You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: J. G. Ballard's Inner Spaces and the Psychological Landscapes of Silent Hill

in #books6 years ago

I love Ballard's novels and if I didn't have this enormous heap of books that I have decided to read in 2019 (Marcel Proust for one) I would immediately embark on the collected stories boat. Must be the project for 2020.

I also remember the Silent Hill game. We all sat around my cousin who was the best player and watched it like it was a feature film.

This post is the best vanitas-post I have read on Steemit. Somehow we all know that we shall die, but there's nothing like a good reminder!

Sort:  

So glad you liked it, @katharsisdrill.

Good on you for taking on Proust. That's been on my "maybe someday" list for ages. I've got an old translation of it from the 50s that's been kicking around my grandparent's place but I think I might want a more modern one.

It's funny, I played most of Silent Hill 2 and 4 with my niece watching and chiming in with suggestions. I'm actually kind of crappy at video games. And maybe her presence and shared pleasure is why I still think of those games as so "comfortable" despite being so dark.

Sometimes it makes you wonder why the horror genre enjoys such popularity as recreational entertainment. I guess that we prefer to have things on our retina, instead of in the back of our heads. The angst is somehow materialised and we can examine it.

As for Proust, the fact that they actually made a very praised, new translation and that my daughter was bragging about me having it ganged up on me, so I am just doing what I have to do. As for most literary classics, you end up enjoying it. They arenøt classics for nothing.

Which translation is it? Maybe I'll give it a go.

Oh.. I am Danish so I guess that would be a bit of a mouthful. When you consider how few of us there are it is impressing that they keep translating these old classics.

I read a lot of English books, probably half of what I read is English, but my French is not good enough to board this pram. I have had plans for a long time to read something manageable in French like a Maigret novel, but like you and the *In Search of Lost Time * it is on the maybe I'll do it list for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65