I make the Chicks hot!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Grill-time! Finally, winter is over, flowers are blooming, the weather is getting better and today we've grilled for the first time. Grilling is a Swiss national sport and passion. Every self-respecting Swiss has a grill in his garden or on his balcony. Even my then girlfriend, now wife had a grill, despite the fact that she lived alone.

14042018_Grillieren_04.JPG
the Chicks are on Fire

Grilling is fast and easy, it's healthy and the Swiss are health-freaks, so this fits perfectly in our nature. One of the things we love to do is going out in the nature, walk and then for lunch make a fire and grill a few sausages. When we do this we have a few salads with it and maybe a piece of bread, what else do you need.

Once the season starts we grill probably 75% of our meals if the weather permits ... which it does most of the time as we have a gas-grill, so even when it's a bit windy or raining we grill. When we have people over, we grill, when we want a quick meal, we grill, when there's a special event or match on TV ... you guessed it, we grill!

14042018_Grillieren_08.JPG
My Grill is cleaned and ready for the new season

Grilling in Switzerland means not just eating, it's a passion, it's a social event and everyone takes part. It's quality time, it's family time, it's fun and it smells good. A year ago someone sent me a very funny meme saying:

"Wenn in der Nachbarschaft jemand grillt, kann ich nachvollziehen, wie Haie sich fühlen, wenn Blut im Wasser ist."

this translates roughly to:

'When someone is grilling in the neighbourhood, I can understand how sharks feel when there's blood in the water.'

I love this quote, as it's so true. Last weekend we were at friends on their balcony for a coffee and someone was grilling and we looked at one another and we both were thinking of this quote.

14042018_Grillieren_01.JPG
Me and my Rotisserie, it was actually a birthday present and I love it!

the Preparation

When it comes to grilling, the preparation is everything. Generally speaking I either marinade the meat or baste it with a sauce. Today we grilled 2 Mistkrätzerli, this is a local speciality and you can find them in most supermarkets and butcheries. Mistkrätzerli are very small chickens, in German I believe they're called Brathähnchen, but I'm afraid I don't know what they're called in English.

I love basting them in my own marinade of Honey, Mustard, Soja-sauce & some cumin. I then put them on my rotisserie and they're ready in about 30 minutes.

14042018_Grillieren_09.JPG
the Preparation is Key

We generally eat our meat with salads and/or vegetables. Sometimes I put some corn or aubergines on the grill as well, which tastes fantastic.

14042018_Grillieren_10.JPG
2 Tanned Chicks

These chicks were perfect, succulent and juicy, just as they should be. There's not much better than this. En Guete!

Well, I hope I have awoken your apetite, feel free to pass by the next time I light up the fire and 'Grill my Chicks' 😉

Time best spent is time spent with family and friends!

Doron

Sort:  

nice post,thanks for sharing doron.

your welcome friend.

Now my mouth is watering! Looks great!

LOL, that's the purpose 😉

Thanks for sharing such a amazing post brother. Have a great day .

Thank you

Always welcome sir.

Cool gefällt mir! :-) 👍 hatte die Tage auch Brathänchen gehabt.

Sehr geil! Ich liebe es, so säftig und feine Geschmäck ... jetzt habe ich schon Lust drauf und es ist erst 7 Uhr Morgens 😂

Yoooo :-) so heute haben wir die Dinger auch mal drehen lassen.

https://steemit.com/food/@avizor/spinning-chicken-like-from-the-chickencar

Thanks you my post @wolfje
Amazing food
Good night

Hmmmm this is beautiful... So yummy. Wow
Enjoy yourself oo

Thank you

lool we also had a BBQ day today :)
Chicken, Steak, tzatziki, salads, french fries .. and of course plenty of beer! (We stop counting at 20 bottles)
Cheers to all of you all the way from Crete!

Stop making me jealous 😉 I bet you even had nice weather. Warm greetings from Switzerland

This looks so yum.
I am a big fan of your photography sir .
I also photograph would you mind checking out some of my stuff and help me grow?
FOLLOW FOR FOLLOW?
Below are some of my works.20180413_114506-01.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51