Shoot the messenger at your peril ... and financial loss!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #brandambassadors8 years ago

So, utopian social media is ready to meet the world! The SteEMPOWER revolution is ready.
Apologies for being the old fart who plays devil's advocate and suggests otherwise.

Here is the post with well over a thousand endorsements: Steemit Marketing

Well done to the herd.
The self-congratulations being passed about are premature.
Here's why:
I, like everyone, am new to Steemit but I am not new to social media - there are structural faults. See this: Functionality Fails

Rather than anyone being grown up about the situation my post was pulled from the platform and I was accused of being belligerent, see this: Responses and Accusations

Why not get your ducks in a row so that you maximise value rather than go off half cocked? Do you, the early adopters really think that people are going to put up with this kind of stuff? There are 112,000 registered accounts. Great! How many are properly active?

I wrote a piece which outlines a few failings: Business start ups and it is down to us. For a post about a business it received a lot of attention!

Ned and Dan still have work to do if they want to realise the potential of this platform.

I might well get shot at for this comment but having managed a reasonably big public company and having worked in digital marketing, I can see enthusiasm insisting that the sun has risen at a false dawn. I am a fan of Steemit and am posting on 100% Steempower option BUT ... don't minimise the opportunity. The tech guys have got a lot of work to do.

Sort:  

Based on what I have read in your posts, it sounds like you're having some problems on your end and you're assuming that these problems are indeed problems with the blockchain or Steemit. I can tell you that I use two different browsers on my desktop and also use Steemit daily on my smart phone - and I've ben doing this since early August. If something goes "missing" or if there is something that appears to be a glitch with the blockchain or Steemit, it is almost always something browser/cache related on my end.

Rather than anyone being grown up about the situation my post was pulled from the platform...

Your post cannot be "pulled from the platform." Once it's on the blockchain, it's on the blockchain. The only thing that can happen to it that can "hide" your post after that is a downvote(s) strong enough to counteract your own upvote and those of the users who have upvoted you.

There are 112,000 registered accounts. Great! How many are properly active?

There have been roughly 6,000 to 8,000 active "users" per week, lately. A lot of these "active users" are in fact accounts that are automated, voting-only accounts. This is something that is well-known around here and it has been an ongoing discussion around the platform for powerful and powerless users alike. You can scroll through some of my posts from the last few weeks to see a few discussions about that issue. I'll get you a link to my most recent one that you might find useful.

Ned and Dan still have work to do if they want to realise the potential of this platform.

Indeed. There is a lot of work to be done and there is a lot of work being done - and not just from Ned and Dan. There is actually another project - busy.org - which should be moving into beta testing in Q1 of 2017.

As to the "hard fork" that you asked about in another post - you can find the info about it from the @steemitblog.

I would suggest learning a lot more about the site and give it a little more time to understand how everything is working (or not working) around here before making assumptions. If you're not familiar with the different terminology and functions, it's easy to be confused and frustrated - trust me on that. Most of us have been there. There have also been a lot of people (myself included) talking about many of the issues you have mentioned and there are many projects that are attempting to address these issues. Not everything is solely in the hands of Ned and Dan.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. You can also head over to https://steemit.chat/channel/steemprentice and fire some questions at them. The people there are very helpful and there are a lot of sources for you to read about many different aspects of the blockchain and platform.

[EDIT] Give this a read and be sure to check out the comments section. There is a user - @clayop - that mentioned bot voting. See my reply to him about that. It might help you understand why some posts get tons of votes and others do not. My previous post is also linked at the beginning of this one.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ats-david/steemit-we-have-a-problem

I am very grateful for your reply - you are the first person to have been attentive - I have written in very supportive tones about all of Steemit. There is huge potential! It is, however, potential. I am not throwing baseless complaints - on the occasion that I did suggest there was a problem I received a swarm of thank yous for saying what they did not know where to send the self-same issue. I received 34 upvotes in about 10 minutes - yes, some could have been automated but I do not have 34 followers. There are now 43 upvotes! My suggestion here is that there is not the capacity on the platform to cope. My alert icons do not work, I cannot power up, my passwords are all over the place and my permissions are like a confused octopus trying on shoes.
If 100,000 people joined Steemit tomorrow the negative media chat would be like the worlds biggest avalanche. I am trying to be helpful in a tide of 'yes men and women'. Standards matter! If you have seen my post about it being up to us and if you have seen my being accused of being belligerent for asking 2 questions, then I hope you would see that my motives are nothing other than value adding.
I am an experienced manager of international companies at the upper end of your age demographic. I am not some snotty moaner with a victim to find!

BTW, I use three browsers and refresh the full way around. The post did disappear and I am aware that certain people can make a highly valuable upvote so someone can make a highly valuable downvote. I do not know where the down vote facility is! Here, I am not trying to be right; I am just trying to explain that there is a fair amount of awareness of functionality issues in Steemit land and I suspect that the pacifiers are having to deal with too much of it! One word of acceptance or acknowledgement would go a long way! Such are people ...

@ats-david, I have just read your post https://steemit.com/steemit/@ats-david/steemit-we-have-a-problem - it seems we are on the same page!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59