Week Two: Preparing to prune trees in Winter [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago (edited)

20180216_165932.jpg

This week I'll be preparing to prune some of the small bonsai trees in my collection.

As you may know, Winter is Coming...

tenor (2).gif

...to an end, and the buds on the tree branches are starting to swell with vigorous life energy.

Here are the four trees I will be pruning for this week.

Forsythia #1

Pictured above is forsythia.

Check out more photos of this tree in my post from this past summer called Little bonsai tree waiting for Spring.

Forsythia #2

20180216_170054 (1).jpg

This one shown above is also forsythia, but it is a completely different tree. Both of these two forsythia trees were originally cuttings from the same mother tree.

Check out more photos of this tree in my past post Identifying inner spirit within a young tree.

Unknown Variety

20180216_165944.jpg

This one pictured above is a bush I haven't been able to identify yet.

Check out photos of its vibrant red, yellow, and green leaves in my post about it called Burst of Colors.

Maple

20180216_170023.jpg

Lastly, this is my maple tree. It is not a Japanese maple. It is a tree that grows native in our area here. Most likely it is a Vine Maple.

There are many photos of this maple tree in my post Four Seasons of Tree Growth. I also have a friend who made some paintings of this tree. It is becoming quite the star of my collection.


All of these trees shown above got pruned today. Strategic pruning at the end of winter will help these deciduous trees generate more energy into the best buds, to make the tree healthy and beautiful in design.

The work went really quickly, simply by cutting off the dead wood areas, and sticking to the rule of two I wrote about when I showed how I pruned my Chinese Elm. If you enjoyed that post, you'll definitely want to follow me this week.

Stay tuned, and I will release future posts about each of these trees throughout the week. I will be sharing photos to show you the after images of what they now look like with the pruning done.


Bonus: Also stay tuned for this Sunday when I'll be sharing the results of my first saikei (rock landscape) project.

At the next bonsai meeting I attend, I'll be working with the rocks I collected to build a new landscape scene for bonsai trees to grow in.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Tree is the most important element for the environment.Tree plantation is must for any country.Thanks for introducing us to bonsai.It is a new experience for me that I ever have seen this tree.
Thanks
@resteem & follow done.

Do you grow flowers sir? I would definitely advise you to include some flowers too of different kinds accustomed to your weather.

Oh yes. I grow yarrow, sweet pea, chicory, crocus, roses, daffodils, tulips, hyacinth, azalea, Asiatic lilies, ornamental cherry, ornamental pear, butterfly bush, vegetables, herbs, and my favorite is tiger lily. I'll be sharing lots of photos for people to enjoy once they start blooming.

This would a real fun. I have some plants but I should take a leaf out of your book and start working on growing more.

I'm trying to grow mini roses and, whenever I receive the seeds, some cherry blossoms as well:)

waw, I want to see the flowers, I'll be waiting for that, don't forget to tell us when the flower grow up @creativetruth
my job is about furniture, you can see here https://steemit.com/art/@razha28/art-furniture-how-to-repair-the-couch
I hope your flowers will be nice..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63