Souvenirs and Treats

in #blog6 years ago

We always look for souvenirs whenever we travel on places away from home. Looking for that special something to remind us of our vacation. Let me just take you with me and show you a few of the local souvenirs found just outside The Strawberry Farm found in La Trinidad, Benguet Philippines.


Souvenirs and Treats

1.JPG

hand drawn 3.png

This place is known for the strawberries and vegetables grown in this farm. Not only that for a fee you could harvest your own vegetables and strawberries.

You could see and read more about our experience
Strawberry Daydream
A Garden of Freshness

A very popular place for tourists and if walking thru the fields and picking strawberries and vegetables is not your thing. You could just buy from the stalls surrounding the area or maybe taste some of the local treats.

3.JPG

Locally made handicrafts, snacks and delicacies are a popular choice when it comes to buying stuff to take home. A local term that we use for that is Pasalubong which means something to take home to loved ones. This vacation that we had was from a couple of months ago and still very fresh in my mind.

4.JPG

There are a lot of small purses and key chains on display. The popular ones are the strawberry key chain which can almost be found on every stall. If your back is itchy most of the time you could buy one of those back scratchers. That would be on the right sight of the photo. No need to ask your wife to scratch your back anymore and it is very useful because I have one.

5.JPG

Most of these purses are hand knitted and would be a great souvenir for the ladies.

6.JPG

This place is known as the Strawberry capital of the Philippines and because of that strawberry jams are abundant. That would be a great addition for your breakfast. Toasted bread with strawberry jam from the mountains. The best ones even has whole strawberries in the jar and would be a bit expensive but it is worth it.

7.JPG

If you are hungry there are food stalls spread around the area. How about some burgers, footlong sandwiches and even shawarma. On the other side of this market are the restaurants offering local dishes perfect for lunch. We already had lunch before we came here too bad I was not able to get a couple of shots there.

8.JPG

More souvenirs and that one on the top looks like a knitted pot holder. Normally the prices for keychains are 100 pesos for three pieces or $2.00 which is not bad. I don't know if you see it but there is a naughty keychain hanging here which I just noticed. If you see it just give me a lol sign and if not just forget I mentioned it lol.

9.JPG

10.JPG

They also have other fresh fruits here and those seedless grapes was absolutely a winner. The ones that we bought did not last long.

11.JPG

After doing some shopping let's have some strawberry ice cream. A must try made from real strawberries as you could taste the sweet tarty flavor and even the seeds are present on the ice cream. Let me just tell you a little bit more about ice cream sold on our streets. Ice cream vendors push them on wheeled containers packed in dry ice to keep them frozen as they go around the streets. These are called popularly called dirty ice cream. You would ask, "It's dirty why would you buy dirty ice cream?" Well it is not actually dirty it was just a term used by parents long ago to prevent you from buying ice cream on the streets. Some of the vendors don't have gloves and just use their hands in touching the cones. The old folks found it very not hygienic as you don't know where those hands went. But these days cup and cones now are wrapped with napkins ensuring no contact. Still the name stuck and people call those sold on the streets dirty ice cream.

13.JPG

If you just have a closer look our vendor has a plastic wrapped on his hand ensuring no contact is made with the cone. Three scoops for me please.

14.JPG

Here we are our strawberry treat perfect for this warm afternoon. Since this is a tourist site the ice cream may cost a little more than those sold on the streets. But who could resist buying ice cream especially if you see a lot of people buying. Seeing strawberries all around your mind would tell you to buy one which would be very hard to resist and might as well give in to the treat.

15.JPG

Thanks for joining me and I hope you enjoyed this little trip with me. If ever you swing by the Philippines do drop by in this farm as it is an awesome experience. Just let me know or better yet you could ask a local Steemit buddy of mine @leeart who happens to know the best places in this area. Do give his page a visit for a lot of interesting places in Baguio, Philippines.

16.JPG

hand drawn 1.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

the yummy yummy ice cream just took my attention 🙈😍🤤🤤

I bet you love the strawberry flavor.

delectable strawberry ice cream.. sarap niyan..

Ay sarap talaga naka dalawa ako lol.

wow what a souveniers

Yep there are a lot to choose from that anyone would love.

It looks like they sell everything there :D That ice cream seems like the best thing to buy :)

Oh yes indeed and you would know that they are made from real strawberries the moment you taste it.

That ice-cream looks superb @watersnake101 enjoying the fresh fruit and vegetable on a day out where you are able to select your own, what a treat.

Visiting from #steemitbloggers

I loved it I just wished they sold it in gallons. After two cones I still wanted more lol.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 100 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey there @trufflepig bot I hope to see that one day.

If that ice cream is dirty, I will take a shower, because it looks amazing! :) This place looks really cool. We have places near where I live that you can walk through the fields and pick your own buckets of blueberries. None of them are as big or extravagant as this place though. All of the vendors must make it a very cool, unique place! Thanks for sharing!

Ah you would love it here. Come visit as there are a lot of places you would enjoy. Mountains, beaches and exotic islands. I myself have not seen all in this region and there are so much more sights to see.

I will have to add it to my list for sure!

I haven't been there in a long time and I noticed there are lots of stalls now. I remember though that there those who offer free wine tasting. Do they still have those? The naughty keychains come in various sizes lol!

They had wine tasting? I did not see anyone offering wine if they did I would have bought a bottle or two. The keychains lol my kids could not stop joking about it. They have it in most of the stalls we visited something to give to your boss lol.

I know I saw stalls offering those. They were the first few stalls that you see as you enter from the main highway. Maybe I should go check :D

Those keychains were only sold recently I think. It was the ashtrays and the barrel man that were popular then. I guess they have to make something like that that sells cheaper.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

MM... that strawberry ice cream looks delicious and a great snack! Better get me some too ahha

Visit the Philippines my treat for the ice cream lol.

Wonderful post, @watersnake101! Thank you for sharing your experience in the Strawberry Farm. These superb photos did not fail to paint a very clear picture of the place. We are featuring your post in @bayanihan's 35th Philippines' Curation Updates. Upvoted 100%!

Much appreciation from the bottom of my heart. Thank you. Fuel for the passion to reach our destination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48