You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's improve this winter Forsythia tree [bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago

It looks like a normal tree in a small pot. I have always wanted to make at least of my own bonsais but reading a bit (very little) I decided I can't wait 20 years for results. If this is a normal tree in a small pot can I do that instead, then it can grow into being a bonsai?

I know it sounds like I am talking shit, but I promise you this is a real question and it is the best I could think to phrase it.

Sort:  

That's okay. Sometimes I put my youngest trees online just to give people some hope that they don't have to start with a tree that cost them hundreds or thousands of dollars. I am not a professional. I just post to share my enjoyment of the journey of the long-game: developing a tree from seed or cutting into an ancient-looking tree.

Truthfully, the decisions made in the earliest years on the design of the tree are the ones that will have the hugest impact on it for the rest of its life.

So a branch that already can grow nice leaves has the potential to be a bonsai? I would not mind nurturing something that already has leaves etc but just needs to go through the "change" , a mental thing I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91