Running Matters #11

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Oberwil-Lieli_record_distance_run.JPG
They say a Picture says more than a thousand words

"A Picture says more than a thousand words". This picture sums last week up very well! The weather was fantastic, loads of small accomplishments and to top it all off we're flying away today, after more than 6 months of anticipation.

Home

First of all and really important for us as we love this, the grill season has officially started again. So we spent both Saturday and Sunday grilling for dinner. On Saturday I wanted to take things easy as I'd been running on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, but in the end I still walked to my hair-dresser who lives 8,5 km away. So that was a very nice walk, but also very cold and it could've made me ill before our holiday. At the moment it's still only sneezing, so that's ok.

IMG_2288.JPG
Birmensdorf, I passed through there on my way to the hairdresser

Afterwards we took it easy the rest of the day and we finished the day with a pair of chicks on the grill!

Ready_to_grill.JPG
Me and one of my favourite grill-tools, the rotisserie!

On Sunday I set off for another run with my neighboors and set another distance record. Conditions were very good, but a bit cold. The picture at the beginning of my post was taken during that run. Afterwards we took it easy. My parents-in-law came by and we went for a short walk with the kids and then we had a nice piece of steak on the grill.

Grillparty_in_Oberwil-Lieli.JPG
a Selection on the grill to suit all ages

Step wise I have also managed to achieve my personal target of making at least 10.000 steps a day. I'm currently on an official streak of 8 days in a row that I have at least 10.000 steps. At the time of writing I already have 6.000 for today and it's not even 10AM here.

The rest of the week went by pretty uneventful as we were preparing for our holiday today. I did have a session with the regional unemployment office and tried to create my own CV pictures, but you can read all about those in my post from Wednesday.

My highlight of the week!

Selfie_before_running_02.JPG
a Selfie before I set off on my longest run until now

I'm going to say that the highlight of this quiet week was the fact, that despite that I've probably done too many exercises in a short space of time, I still kept going, despite tiredness and small muscle aches. This is the effect that I need to overcome if I want to finish a marathon, I know this in my head and I know that my body needs to get used to this, this is why it's a highlight. I set a new 5km speed record on Friday and I set a new distance record on Sunday.

If I look at it over the whole period I only had 2 days of rest and that was Monday & Tuesday this week. My colleague felt it as well and it's such a great feeling to push each other, overcome this together and I would love it if we could hug each other at the end of the Marathon in Luzern.

My posts last week:

Last week I posted a bit more as I did a few short @steepshot posts to get you guys used to my posts from the next 10 days as most of them will be like that.

So what am I planning for next week?

Emirates_above_Oberwil-Lieli_02.JPG
This will be us tonight ... for real

As I've mentioned before, we're going on holiday today, so there won't be any of my regular posts for the next 10 days. I'll do my best to post some regular updates and posts from my holiday destination, so keep an eye out for my #awolfsjourney tag.

Have a great weekend and I see you all again in 10/11 days, if not sooner.

Doron

Sort:  

Well done all,and a wonderful photo .

Have a great holiday buddy!

Thanks bud, so far all good! I’m looking forward to the next card releases

Great. The release got delayed becasue @airmatti needed a higher resolution photo. It will go up today or tomorrow. In the meantime please check out the latest post by @the-beard. He's going to be doing some vids for the project!

THanks, you too!

Ah... the joy of running... just go and run!

Vote for your running author of the week 12!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01