go as you can read in this official announcement:

Brock Pierce was an early advisor to Block.one for several months and made significant contributions to the awareness of the EOSIO project. His past experience working with projects such as Ethereum, Blockchain Capital, and as chairman of the Bitcoin Foundation have proved immensely valuable. As we mentioned last week, we recently came to a mutual agreement that Brock would end his role at Block.one as he transitions to independent community building and investment activities. We thank Brock for his contributions, support, and continued larger than life passion for the EOSIO project.

Side note, I can't help but wonder how much attention this news story would have given the STEEM blockchain if this was written on Steemit instead of Medium. Maybe @ned's dislike for aggrandizement cost us all something here. I for one would much prefer all cryptocurrency projects market themselves on Steemit, including EOS. Silencing a competitor with downvotes only shows weakness where a strong approach innovates and wins. I'm sure there's more to that story I don't know, so I'll just leave it at that.

So back to the story at hand... Is Brock Pierce an evil person? Did he do something wrong so many years ago? I don't know, and I don't know him personally. I do think it's odd that stories about his alleged misconduct get spread far and wide but videos like this from December 2017 only have 134 views:

Brock also directly denied the allegations three years ago.

Say what you want about Brock Pierce. As with many rich, eccentric people, he's a polarizing figure. Maybe EOS has their reasons for distancing themselves from him. Maybe he is just an actor, playing a role.

Either way, I think he's communicated a lot of really important ideas about how distributed ledger technology has the potential to radically improve the world. That communication, to me, is valuable and important. That means Brock is a valuable and important communicator, and I'm thankful for his contributions. I'm thankful he opened up his building today to celebrate the good things cryptocurrency can bring to Puerto Rico.

Day 1 of Blockchain Unbound starts tomorrow whenever I wake up and get down there (it's after 1am already). I don't plan to live post it, but I might be tweeting a bit if you want to follow me there.

Good night. I hope you enjoyed this little peak into something fun that happened today.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Luke! hope all is well. gret blog! upvoted! thanks!
We at promo steem see exactly eye to eye with you on marketing on the stem blockchain. we want to use exactly the same model for other projects as we did with promo-steem, infact we are planning ot move towards this very soon! Exciting times! my description of promo-steem is as follows:

As the world's first decentralized global promotion network, #Promo-Steem leverages the Steem blockchain and thousands of dedicated, voluntary promoters to grow the Steem economy. Promo-Steem rewards its volunteers using it's smart community rewards technology and provides a multitude of global research, marketing and blockchain consultation services. Applicable to a multitude of industries, the Promo-Steem model is set to disrupt the way charity, volunteering, innovation and value contribution are rewarded.

I wanted to inform you of an opportunity that promo-steem has for notable steemins and other major projects on the steem blockchain.

We are the media partners for the London Crypto Currency Show on 14th April. In return for this, we have managed to get our hands on 14,000 usd of promotional access in the form of 2 x hour long presentation seminars and one 4 x 3m exhibition stand.

Instead of using the presentation time and exhibition stand to ourselves we decided to let the major projects and notable steemians use it. So we are giving away talking spots and the opportunity exhibit at our stand for free.

This is quite a big deal since the London Crytpo Currency Show is organised by the London Investors Show, a well-established, long term investing exhibition which brings in crowds of 2,500 experienced investors through its doors at most events. This is therefore an excellent opportunity for the steem blockchain to make a strong mark at one of the premier blockchain events in the UK, and Europe basically for free.

Please see this blog for further details. I hope you are interested in either sending someone from your project to talk at one of the seminars, supporting the event or spreading the word to other major projects or notable steemians. https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@starkerz/exhibition-opportunity-call-to-steem-projects-at-london-crypto-currency-show

I look forward to hearing from you!

@starkerz

Thanks for thinking of me. I’m on vacation/traveling at the moment so I may not be able to get to it right away.

Enjoy The vacation!

Hi @starkerz indeed, it would be great if @lukestokes can go! He transmits optimism and lots of knowlegde about the Steem Blockchain and as an early adopter of Bitcoin in 2013, he knows a lot about blockchains.

I just posted a call for @thejohalfiles and @sndbox . Its here: https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@gold84/a-big-call-to-thejohalfiles-and-donkeypong-from-sndbox-to-get-in-touch-with-starkerz-anarcotech-stephenkendal-to-get-space

Regards, @gold84

Hi @lukestokes , Have a good time in Puerto Rico.
Regards, @gold84

I always found him to be super positive about our industry. Personally I think Panama is a better place to build a community for Crypto but heh, I am partial. Resteemed

It’s kind of hard to compete with Act 20/22. I really should get out to Panama to compare things though. :)

I really wanted to be there for this meetup. I was planning moving there 1 year ago and hesitated now since the bad hurrican Maria....Are there tourist job available and infrastructure of electricity, water and gas back to normal in the bigger cities?

Yes, the areas that you would visit are all back up and running with full power, water, etc. 80% of hotels on the island have reopened for business. Old San Juan and Condado in particular are rockin!

Thanks for info.

What's that got to do with the post? I really wanted to be everywhere... and I'm not, and it's fine...

It feel strange to read good night as it is early in the morning for me :))

I am on the same opinion that @ned should reconsider letting @dan to promote EOS here. As it is right now, he ia not reducing the popularity of EOS, but he is moving away traffic from Steemit, and we already have a reduced traffic lately...

Don't you see... It was over promoted, so they had to do something ...

Yeah, it definitely was over promoted, the first article promoting something that I have seen here on Steemit that I remember too, were articles about EOS. Maybe it will be a great technology when it will be launched and maybe @dan was here only to promote it, so no matter if ned would have flagged it or no, he would not have brought a great advantage to this platform since that traffic would have been redirected to eos.io.

The truth is that if a project is great and better than the rest, it will succeed even with little to no promotion so Ji guess that if this is the case of EOS, @dan has nothing to worry about.

Meetups are platforms to meet new people and learn new things. Thanks for giving us a clue of what happened at that event.

Good night

It's truly an honour to listen to the speech of such personality, it opens your vision and motivates you to put more of your effort in the blockchain when you listen to such people, I am little bit jealous of you that you were there, hope you learned something and you will share that stuff with us

I thought a while ago about what I would do/think with regards to this in the event I got more involved in crypto and met Brock at some point. I try not to care about what happened a long time ago, especially in this case where I don't really know anything. Obviously I can't unlearn what I've learned, but I'm more into what someone is doing now.

With that said, he definitely opens himself up to ridicule with that stupid hat, but whataya gonna do. If I had the money I would highly consider joining the community in Puerto Rico because I feel like America's present is shit.

Hey @ lukestokes , great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work!
It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)
??Please ??see my profile

It goes to show how we value ppl... Why society is soo afraid of things that they all do? Who really wants to trow the first rock, and over what? Let's stop playing Elvis music/songs cause he was a perve, or a Hi head... It's the worst way to judge a person... What's that got to do whit the work that a person does.... Ohhh, I won't support you anymore... I've seen you like blondes... This is as stupid as it gets... I hardly have an idea who he is, but if he was good on what he did, should have nothing to do on how he liked... Everything turns Hollywood... Crap society....sooo, don't tell me you like "the doors" but you are against ppl. crapping... :))

Success for good plants...
I like it with your best opinion in next plants..
Success is always for you @lukestokes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75