Like Free and Discounted Ebooks? Check Out These Services

in #books7 years ago

My wife and I recently purchased Kindles. I’ve always enjoyed reading, so books are something I would purchase occasionally or perhaps check out at the library. Shortly before I got my Kindle, I discovered several websites that provide access to free and reduced price ebooks. This got my attention because many of the bestselling books or popular books that I would want to read would go on sale, and there would be no way to know about it. Often times, our local library’s digital ebook collection through Overdrive would be backed up with weeks of holds, so being able to grab a book I wanted to read for $2-$5 was very attractive.

Once I got my Kindle, these services became even more useful. I was able to grab many great books for $2 or less, even some for free. I wanted to share these websites and email lists with you in case you are an avid reader and are always looking for new books to add to your collection.

1. BookBub

BookBub

This one is probably my favorite. The main service BookBub offers is a daily email with free and reduced price ebooks. They provide links to where the books are on sale, usually Amazon, but often times they will be available via Barnes and Noble or Google Play if you have a Nook device or other tablet. When you sign up for an account, you indicate which genres of books that you enjoy reading. BookBub then personalizes your daily email with books from those genres that are either on sale for $5 or less, or are free that day. Many times it will promote lesser known and upcoming authors, so if you enjoy finding new authors to read, BookBub may be for you.

However, my favorite feature of BookBub is that you can follow specific authors. This is helpful because whenever a book by any of the authors you follow goes on sale, you’ll get a specialized email letting you know about the sale. I’ve been able to grab many great books by my favorite authors this way. If you’re in no rush to purchase a book, this can be a great tool to snatch a good deal.

You can login to BookBub and change your author and genre preferences at any time, so if the emails get annoying, you can decrease their frequency. If you’re interested, you can sign up here!

2. BookGorilla

BookGorilla

BookGorilla is another service that sends personalized emails based on the genres you choose. It’s not very different from BookBub, except that the variety of books are different than the ones BookBub usually displays. I’m not sure how they choose their algorithms or search for book deals, but BookGorilla has shown me some of the best ones that I’ve purchased. BookGorilla also hosts contests and giveaways on Amazon, so they will often include links to those in their emails as well.

Like BookBub, BookGorilla also promotes upcoming authors, so you may find new and exciting novels or novellas by authors who haven’t yet hit the big time. Reviews and snippets about the book are also included, so you can get an idea how other readers feel about the book, especially if it’s one you’ve never heard of. If you like the idea of having BookGorilla in addition to BookBub, you can sign up here!

3. Early Bird Books

Early Bird Books

Early Bird Books was the first daily ebook email service I signed up for. It consistently provided good titles, many of them free, that I added to my Kindle library. The interface is very similar to the previous two email services and includes a heading for each book that lets you know if it’s a bestseller, etc. I like Early Bird Books’ email formatting the best out of the services I’ve listed in this post. It’s simple and easy to read, plus you can read a quick summary of the book and see the cover art.

There isn’t much else to say since the sign up process is very similar. Pick some genres, and the next day, you’ll have an email in your inbox from them! You can sign up for Early Bird Books here.

4. EReaderIQ Daily

EReaderIQ Daily

Finally, EReaderIQ Daily is another similar service that works almost exactly the same way. Sign up with your email address, enter your preferences, and get a daily email with book deals. EReaderIQ Daily also has a feature which lets you add books to a watchlist, and the filtering options on its website give you more control over searching for books which are on sale.

Again, many times their algorithm will return different books than you’d see with the other three services, so it might be worthwhile to sign up for this one also. You can sign up for EReader IQ Daily here!

I hope you enjoy using these services and that they help you build a great ebook library!
Be sure to let me know what kinds of books you get on sale, or if you have other suggestions for picking up free or cheap books!

If you're looking for a way to improve your posts and learn more about Steemit, consider joining The Unmentionables on Discord! We're a great community always looking to help members along on their Steemit journeys. Learn more here.

Featured image courtesy of Pixabay.com. All logos are property of their respective services. Other images are screenshots of emails I have received from these services.

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Click the Image to Join Our Discord Server:

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Buckbooks.net another rather good one and its author Buck Flogging highly pretentious but amusing. He picks out some good business books and fiction too. Highly recommended. I'd only heard of bookbub out those those above, so got some exploring to do too. Thank you.

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll definitely check it out. Let me know if you grab anything good via these services. It makes me happy to facilitate good deals on reading materials!

I usually read from EReaderIQ Daily if I get some very nice book, but you know these books library does not have programming books. I have to subscribe for Safari Books to get all the books which I want to read. Nice share.

Yes, unfortunately they dont have books in some categories, but I'm glad you've found alternative places to get books. That's great.

Bookbub has long been a haunt of mine. The others are all new to me; I am in your debt.

Glad you've already been taking advantage of BookBub! I hope you'll find the others to be just as helpful. Let me know if you grab any great books!

Dude, I really appreciate this post. I've been meaning to pick up some more books lately - I was gonna grab a cheap tablet or Kindle, so these sites are definitely gonna get bookmarked for future use.

Thanks man! Great stuff as always from you :)

Great! I don't know what it's like to tablet or Kindle shop in Malaysia, but best wishes. I grabbed one of mine via Amazon Warehouse Deals and got a great deal and the thing was brand new even though it was listed used.

I hope you'll be able to use the ebook services! There are a lot of great free ones that I've gotten but I haven't read them yet. They look good, though.

Thanks for stopping by :)

Thanks so much! I'll definitely check those out.

Thanks for the post! I've been a proud owner of my kindle tablet for several years and my kindle e-reader for about a year and a half. I've found myself constantly reading while on my commutes. I will definitely check out these sites to increase my selection of e-books for reading. How do the prices compare with Amazon or Amazon Prime? Thanks again for the post. Very good information.

I hope you'll be able to find some good deals.

Most of these websites use algorithms to track book price drops on Amazon, so they actually link you to the book's purchase page on Amazon. You buy it just like any other ebook for Kindle. As far as the prices, usually they don't list a book unless it is on sale for $5 or less. Most of the time they are $1.99. I know I picked up the book Hidden Figures for $1.99 right before the movie came out earlier this year, so I got to read it before seeing the movie which was very helpful and informative.

This is great - I am forever forgetting the names of books/authors that I enjoyed as I read and then delete from the kindle - using one of these to track authors and get notification would be super useful?

Cheers

Thanks for your comment! I do hope these services will help you in the future!

Just checking in on you to say hi and saw this awesome post. 😁 Nothing better than reading ebooks with the Kindle app on my phone. I have really considered getting the Kindle Oasis but it's more than I want to spend right now. A want, not a need.

I'll for sure check out the link you included. 🤓

My wife and I both have Kindle Paper whites. They've been great so far. Got a good deal on both of them, because, yes. They are rather expensive at full price. Keep an eye on the used offerings on Amazon if they're sold and shipped by Amazon Warehouse Deals. Often these are items that were returned and have an open box, but they are still in excellent condition and the price is lower. That's how I got one of our Kindles!

Let me know what you think about the links!

Awesome thanks for the tip! Will keep you posted!

Good resources to cut out the chase scene for many folks. Now, if they will actually read.

Yes. I suppose the shed part is actually making time to read the books you purchase. I know I've grabbed many more books than I've read, so I'll have to get back into a habit of reading and maybe do some book reviews on my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44