Pussywillow Tree: Summer Leaves [Bonsai]

in #bonsai5 years ago (edited)

20190820_121402.jpg

Today I am sharing a Pussywillow tree. Who knew this native tree could make for such a well balanced bonsai work of art? @creativetruth knew! That's who!

20190820_121419.jpg

This was a sunny day in August when I photographed all of the trees in my collection. Quite a bit of photo contrast editing had to be done because the sunlight was bleaching out all the colors. The laurel tree in the background provided me with a darker backdrop to showcase the shape of the tree a little better, but I apologize for the green on green camouflage.

20190820_121500.jpg

This tree has developed a lot over this past summer. You probably cannot see it, but the smallest branches are candy licorice red. On a rainy day the wood is candy apple red and green.

As the growth rate for this tree is super high, I think this winter it can stand to have a bit of the older wood pruned a bit heavier. Ideally the coarse wood (thick branches) on the top of the tree can be removed, and allow room for new smaller ones to take their place. The lowest limbs, I will continue to develop so they produce more and more finer branches on top of the old ones.

20190820_121435.jpg

Yes, this last photo is horribly tilted, but that is not because of the camera. The stump the tree is sitting on is not totally flat, and so therefore the tree is also positioned at an angle. The point of this article is mainly to show the tree from all of the main view-able angles.

Historical Information

ID: 0007
Nickname: KitKat
Type: Pussywillow
Age: 5 years
Grown: cutting
Last repotting: 2015?
Wired: Summer 2019

Past articles by @creativetruth featuring this year in its younger form provided in the links below. It is very inspiring to look at images of this tree through the seasons of many years.

Bonus

20190919_112119.jpg

Now that the cool rains are arriving, the Sweet Violets are blooming again. They love the damp, shady weather.

I know it is an invasive plant, but I bought it once at a nursery that was practically giving them away, and I have never regretted it. This potted plant has been growing non-stop for close to five years. I always pinch off the old blooms so the rounds seeds do not roll and fall out of the pot, and it encourages more flowers to form.

More people should grow Sweet Violet. The flowers can be eaten and used as a tender sweet garnish on ice cream, desserts, and salads.

20190820_123133.jpg

Be sure to follow my work this week. I'm in the process of sharing the whole host of bonsai trees in my collection. There is over thirty trees I am growing. That means you can enjoy more than a month of fresh content from @creativetruth's back porch.

Share the goodness with me.

20190820_123112.jpg


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners. We have quite a few accredited experts filling out our ranks, and a helpful Spanish-speaking community.

#teambonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


#pussywillow #willow #violet #violets #sweet-violet

Sort:  

s10.jpg
Coming with apple tree questions after @sukhasanasister introduced me to your blog :) Didn't see the apple tree post so I'll do it here in the pussywillow.
s8.jpg

s9.jpg
Whoops blueberries too, they're doing fine.

s11.jpg

But, you can see how loaded with fruit my tree is and I've been trying to pull it up with some line. the apples on the ground are ones I've plucked and realize now I should have done that with a lot more, but I share the apples with deer, opossums and the birds. This year the deer at off the apples and leaves of the counter-balanced side :/ And, the tree was already growing low and to this side before the fruit because I staked and tried to pull it up when only blossoming.
Any pointers?

Your trees look great! Do you know how old they are, or how many years they developed before they started growing fruit?

I only started growing apple trees for fruit a few years ago, so I am learning as I go.

Looks like whatever you are doing is working great. My only concern is that is looks like it wants to snap with all that weight. Structure to hold the weight of future fruiting branches is key. Many people grow a central leader or a vase shaped tree to help balance the weight. Picking off the early marble sized fruit that looks least healthy is a good way to ensure larger, better fruit. Your tree won't have to stress about bearing the weight of fruit you do not need.

Thanks :) I planted it a handful of years ago, I'm terrible remembering exact dates and purchased it about this time of year from a local garden store because trees go on sale now. I believe it had a couple of smallish apples on it when I got it, not much more than a stick, but already bending a bit then and that's probably why it made the sale.
I believe this year, it has more fruit than ever and as I mentioned the deer at all off from the one branch that was giving weight on the other side. I've picked off quite a few, but should have done it earlier and kept putting it off because even though there's a tall fence, one doe was particularly smart about climbing army-man-style under a hedge or jumping through an unbelievably high and tight spot on the fences gate. I put up mirrors and a bungee cords to deter, but she's not fooled.
I guess my main question is what to do about encouraging the tree to straighten since you're a bonsai guy? I guess I don't know if you're a guy, so bonsai-person and training is the name of your game? Should I trim some branches back this fall and if so which ones, etc.?
I planted a cherry tree this past fall, another sale item at the same place because the tags were ripped off and nobody knew if it was ornamental, bing, Royal Ann or pie? I was hoping for bing, but it's a pie and that's better than ornamental, though I do have an ornamental cherry too :) And, a plumb that is producing nothing. I think it needs bone-meal?

Apples will make tons of suckers. Just get brave about lopping off a branch through some old thick wood to spark young spring branches. Do this in January or February before buds swell. The new suckers always grow upright. Selectivity prune off the ones you won't need. They won't form fruit for a year.

Okay, thank you! Going to write Jan/Feb on the bottom of December of this years' calendar so I remember to prune then :)

@kimberlylane this is a really interesting topic. Would you mind if I elaborate on this in a future post and share your photos in it? I would like to illustrate some examples of how an apple tree will develop based on where it is pruned.

I am going to be showing some photos of my own apple trees in a few days, so this will add some good information related to the subject. In March I'll be planning some grafts for my apple trees, and that always goes into my planning as well when I prune.

Sure, you can use my photos and I look forward to your post :)

It has little leaves and I think it will going to a very-good looking Bonsai soon @creativetruth.

The attention to detail and care you give these plans are always amazing to see.

Meanwhile I forgot to water my plants for a couple of days --oops.

Oh you knower of trees and saver of their souls. I'd like to let you know the Clementines are in recovery: repotted with citrus soil and breathing moist air in a plastic bag. New (less intensely sunny ) spot. The seedlings feel more easy now, reminding me of how my baby suddenly stopped crying for 10 minutes out of 24 hours when the post-natal nurse came to check up on us and took him in her well-trained arms. The clementines have been called Creativetruths to help them keep on resonating to your rooting power for them.

I spend today praying for the invasion of the Sweet Violets. Blow some seed hither, do.

Hello @creativetruth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71