One Of Those Days...

in #blog5 years ago

Today I went back to work for the first time since a month; the past four weeks I've been working from home, so today I got to meet my colleagues and manager again. Things have changed since the new year began...


keyboard_small.jpg
Image by geralt - source: Pixabay

Immediately it was impressed upon me that the corporation needs new customers. Fast. We are going to be assigned to mandatory training-sessions to "better anticipate the customers wishes" to be able to "make them a personalized offer." Now this would be business as usual, had I worked at some sales-department, but I don't. I work at a telephone helpdesk of an internet provider; I help people with technical problems, questions about their bills, listen to their complaints and try to help solve any problem relating to the services we provide, internet, television, telephone.

This is what I love doing; it gives me great satisfaction to be able to help another person and it's really gratifying to hear that the customer is happy with the solution. But now we are supposed to hook in on the customer's gratitude and ask them, after the problem is solved, follow-up questions in order to see if we can't help them by selling them additional services or products. This I can understand up to a point; there are occasions in which the customer would really be better off when taking another subscription or buy a wifi repeater or a powerline-adapter. A sale can be service in that way, and I'm glad to advice my customers to help them have a better experience.

This is how it was introduced, two or three years ago now. But since then it has been a slow and gradual push for ever more sales. We were a great success for the corporation and made them huge profits with this "soft-sell" method. But then came the incentives: agents now earn bonuses when they exceed sales-expectations. The new agents are trained in sales techniques and often lack the technical skills or know-how to solve basic problems. It's obvious that sales are quickly becoming a core task for helpdesk agents; even our mechanics now are being introduced to sales-targets and sometimes I get customers on the phone who are sold something they really don't need, like mobile phone subscriptions with a bunch of internet data sold to old people who never use the internet on their phones.

So, I write this to say that I don't really feel like writing today... I'm really thinking about whether this is still the right job for me anymore. Not the writing, but the helpdesk thing; I got the feeling today that it may be time to consider alternatives, but I really have no idea what direction to turn... yet. I really hope I didn't bore you too much today, dear reader, but this was one of those days that daily life zapped all inspiration out of me; I'm sure tomorrow everything will look brighter again and I hope you'll be here, sharing the light with me ;-)


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Raise Taxes!
Possible And Impossible FuturesAttention Span Of A Goldfish
May The Force Be With YouGoogle Limits Speech... Again
Writing HistoryAnticipated Reality

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Hello @zyx066, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.649 which ranks you at #5569 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 5579).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88