Four Seasons of Tree Growth [Bonsai]

in #bonsai7 years ago

20170624_074414.jpg

Introducing my final bonsai tree in my collection. This is definitely the most photogenic tree I own. All year round its personality comes through. This was also the first tree I of my collection.

ID: 0020
Nickname: Aurora
Type: Maple
Age: 7 years
Grown: yamadori
Last repotting: April 16, 2017
Wired: never

Let me tell you a bit of back story on this tree, because I am very proud of it. Not because of what I did to it, but because of what it did for me.

I found this tree growing out of the root of a larger tree. The root was spreading into the sidewalk and causing it to crack. It was actually growing on the other side of one of those wire tornado fences just a hand distance away. Since it was growing on a manicured golf course where small "suckers" like this one are normally plucked out and tossed away as yard debris, I did not feel so guilty when I ripped it out with my bare hand to give it a new home. If somebody in the neighborhood saw me do this, I probably would have gotten in trouble for disturbing nature or stealing. Somehow I doubt the groundskeeper would have minded. Maybe they would have thanked for me saving them the work.

This tree only had one single lateral root growing underneath it with the tree growing up out of it as a single sucker. I had pruned the root on both ends, so that gave it double the opportunity to form new roots out from both ends. The first time I potted this tree, I did not know anything about bonsai soil, and I used regular potting soil.

The tree grew.

I knew nothing about how often to water the tree, fertilizers, or how to protect it for the winter. I just watered it whenever the soil looked like it wasn't damp enough, and I never fertilized.

It continued to grow.

Eventually I started growing other trees, less successfully. Some more successfully. Learned about how often to fertilize, and types that can be used. Also began to experiment with more breathable soils. It wouldn't be until a few more years until I would even learn about bonsai soil, or consider using a more rocky medium to grow it in.

It just grew.

I did not know where to prune this tree, so I picked one branch to prune after the second year. I was so careful not to harm the tree, that I only clipped a small piece off the end. The next year, I clipped off a little bit more, focusing on the dead branches it no longer needed. Then I put it into a bigger pot and planted at an angle so the new shoots would have to change direction towards the sun, and it created a natural back curve near the top of the trunk. Last Spring, I pruned the tree very aggressively in the spring, removing all the new leaves, forcing the leaf nodes to re-bud and further divide the branches.

This tree doesn't care. It puts out leaves twice a year for me, and maintains its health with hardly any help if I leave it alone. This year, I am enjoying the results of all those past years that formed the tree design I now have. This tree has taught me so much, and it has been a patient and powerful engine capable of enduring through any complications I may have foolishly made to it as a beginner bonsai enthusiast. It would teach me how my actions affect its growth habits, all without suffering any negative health effects. No matter what challenges I throw at it, it knows how to grow efficiently in a suitable environment. It takes care of the rest. Is it not also this way with the children we raise?

Watch...

20171107_090846.jpg

This is what my tree looks like in the current season. This is from early December before I bundled it up for winter.

20170323_165546.jpg

Here's what it looked like waking up at the start of Spring. It still has a thick layer of mulch on the soil acting as a winter blanket.

20170329_170033.jpg

Only days later, and the buds open. The petals look like little peach flowers, but these are really just the bud leaves, not true flowers.

20170416_144256.jpg

On this day, I brought my tree to the local bonsai club. They helped me to repot the tree in a way to anchor it to the pot, and conceal the wires.

20170921_095934.jpg

In Summer, the long leaf stems really open up the tree. It is very appealing because the large leaves create a full canopy, yet allow full view of the trunk and branches.

20170921_100022.jpg

On the back of the tree, the fine roots are visible at the soil line. Some of the roots are becoming slightly thicker, which is a very good sign that the tree is displaying characteristics of age. Even bark is starting to develop a crinkled surface.

20170601_091212.jpg

Burn this image into your brain. You will thank me later.

20171020_174137.jpg

Fall reveals the next layer of beauty in the enduring maple tree.

20171020_174153.jpg

As the sugars leave the leaves, the cell walls break down. Air oxidizes the leaves like rust. Each leaf is a potential masterpiece.

20171022_131224.jpg

Soon the whole forest floor will be redecorated. Fallen leaves will also feed and replenish the earth, and protect sensitive roots from the bitter cold winds, and the pounding rain.

20171025_092610.jpg

Orange copper leaves.

20171026_093019.jpg

And warm caramelized butter.


Bonus Photos:

You won't believe what your friends are capable of sometimes. I shared some photos with one of my dance students, and she painted this masterpiece.

20180102_201752.jpg

All watercolors.

Then she took my one of my winter photos, and painted a perfect pair to match it.

20180102_201813.jpg

I had no idea how impressive they would turn out until she shared it with me this week.

She was so happy with the results, she decided to gift the set to me.

20180102_201706.jpg

It was a magical Christmas gift.

Sort:  

I liked seeing the care of your bonsai tree. Without knowing about the bonsai soil, you have taken care of a very good tree. This post looks very good to me. Thank you so much for posting this.
@creativetruth

This Post very nice..I like bonsai... thanks for sharing this post...

tree is our best friend,,
if all tree die, all human being will die
the post is really sensitive and natural movement.

I do love a bonsai. I don't think most people realise the time and effort it takes to grow a bonsai. I had a small collection of oak and maple but unfortunately when we moved house last year, some didn't make it(you know how temperamental bonsai can be).

What happened during the move? Did something tip over/break?

I damaged the roots of one of my best oaks when I dropped a box and it never recovered,it was coming up on 8yr old too. I was gutted, it was just coming to look like how I pictured in my head all those years earlier.

The others I just don't know... I've got a load of empty pots I guess I'll just have to refill this year. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62