Villans Bodybuilding Tips - Overcoming Pain from Serious Injury with Mental Aggression

in #bodybuildingtips7 years ago (edited)

For many years I didn't think I would ever be able to take weight training seriously.
After a very bad accident I had when I was 19, I was left with chronic pain in my back from 3 fractured vertebra and having my arm ripped apart literally.

If your stuck like I was many years ago, and your having trouble overcoming the pain you can overcome it.

The Pain always got the better of me and put me off doing anything physical.
Then about 5 years ago I started to go to the gym, which was really painful and still is. So I needed to develop ways to mentally push through the pain.

I quickly learned that if I learned to embrace the pain rather than reject it, I could turn that pain into strength. How is that so.
Well pain leads to aggression, and if you channel that aggression at the gym you can mentally overcome it.
The power of the mind is incredible.
Not I'm not talking about aggression as in I'm gonna go punch that wall, no I mean mental aggression.
So rather than starting to lift weights and saying nope it hurts too much, try to channel that mental strength. Think about how strong you have to be to live with life long pain and suffering, and push the boundaries of that strength.

Sometimes I like to picture myself as a really strong fictional character. Villan the Destroyer :D

The following is one of my favorite quotes, and gives me strength when I feel weak.



src

As you continue to push yourself, your pain threshold will increase.
But I will be honest here, personally I find that after a few months of being mentally strong and pushing through the pain I fall in a heap for one or two days. I call these my wimpy days.
I guess the mind is a muscle too and after using all that strength to push through each day it also gets tired.
Over the years though this have been happening less frequently.
So when you have one of these days, it's ok just curl up in bed and watch some movies or something. I find it always passes fast and you begin to feel strong again and can continue where you left off.

Overcoming pain is no easy feat, I guess that's why so many people turn to drugs or alcohol to mask it. But this is not a good path to take.

I do have other tips for overcoming pain, but I think I will save them for another post. It's time for me to get in the gym.

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Recent Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ Villans Under the Big Tree to Represent Adelaide
☣️ Blast From the Past - Part 6 - Timezone
☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ Villans Bodybuilding Tips - Villans Special Recipe and Food Preperation
☣️ Challenge Completed - 620 reps on December 28

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Tutorial Series ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ Part 1 - What is jQuery and the DOM
☣️ Part 2 - Getting Started with jQuery
☣️ Part 3 - Using Click Event Handlers
☣️ Part 4 - Adding/Removing Classes and Efficiency
 

Sort:  

Pain management is a big field with lots of nuances. Hope you find a long term solution to your pain but I do know it isn't always possible.

Thanks yeah unfortunately for me it's pain meds. Though I have stopped taking them and just work through the pain now, and every now and then when I'm in too much pain I take one to help me sleep.
There is alot to pain management. I found the best medicine is keeping active and using the mind to overcome it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47