The Monthly Reading Review: January Edition

in #books6 years ago (edited)

When I'm not spending time doing research or performing my various duties across Steemit and Discord, I enjoy reading. I've done at least one book-related blog in the past, but I've decided to branch out a bit and provide some more insight into what I've been reading lately in case any of you are looking for recommendations (or books to avoid).

stack of books

Therefore, today I'll be listing all the books I read in January of this year, giving a brief summary of the plot and what I liked or disliked about it, and providing a final rating and recommendation.

Tarkin by James Luceno

This is the first novel I've read from the new Star Wars canon books released after Disney acquired Lucasfilm and labeled the entire Expanded Universe as "Legends." I was quite disappointed at the time, but this book has helped sway me. I've read some of Luceno's other Star Wars novels before, so I was hopeful after my brother got me this book for Christmas.

Tarkin gives insight into the life of Grand Moff Wilhuff Tarkin (yes, his first name is Wilhuff) before he ascended to his position at the helm of the Death Star, where we see him in A New Hope. There are some interesting moments, as you find out about the events that shaped his personality, going all the way back to his childhood.

The book also explores his title of Governor, which is how Leia addresses him in A New Hope, despite his current rank of Grand Moff. I thought it was interesting to learn about the rank of Moff, as well as Tarkin's relationship to the Emperor following the Clone Wars.

The best part of the book, in my opinion, is Tarkin's interactions with Darth Vader (apologies for this mild spoiler, but it's a book about the time period leading up to A New Hope, Vader has to make an appearance). We learn a little about how Tarkin perceives Vader, as well as how the Emperor used each one of them to accomplish goals.

When it comes to writing a book about a character which so many people know very specific information about, it can be difficult to refrain from writing a story that only serves to reference things that are already known, rather than focus on the story at hand. I call this issue "The Peter Jackson Hobbit Trilogy Fallacy." I realize that was with movies, but I believe it can still very much apply to books, especially when they are based on a universe created originally from movie screenplays. Luceno avoids this fallacy, and writes a great standalone story that gives great insight into Tarkin as a villain, Vader as a force in the galaxy, and the early days of the Resistance movement against the Empire.

It's a fun read, especially if you're a Star Wars fan. It has four out of five stars after 600 reviews on Amazon, and I tend to agree with that assessment.

I give this book an 8/10 and recommend reading it if you want somewhere to start with the new Star Wars official canon books.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The second book I read in January was probably my favorite. I'm just going to go ahead and say it. If you're reading down the list and you want to pick from which of these books to read, this is it.

The Name of the Wind is the first book in Patrick Rothfuss's Kingkiller Chronicle, which currently only has two books, but for which one more is planned. If you're a fan of fantasy at all, this book will engage you from the start. The story follows Kvothe, a mysterious character that legend surrounds. The book tells the story of his background, from when he was a small boy. The story is told from his perspective, as he is recounting it to someone who is planning to write a sort of autobiography of him.

We learn of his troubled past, his struggle to survive, his experiences with magic, and plenty of other fascinating encounters with other dangerous characters. Rothfuss builds a universe rivaling that of Tolkien's Middle-Earth, and it was a marvelous adventure discovering how Kvothe fit into the entire picture.

It's hard for me to really describe what made me love this book without spoiling major themes and events in the book, so I'll just leave it at that, and I hope you'll take the time to read it. It's a very dense book, so expect it to take a while to get through. I didn't want to do anything but read it when I was working my way through, so perhaps you'll feel the same way.

There is currently a second book in the Chronicle, and if you've been following my blog, you'll know that I found a signed copy of it at a thrift store a few weeks back. I plan to read the second book soon, so I'll be sure to let you know my thoughts.

When it comes to modern fantasy epics, this book gets a 10/10. It has been one of my favorite books I've read in the past few years, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Lord of the Rings and other fantasy epics.

Warp by Lev Grossman

I'm not going to waste much time on this one. I had seen a few episodes of The Magicians on SyFy, which is based on Lev Grossman's trilogy of the same name. I enjoyed the underlying story, so I will probably read the trilogy eventually, but when I found Warp on discount at my local bookstore, I picked it up thinking it would be of similar nature.

It wasn't.

Probably one of the most pointless and boring books I've read. I'm not sure if it's because of the topic, which surrounds the coming of age of someone who grew up in the 1980s, and I grew up in the 90s, or if it was just because it's Grossman's first novel. Anyhow, it's not very exciting, I didn't find anything compelling about any of the characters, and the most exciting thing that happens is that a bunch of teenagers break into a mansion while the owners are away.

I do not recommend that anyone else waste money on this book.

Don't waste your time or money. It's a 2/10, and it got those two because I somehow read it all the way through.

  • Google it if you want, I'm not providing a buy link

Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton

Pirate Latitudes is the first of Crichton's manuscripts published posthumously. I've been a big fan of some of his other works, including Sphere and Jurassic Park, and Pirate Latitudes has been sitting on my shelf for a while, so I decided to pick it up and read it. I'm a big fan of pirate stories, which you'll know if you've followed me for a while, and I definitely enjoyed the premise of the story.

The book is set in the golden age of piracy in the Caribbean (where else?), where we find a renowned pirate who is commissioned by the governor of a locality to raid a Spanish fort that everyone else has labeled impenetrable.

The story follows this pirate (or privateer, as he prefers to tell everyone) as he assembles his crew and embarks on the journey to accomplish the impossible. It becomes a fun adventure which involves the typical pirate themes of swashbuckling, sailing, and treasure.

My largest criticism of the book involves how Crichton treats the women characters. There is only one strong female character in the book, and she's one of the pirates. The rest seem like they are only there to serve the purpose of fulfilling the lustful desires of the male characters. I realize that people's attitudes toward women's roles in the 1600s were not the greatest, but I didn't appreciate the flippant way Crichton approaches these scenes. Typically, there will at least be some redeeming quality in the main character when it comes to his approach to women, but no such behavior emerges, as the main character enjoys his choice of women throughout the novel.

The book is also quite descriptive of violence during pirate fights and interrogations, which is to be expected, but it furthers my warning to younger readers that this book has mature themes.

This book gets a 6.5/10 from me. It's a quick read about a fun pirate adventure, but its handling of mature themes falls short.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

I'm not sure I have much to add except echoes of the great reviews this book has gotten over the years. It's the fascinating tale of an investigative journalist who is tasked with the impossible: solve a disappearance case from 40 years ago that everyone else believes to be a closed case.

Larsson's characters are extremely compelling as Blomkvist, the journalist, meets and interviews members of a family which is surrounded by scandal and mystery. I very much enjoyed the adventure. The pacing was very well-done for a mystery/thriller novel, so there weren't very many boring parts of the books. Clues are found at just the right moments to keep the story moving, and the girl with the dragon tattoo herself is a fascinating character who helps Blomkvist sort out the mess. There are a few parts that might be considered unnecessary, but I don't think they take away too much from the story.

There are many mature themes throughout this book, but they are dealt with much more thoughtfully by the author and his characters. It's a very interesting look into the life of an investigative journalist, as he attempts to sort out his personal issues on top of his desire to solve the mystery.

For anyone who enjoys compelling characters and a great story with enough clues and misdirection to keep you guessing, this book is a great read. You don't have to take my word for it, as fellow Steemian @naquoya wrote his own review and summary of the book a while back.

I plan to read Larsson's other two novels in the series, so I will be sure to share my thoughts on those at a later time.

Final assessment is a 9/10. It's a great mystery with a few slow spots, but overall well-done.

Lost Empire by Clive Cussler

A while back, I was able to purchase several Cussler novels from a local bookstore for almost nothing. I have seen the books around for years, and I knew he was a bestselling author, so I decided they would be worth reading eventually. I was looking for a quick read to pick up, so I grabbed Lost Empire, which is a book in Cussler's Fargo novels, a series that follows a husband and wife treasure hunting team. I like treasure hunting, so I decided to give it a read.

The book ended up being exactly what I expected, which was a fast-paced story of the couple getting themselves into countless dangerous situations, miraculously making their way out, and then ultimately finding the treasure they were looking for. Of course, this isn't a bad thing. It was a fun, quick read, so if you're looking for something like that, there's nothing really wrong with it.

The story of Lost Empire involves a missing Confederate ship, the Aztec Empire, and East Asia. It's impressive that Cussler connected all of those things now that I think about it. Anyhow, I anticipate that Cussler's books are all very much like this one, so I'll have to keep that in mind before venturing into another one.

This book gets a 7/10 for being exactly what I expected. A treasure hunting adventure where the good guys win.

An Elegant Solution by Paul Robertson

Finally, we arrive at this book. This one is special, because I know the author very well. He's a member of the church I attend, so throughout getting to know him, I discovered he has written several books. He allowed me to borrow a copy of this one, and I was delighted to get the chance to read it.

This particular novel is set in 1725 and follows the story of the mathematician Leonhard Euler through his studies at the university in Basel, Switzerland. I would classify it as a historical fiction murder mystery. As you read, you discover the intrigue, mystery, and deception surrounding the university and its history. When a member of the town is discovered murdered, Leonhard must riddle his way through all sorts of skullduggery and subterfuge as he seeks to find out what's really going on.

There are many historical references throughout to mathematical advancements, so it's a fun story if you're familiar with Euler and his pursuits. I found the book particularly enjoyable because I know the author, but I believe it to be worth a read for anyone who enjoys a mystery.

There are occasional pacing issues, and sometimes the mathematics jargon can add confusion to the plot. However, Robertson makes up for this through his characterization of Euler.

I give this book a 7.5/10 for having a compelling cast of characters and fascinating setting.

Final Thoughts

Overall, this was a great batch of books (except Warp) that I enjoyed tremendously. I'm currently making my way through Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach Trilogy, so you can expect blurbs on those in next month's reading update. I'd love to know your thoughts if you've read any of these books, so feel free to comment!

I'm also taking recommendations for future books to read, even though my list is already way too long. Thanks for stopping by!

Note: All images are taken from the Amazon listing page for these books, and I believe this constitutes fair use of the image covers. Please purchase these books if you are interested!

Footer

The STEEM Engine

Footer

Sort:  

Very nice selections!

I haven't read The Name of the Wind yet, but I've been considering it. The fantasy aspect turns me off but... well, if it's as good as you're saying, I may like it more than I expect.

I tried reading The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo once and was bored by it. I have heard lots of good things about it and it's definitely on my list of books to try again.

The Elegant Solution is a book I haven't heard of but I have a strong math background, so I'll probably pick it up too.

Oh, and, p.s. I'm just now reading my first Star Wars: The Old Republic book -- Revan because I play the MMORPG and want to know more about the character. ;)

Thanks for the list and I'm looking forward to more!

OH! One more thing -- keep an eye on my blog if you want. The movie Annihilation based on Jeff's book Annihilation is coming out on the 22nd of this month. I know they've taken some liberties with the story, but I'm more interested in seeing how much of the feel of Area X they've kept. I'll be writing on that the day after the movie comes out -- getting ready to re-read the book now.

If you enjoy The Southern Reach Trilogy, get every other Jeff VanderMeer book in existence. He's one of my absolute favorite authors and if you search for him on Facebook, you can follow his FB feed. Jeff and Ann are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet and they do fantastic work together as well as separately. <3

I feel like I have so much to say in response to your two comments. So I'll respond to both here.

The Name of the Wind is great. I had it recommended to me by a friend back before Christmas, so I picked it up, and I was so glad I did. I'd say at least give it a try even though you might not be keen on the idea of a fantasy epic.

Dragon Tattoo is a bit slow at the beginning, now that I think about it. It's well worth finishing, however, because once it picks up, it keeps going at a great pace.

I see from your blog that your degree is in physics & math, so I think you would appreciate the historical fiction of An Elegant Solution, and since Paul is a friend, I know he would appreciate you reading it!

I actually played SWTOR several years ago and enjoyed it tremendously. I hope you've played KOTOR if you enjoy Revan's story. I believe I've read the Revan book, but I've read so many Star Wars books that I can't remember. I love The Old Republic lore, though. I'm hoping for a TV series or movies based on it eventually. There's so much room to expand the Star Wars universe there.

As for Annihilation, I started reading it because my wife and I recently got MoviePass, and we couldn't escape the trailers for the movie. Even from the trailers, I can tell that they've made some massive changes (including the big shimmery border, I mean come on. haha), and I, too, am interested in how it's going to turn out. I'm also curious whether they will incorporate elements from the other two books into it. I'm almost done with the second book now, and I've definitely enjoyed it.

Thanks for the recommendation to follow Jeff Vandermeer on Facebook. I think it's great that you're a big fan and that you've appreciated his personal touches on social media.

I'm not sure how you found my blog, but thank you so much for taking the time to leave such engaging comments. I can see that you're new to Steemit! That's so great, welcome to the platform! I went looking for an intro post, but I couldn't find one, so I'd encourage you to get one up as soon as possible so people can see what you're all about! Edit: Apparently I'm blind. I did find your intro post. haha

It looks like you've got the engagement aspect down, so I wish you success. I'm happy to provide tips and answer any questions you may have about the platform!

Once again, thank you. I look forward to reading your future posts!

Ethan, you really ought to pick up everything by Jeff if you like Annihilation and Authority. I'm actually intending on reading all of the books again -- everything I've found that he's written -- and write reviews and then a summary of all his work for Steemit. Jeff Vandermeer is one of the great weird writers out there.

Oh! I don't know but he's also got a book about writing out called Wonderbook. If you're interested in writing fiction and you want to know more about it -- far, far more than you'd learn in a lot of other writing books -- you may want to take a look at it and pick it up. Even if you're not interested in writing yourself, but are interested in how writers come up with their ideas or their stories, or how they put them down on paper, or defeat writers block and the Impostor Syndrome that comes with it all, it's a damn good book. Like a Master's degree in Creative Writing, just all wrapped up in an illustrated book.

I love watching Jeff on Facebook. I'm a friend of his (and his wife's) through Facebook and have watched him go from semi-famous author to the NYT Bestselling author he is today. It's been exciting and I can't wait til next wek to go see the movie. He's had to keep quiet about it, but he's extremely giddy and excited too, curmudgeon that he wants to claim he is.

If you enjoy the Southern Reach Trilogy, pick up Borne when you're done. It about a giant flying murderous bear named Mord and a thing discovered on his back who gets the name Borne. Yeah, it's wild and crazy, but as I said, I love the man's writing.

I guess the biggest question I have about Steemit is where to promote posts and that type of thing. I want to find a following of like-minded individuals and I can't tell you how hard that can feel sometime. I'm trying to engage as much as possible with everyone though. I like the cryptocurrency aspect of it but the main thing for me is to really just find some people who I can hang out with online who like the same things. I have many diverse interests and can't help but want to share all of them. If you have any tips, any ideas or suggestions, feel free to float them my way. :) I'll take anything you're willing to share :)

Thanks for the upvotes and the follow earlier. I appreciate it!

I really appreciate the recommendations! It's always great to follow the story of someone else's success. I'm headed over to Amazon to add his books to my list so I don't forget!

Just finished up Authority and moving on to Acceptance now. It'll be interesting to see the movie, for sure. I'm looking forward to it.

As to your post promotion issue, that's what groups are for! I help lead a group called The STEEM Engine, which is a community that has a Discord server dedicated to supporting our members' posts and promoting quality engagement (like your comments on this thread, so you'd fit right in) among the members. If you're interested, you can click the STEEM Engine banner in my post above or visit the group account @thesteemengine to check out our latest curation post and see what sort of things our members are writing about. We'd love to have you come submit an application soon! Let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you again for your engagement on this post. I appreciate all of your thoughts, and I'll be sure to let you know my thoughts on Annihilation next week.

I would love to submit an application. Tell me what I need to do and I'll be happy to do it :)

Sure! You can join our Discord server and you'll find all of the instructions for applying as well as more about our group and our mission! Let me know if you have any other questions!

I am of the opinion that you can never read enough. Read the girl with the Dragon tattoo, really liked it. I've recently started doing audio books and I am completely hooked. Instead of listening to music when I'm out I listen to books, much better use of time. Sorry for my absence of late, the travel life and lack of internet has kept me away

Hey Jason, it's good to hear from you. Thanks for stopping by. Can't wait to hear about your travels and such. Have you been attending any of the Olympics?

I know a lot of people enjoy audiobooks. Personally, I don't find myself in the situations to take advantage of them very often since I don't have a long commute to work, and I usually have time to read. I know they've made books very accessible to more people though, so I'm glad you can enjoy them!

Yeah, audio books are a recent thing for me, but I am definitely hooked. Maybe its because I have been doing a lot of traveling lately so I have more time to just sit and listen. I still enjoy the feel of a book though and I am almost finished my latest book, 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, great book if you ever get the chance to read it.
I'm just back from Vietnam, heading to the Olympics tomorrow, excited to see some of the best athletes in the world compete for their countries

When I'm not spending time doing research or performing my various duties across Steemit and Discord

You MUST be kidding....how can one possibly do so many things :/
Btw, thanks for taking the time to review the books, I will try reading the top rated ones when I either have time or I become a time controller like you :)

The time for reading usually gets factored in right before bed. My wife and I like to read before going to sleep. So there's usually at least a little while to read each day. I do have a lot going on in my life. Sometimes I wonder how I keep up, but I just enjoy what I can!

I'm glad you enjoyed the book reviews! I hope you'll get the chance to read them, and then you can let me know what you think!

Yes, will do!

Thanks for reviewing these books! I haven't been reading fiction for some time, being busy with work and some non-fiction reading, and so this list comes in handy.

I think I will start with The Name of the Wind as you recommended. I can see where you come from when you suggested it - with a rating of 4.6 and a mind boggling 7,019 customer reviews on Amazon, I'll be missing something if I decide to skip it.

I'll follow it up with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and An Elegant Solution to finish up my reading list for the next one month at least.

Great detailed reviews of these books! I also admire your time management skills knowing you from The Steem Engine and Discord. (-:

Glad you enjoyed the list! The Name of the Wind is excellent. I'm glad that I had a friend recommend it to me because it's such a grand adventure. I'm sure you'll enjoy it. I'm glad you're considering reading some of the others also! You'll have to let me know your thoughts, or perhaps write reviews of your own (even if they disagree with mine, haha)!

Glad you're part of The STEEM Engine!

I like to read novels
because reading a novel is one of the exciting activities we can do in our spare time. especially with the exciting story and has extensive insight for the reader

It is very exciting to be engaged by a great story. I appreciate your comment!

I read all three books from Stieg Larsson and they are all great! I think I will give Name of the Wind a try, looks interessting.

I'm looking forward to reading the other two. I have them already, I just moved a bunch of other books up the queue ahead of them. Thank you for your comment. Good to know you enjoyed them as well!

Interesting list of books you have selected. Mostly new names or titles for me, so I'll be looking into these further. Your reviews are great, giving enough details about the books and authors to decide whether to pursue them or not. And thanks also for the mention.

Glad I could mention you. I have enjoyed reading your book reviews!

I appreciate you stopping by to read this post. You'll have to let me know if you decide to read any of them!

Reading is the best thing you can offer yourself.

Thanks for the Gates quote. I definitely have my list of books ready to go when I'm at home. It's also nice to have a Kindle when I travel, because I have access to books without having to physically carry large amounts of books.

I'm glad you enjoyed this post! Thank you for the comment!

You really read a lot great to have so many recommendations :D

I did read quite a bit this January. Sometimes when I start reading, I get on a roll and I use all of my free time to finish books. It can be quite fun, though. I enjoy a good story!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 48 (2/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59