Blood donation can save a life : Today I saved two lives by donating my blood

in #blood-donation7 years ago

Blood is one of the most important components in the human body. A drop of blood can be meaningful to those in need.


Mohammed Abdul Aziz's Blood Donation

The benefits of blood donation are not only for the recipients but also the donors themselves. Especially when donating blood regularly and periodically.  

By doing a blood donor, the donor will give a little blood from their body to be used to help others.

Approximately 200 ml - 450 ml of blood is taken from the body when doing blood donation. ''For patients in need, getting blood donors can save their lives". Several conditions require blood donation, such as Childbirth, Surgery, Organ transplants or Fatal accident.

The International community recently celebrated World Blood Donor Day on June 14. Not only does it recognize the blood donors as generous heroes, but the day also signals firm public awareness in the importance of voluntary and regular blood donations.


Short story, Today I feel blessed that I can save two lives by donating one bag of my blood. A couple of days back, a family from my village was searching for AB negative blood for few days but couldn't found it until they find that I have that type of blood. Today, When I was sleeping in the morning, my elder brother came and waked me up and said: " Aziz, aziz wake up, a woman need an emergency AB negative blood. She is at the hospital and suffering from pregnancy." 

As soon as I heard about it, I wake up and making contact with the family relatives of the patient. And then one of their relatives came to my house to take me with him to the hospital. I took an egg for breakfast and prepared myself for it.

We then arrived at the hospital and met the patient who needs an emergency surgery operation. We quickly went to Crescent Blood Center for my blood test and then transferred my blood into a bag. Later we came back to the hospital while the doctor in the hospital was preparing her for the operation. The AB negative is a rare blood type in here, So the doctors had to confirm if there's available blood before they start the operation as the pregnant patient also had another problem( a stone on stomach ).

Blood Donation Report

After giving my bag of blood, I returned to school and talked with my kids, teacher and took a picture with them.

A couple of hours later one of their relatives called me that a baby boy was born safely and he asked about my health after the donation. I tell him that I'm fine and I feel joy in my heart that I could help them with just a small amount of my blood. And I actually save two of their lives (the mother and the baby). I can't express how glad I am today hearing the news.

From my experience, you all can see that how important is the blood donation for us. Many peoples still have a fear for donating their blood. By donating your blood, you're not only helping the government or the Blood Institutions to stock up the blood but also you'll feeling joy when you actually know that your blood can save peoples life(just like my experience above). There's no harm for you if you do a regular blood donation, even the medical scientist already confirm that doing a routine blood donation can help you maintain your heart health and make your blood circulation better. It also increases the production of red blood cells. 

But there are several things to know before you are able to donate your blood. Such as:

1. Before donating blood, a potential donor should be checked by a doctor or a person who is authorized under the doctor's responsibility.

2. Donors at least 17 years old.

3. The weight of the donor at least 45 kg.

4. The blood donors hemoglobin level of at least 12.5 grams/deciliter (g/dl).

5. The Donors normal blood pressure ranges from systole 110-160 mmHg, diastole 70-100 mmHg.

6. Pulse rate ranges from 60 to 100 times per minute, regularly, without a pathological pulse (a pulse that shows the existence of a disease in our body).

7. The blood donation distance of at least ten weeks with a maximum donation of 5 times a year.

8. For women who are not pregnant or breastfeeding can donate blood six months after delivery or three months after stopping breastfeeding.

9. A woman who is menstruating can donate her blood if her Hemoglobin level is eligible, usually after the third day of menstruation, where her period is not too much.

So, what are you waiting for? Don't wait until someone loses his life because of the blood deficiency. If you feel you can donate your blood, you can directly go to the Blood-related Institutions in your town or country.

  "One drop of your blood can save many lives."  

Read More about my Humanitarian Activities:

1. Commonwealth For Peace

2. Monthly Mothers Meeting At @SchoolForSDG4 ! Educated Mothers Can Change a Nation

3. Incomplete Story of Rabeya, A 5-years-old girl

4. My Visit at Lakkartula Tea Garden, Sylhet Bangladesh

5. How the kids are Learning at School For SDG4 || Part 1||

6. Crowdfunding Campaign for Our Weekly Fruits Program || Part 1 ||

7. Every Child Loves to Go School

8. My Last 30 Days Humanitarian Activities Overview

To make direct chat with me, feel free to PM me at https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd

Sort:  

What a great story... I also have a rare blood type, O negative. It's not as rare as AB negative but people with O negative blood can give blood to anyone but can only receive blood from O negative. I have donated blood many times but I've never got to see who my blood went to and the lives it saved. That's got to be an amazing feeling.

Thank you @jphenderson for your comment. I am so happy to hear about your blood donation. I am so lucky person as I know who are directly benefited. I wish to donate in future. Keep donating to save lives .

You are well done, @azizbd! My mom has 4 negative. And I have 4 positive.
I'm 3 times already donate blood=))

You are greater donor than me. I am second time donated for emergency pregnant patient. Now Kid is ok and mom too. Happy life @natasmr

So nice from you , i love also the kid scool you cary for :)

I am so glad to hear this. Thank you for comment and inspiring me dear. @patelincho

Its for a good !

Are you having a good day sweet @patelincho ?

So far is going very well :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by azizbd from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you very much @minnowsupport

That is so wonderful that you are servicing others in this manner my friend. Kudos to you :)

Thank you my dear friend. I know good people always keep me in their prayers. Stay in touch :) @awarenessraiser

If I understand correctly a person such as myself with O-negative type is considered a universal donor. I cannot, however, donate as I have had a blood transfusion. Colorful side note - I have found myself growing younger since I had this procedure quite a number of years ago.
LMAN.GIF

You are fighting for some really noble cause. Alone is difficult to do all of it. I do hope the Steemit community rises to provide you with all the support. Cheers man!

Thank you @pisolutionsmru , You will be happy to know that the post was supported by some good steemians.

Well one good work bud :)

Thank you for your comment and wishes @vibeof100monkeys

Thanks for the information .. I will always follow you .. follow me @riansteem ..may be a good friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41