J. G. Ballard's Inner Spaces and the Psychological Landscapes of Silent Hill

in #books5 years ago

In the sweep of human history, accounting for both where we're going and where we've been, the number of births will balance, completely and unalterably, the number of deaths.


Alley.jpg

J. G. Ballard is usually shelved in the Science Fiction section.

Despite this, his work has only a surface resemblance to the tales of space opera and exploration portrayed by Isaac Asimov, Frederick Pohl, and the creators of Star Wars.

Ballard's stories aren't outer-space adventure tales. Instead, they are fantasies of psychological fulfillment.

You might argue that so many of his characters come to violent or tragic ends. How could this be fulfillment?

The author did not see things this way. He felt his characters were psychonauts of "inner space" who followed their true natures to destinies denied weaker men.

NoGrill.jpg

There's Laing from High Rise, who found peace in the disintegrating social structures in a Brutalist housing tower, ultimately cooking a neighbor's Alsacian for supper. There's the community of car-crash fetishists, one whose ultimate erotic desire was to perish in a head-on collision with Elizabeth Taylor. There's the man from The Enormous Space who abdicates all responsibility and contact with the outside world, and finds his home expanding until it fills the entire universe.

Ballard took scenarios of ecological destruction and physical isolation and then showed us the people who sought them out, because they could only be satisfied in a world with these conditions.

Ballard spent several years of his childhood held by the Japanese in a concentration camp in Shanghai. He describes this in his most famous work, Empire of the Sun. When the Japanese disappeared and left the camp un-guarded, the prisoners were reluctant to step out of their cage. This goes some way towards explaining his affinity for psychopathy.

But one does not have to spend years as a prisoner of war to step outside the psychological norm.

Our genes go deep into the past, and it's not easy to understand their every desire.

CarBack.jpg

I recently worked my way through Ballard's collected stories, a sometimes-bewildering tome of 1400 pages. Pairing this with Extreme Metaphors, an equally lengthy collection of his interviews, shed a new light on his approach and obsessions. I found myself jumping back and forth between the volumes, devouring this fascinating life a decade at a time, first as fiction, than as recollection.

It was a journey worth undertaking. It brought me more completely into Ballard's particular fictive world, but it also allowed me to see the possibilities inherent in all fiction: both for psychological escape and fulfillment, and for breaking down the barriers between internal and external landscapes - or rather perhaps for laying them on top of each other like a pair of transparencies, to see where they align and diverge.

So, it turns out, those possibilities aren't just in fiction. They're in reality too, insofar as we can understand it.


Cars.jpg

I'm not sure what's so mesmerizing about the town of Silent Hill.

Anyone of traditionally-considered "sound mind" would not want to spend any more time there than they had to. - but then again, isn't this what we volunteer for when we purchase a game that can take scores of hours to complete?

Silent Hill is a town of metaphor. Sure, you're taking on bandaged, pus-seeping zombie nurses and hiding from a butcher-executioner who drags around a cleaver horrifyingly over-proportioned for the bloodiest abbatoir. But you're chasing after a woman who, it turns out, is your wife recently dead from cancer. (Unless you run from all the conventional human concerns, flagrantly ignoring them, in which case you get the ending that has something to do with space-aliens.) Those monsters represent all the things you can't control, the worst of all being your own guilt.

RustyTanker.jpg

What I don't understand, as I take stock of my own inner space and its relationship to this landscape, is why I should find the place so damned comfortable. The filthy, decaying apartment blocks, the constant sense of menace and danger always infuriatingly just-off-screen, the strange appeal of monstrosities so gory and glistening that they transcend disgust and enter a realm that's downright beautiful - it takes me to a place so familiar it feels like home. Maybe it's an externalization of the anxiety and dread that pervades even the best of my days. The overwhelming sense that, when it comes down to it, we're all just meat living on the wholesale slaughter and consumption of creatures whose lives are so bleak and dismal it's no longer legal to photograph their conditions. The sense that the world we perceive may or may not actually be out there, but exists instead as a reconstruction within our minds that has, thus far at least, allowed us to perpetuate our patterns and the ability to maintain what psychologists refer to as "consciousness," while understanding that every minute of this consciousness is a minute of borrowed time, revocable at any instant by a universe we only pretend we comprehend.

This is all on the surface, in Silent Hill. It's written into the landscape. So a man can settle in there. He knows where he stands.


Schute.jpg

I'm a minimalist in my day-to-day life.

My tastes in architecture range towards clean, open spaces and unadorned surfaces, counters of grey marble and stainless steel and walls painted resale-friendly eggshell-white. I could live comfortably in the lobby of a law office, or in the operating theater of a surgery, taking my meals on surfaces that have held gore and ordure and been wiped down with bleach to gleam again.

I'm obsessed with getting by with as little stuff as possible, because I know that every object around me is going to rot, rust, and decay according to the dictates of an entropy which is tied to the pervasive clock ticking at the heart of our expanding universe.

The things we own are a burden. I've grown up around clutter and spent decades picking up the pieces left by hoarding grandparents. The photos in this post represent a small part of my family's legacy. At some point my mother will die and we will have to dispose of five generations' antiques, sorting the garbage from the treasure, for there are no future children to cherish and maintain these objects. I am tempted to just light them all on fire.

I've had tenants trash my house so badly that they turned it into a flea-infested diaper-strewn nightmare so foul the local health department nailed an official notice to the front door. The third time this happened it got to be too much, and we just handed the keys back to the bank. You can only battle so much chaos, and it's best to keep your struggles small.

If I let the dust accumulate, if I don't wash a dish before the sauce crusts over, if I don't throw out an unused object before purchasing a replacement, that ruined house rises around me again just to rot again. I know I'll soon be overwhelmed by gore, filth, ichor, blood and shit in a space with shattered windows and a soggy, leaking roof shedding plaster as it sags towards an inevitable collapse.

Horror tells us that this is survivable. Or it's not. Or only for some.

And that it doesn't really matter. Because in the sweep of human history, accounting both for where we are going and where we have been, the number of births will balance, completely and unalterably, the number of deaths.

Weighed across a span of infinite time, babies and corpses burden the scales in precisely equal measure. In a universe of such bewildering complexity, inconsistency, and chaos, where the arrow of time points irrevocably towards entropy and decay, this fact, at least, should bring some comfort to those who are troubled by uncountable numbers, randomness, and vague feelings of injustice.

Ambulance.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Signature illustration by @atopy.

If you'd like to read more, you can check out a categorized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

I am also bothered by kipples around me. They always seem to pile effortlessly, both in real and digital format. Your writing makes me think about them and bring some kind of small relieve about the nature of the world.
                     
Lovely post and congrats for the curie vote, Winston :).

Thank you, @scrawly!

I haven't heard the term "kipples" before. Is it an Australian word for clutter?

What an awesome read. Really great insight. Love your work

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thank you so much!

Great review. I did not know the author. I'll check what's available online.
I liked your final thoughts. Actually, the idea of randomness gives me some solace. It helps me cope with daily injustices

Hi winstonalden,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

What a wonderful surprise! Thank you.

Wow, nice post. I am glad to see that we still have good authors on the platform. I can't wait to see the next post.

Thank you so much. A comment like this means the world!

Congratulations @winstonalden! Your post received a small up-vote from @wod-game as little gift.
We are a small group of people who want to create the next big Video game for Steem.
Want to know more about us?
Steem: @wod-game
Discord: Click here!

Have a nice Day!

I love Ballard's novels and if I didn't have this enormous heap of books that I have decided to read in 2019 (Marcel Proust for one) I would immediately embark on the collected stories boat. Must be the project for 2020.

I also remember the Silent Hill game. We all sat around my cousin who was the best player and watched it like it was a feature film.

This post is the best vanitas-post I have read on Steemit. Somehow we all know that we shall die, but there's nothing like a good reminder!

So glad you liked it, @katharsisdrill.

Good on you for taking on Proust. That's been on my "maybe someday" list for ages. I've got an old translation of it from the 50s that's been kicking around my grandparent's place but I think I might want a more modern one.

It's funny, I played most of Silent Hill 2 and 4 with my niece watching and chiming in with suggestions. I'm actually kind of crappy at video games. And maybe her presence and shared pleasure is why I still think of those games as so "comfortable" despite being so dark.

Sometimes it makes you wonder why the horror genre enjoys such popularity as recreational entertainment. I guess that we prefer to have things on our retina, instead of in the back of our heads. The angst is somehow materialised and we can examine it.

As for Proust, the fact that they actually made a very praised, new translation and that my daughter was bragging about me having it ganged up on me, so I am just doing what I have to do. As for most literary classics, you end up enjoying it. They arenøt classics for nothing.

Which translation is it? Maybe I'll give it a go.

Oh.. I am Danish so I guess that would be a bit of a mouthful. When you consider how few of us there are it is impressing that they keep translating these old classics.

I read a lot of English books, probably half of what I read is English, but my French is not good enough to board this pram. I have had plans for a long time to read something manageable in French like a Maigret novel, but like you and the *In Search of Lost Time * it is on the maybe I'll do it list for now.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @clayboyn from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44