Let's improve this winter Forsythia tree [bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago

20180216_170054 (1).jpg

This is one of my forsythia trees, which I'll be pruning and cleaning up by removing all of the dead wood ends.

If you like watching posts about how I prune my young bonsai trees to create a new artistic design from the tree, then you should enjoy this one too.

There is still a possibility that this tree could soon bloom into flowers, so I definitely want to keep many buds on the tree for the next month of growth. Normally I like to wait until a Spring-flowering tree is finished blooming before I remove any buds or branches, to enjoy the maximum number of blooms. Since this tree is so young, it is probably more likely to flower if I help channel its energy into a fewer buds. A petite flowering tree would be very ideal for bonsai.

This tree just came out of its winter blanket, as you can see. It is still covered with a thick layer of coconut fiber to block out drafty wind and ice, while keeping warmer moisture and air near to the root zone. It was actually buried much deeper in coconut fiber to protect it from all sides.

20180216_170144.jpg

Here we can apply the rule of two, and look for branch junctions where more than two branches are connecting to a single point. This type of tree seems to like breaking that design rule often times by developing buds symmetrically along a main branch.

20180216_170144_nodes.png

All of the areas I circled in white showed three or more branches growing from a single connection. I don't want to leave them that way, because it will fatten the branch and make it look abnormally swollen and unbalanced.

Each time more than two branches or buds are found at an intersection, I will have to select only two to keep, and everything else at the same junction will be cut off. I will try to alternate which side of the branch I remove something from, to keep a nice array of fan-shaped branches around the main branch.

20180216_170144_pruned.png

In this photo I've painted some lines as guides. The black is the branches of the tree that will be maintained, and the magenta marks are the cut lines for branches and buds to be removed. The yellow and green show the remaining buds, and the direction they are likely to grow.

The only other branch I made a key decision on was the upper right branch which I shortened by a lot. The distance of that branch exceeding in a straight line and even thickness from the main branch was becoming too dominant, so I decided to prune it back to the bud nearest to the main branch. I think that helps the end of the branch look more proportional to the other buds that will be forming branches near this area. The result will be thinner, and shorter branches growing from all of these buds in this area. It will also cause more leaves to grow and fill in this area, closer to that side of the branch.

20180216_170608.jpg

Here's all that's left. It isn't very old yet, so we'll have to wait a few more years to see what it does. I like that it is very small right now, and has a lot of potential to continue to divide into smaller and smaller branches out from a trunk that splits into a triangular top shape, and a wide open vase-like shape from the side view. For some reason I've always liked isosceles triangles as my favorite shape, so you may find them showing up in many of my designs.

20180216_170620.jpg

And this is the final after photo, above.

20171010_145734.jpg

20171010_145722.jpg

20171010_145717.jpg

And here is what it looked like this past year when it was covered in luxurious green leaves.


Hope you enjoyed this post. I have several more bonsai trees I will be sharing in the week coming up.

Stay warm and healthy.

20180217_110722.jpg

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

I think this one's going to be just fine in no time. And dunno if it's because of the specie, but it already looks aged to me... ten yrs fly fast! I need to start at least a couple, I'm getting old already! btw I googled this Forsythia to see if I had seen it around here but I don't think I'll find one any soon nor near lol When it blossoms it's going to look way too amazing. REally cool plant this one!

I did learn a lot by a reply you sent me about root pruning, think now I got a little more covered on that subject. One thing I did notice is that in my experience I would use a shorter in height but wider pot for a plant this size. Yours is going to be transplanted? You also said you had a layer of coco coir on it, you remove it and then leave it without anything or always put something on its soil? btw sorry about all the questions! one thing I would add is that you would be surprised by how much a plant can really grow in a much smaller pot than that. Maybe it's the sun that helps a lot over here, but hey, it's the same sun over there! I'm gonna try to learn by these post tips, I think I'll be able to watch stems growth in a different way now. Thanks!!

Yeah, I think you are right on all the guesses you made on your questions to me. If I could afford more bonsai pots I would have them all transplanted into bonsai pots as soon as I photograph them. I think viewers appreciate that I show things in the early stages though, along with mistakes that I make and learn from.

New cuttings I turn into trees, like this one, I usually train longer in a deeper pot so the roots have more protection around them for the first few years of development.

One thing I might try to save on costs, is to try a suggestion from someone from my bonsai club. They said you can make your own bonsai pot cheaply by getting the large 10 gallon plastic pots, and use hefty scissors make the pot less tall. The really cheap ones used by a nursery to grow full sized trees are already the the perfect width. That would work really well for some my trees that form vine-line roots like this one.

Thank you @steamdan for all of the comments you contribute with your insights. It is nice of you to go back and look through my older posts to find information that might be helpful. Here is a post I made a long time ago you might enjoy: How I plant a tree into a bonsai pot. Only big mistake you may notice, is the wires I used to attach the tree to the pot were put in backwards. It is best to have the wires twisted together from underneath the pot, rather than showing on top. Oops.

Nice bud, gardening is my thing too. I bought my GF two orchids last year all the flowers died but after 3 months odd they really are cool presents as they are gifts that keep on giving as they will come up again next year.. Same with bonsai's, I am gonna go take some pics tomorrow at the nursery of some beauts I am sure you will enjoy. Post the pics of your new design when she has grown and 'greened' up. Cheer$;)

It looks like a normal tree in a small pot. I have always wanted to make at least of my own bonsais but reading a bit (very little) I decided I can't wait 20 years for results. If this is a normal tree in a small pot can I do that instead, then it can grow into being a bonsai?

I know it sounds like I am talking shit, but I promise you this is a real question and it is the best I could think to phrase it.

That's okay. Sometimes I put my youngest trees online just to give people some hope that they don't have to start with a tree that cost them hundreds or thousands of dollars. I am not a professional. I just post to share my enjoyment of the journey of the long-game: developing a tree from seed or cutting into an ancient-looking tree.

Truthfully, the decisions made in the earliest years on the design of the tree are the ones that will have the hugest impact on it for the rest of its life.

So a branch that already can grow nice leaves has the potential to be a bonsai? I would not mind nurturing something that already has leaves etc but just needs to go through the "change" , a mental thing I guess.

You have more patience than me - I would trash it and get a new one! But I should probably change that habit... :(

Yes patience. 'Tis my shining virtue. You could always spend big bucks on a finished tree someone else grew and put it on a pedestal to admire and never touch, but where is the fun in that?

art that is so amazing i am very interested time view it @creativetruth

Very interesting to see @creativetruth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73