Interviewing Nomadic Matt - the world's #1 budget travel writer!

in #blog5 years ago


I remember the day when I decided to start my travel blog - The Wandering Vegetable. I was nervous, excited and clueless, not knowing how to go about it. But then I came across this travel blogger who, according to Google, was (and still is!) the biggest travel-blogger in the business - Matthew Kepnes. I took a leap of faith and joined his Superstar Blogging Course which guided me through the business of blogging and here I am today - interviewing "Nomadic Matt" himself!

Matthew Kepnes is a travel-blogging icon who's built an empire with his passion for helping people travel on a budget through his travel site - The Nomadic Matt. Since he's been a source of inspiration to travellers around the world, I'm delighted to share his views, struggles and travel experiences with you guys. So let's talk to him about travel, life and everything in between!

 

What are your top 5 travel experiences from your travels around the world? Things that you feel that every traveller should experience at least once in their lifetime?

The great thing about budget travel is that no matter your interests, there are tons of amazing budget destinations and activities for you to enjoy around the world. And with the prevalence of cheap flights, travel has never been more affordable, making it more and more possible for people to enjoy the best the world has to offer.

You must experience solo travel atleast once in your lifetime

If I had to narrow down my list, I think 5 things I’d suggest would be:

  • Travel solo
  • Spend time backpacking Southeast Asia
  • Take part in a festival like Songkran or La Tomatina
  • Do a multi-day hike like the Inca Trail or the Camino,
  • Disconnect from the world while on a remote island like Koh Lipe in Thailand or while hiking (like on the W Trek in Patagonia)
I think those are some of the best activities in the world — but there are a ton more too! What’s important is that you do what you enjoy and travel to places that make you happy. Don’t just go somewhere because social media says you should. Go there because it makes you curious and brings you joy.

 

If not for a travel blogger, what would be your alternative career choice?

I went to school to become a teacher, so that’s always a possibility if I had to change careers suddenly. I spent some time teaching English overseas and it was incredibly rewarding, so that would be one potential route.

I also studied business, so working for a startup of some kind would be fun too (though I’m a bit of a workaholic so that might not be the best field!)

That being said, I also used to play both poker and Magic: The Gathering competitively so maybe one of those could be my new calling!

 

Do you think travelling has had an adverse effect on your relationships? Do you regret spending all that time away from family and have they ever complained to you about it?

While I am away often, I think that just makes me appreciate my time with my family even more. When you only get to see friends and family a few times a year, that time becomes even more valuable. You need to learn how to make the best of it.

Travel has helped me develop and grow as an individual

And while long-term travel does make it a bit harder to date, I think it’s also helped me grow and develop as an individual, which is equally as valuable.

I’m lucky that all my friends and family support my travels and my lifestyle. That’s a huge benefit, as I know there are plenty of travellers and nomads out there who don’t have that support.

That’s part of the reason why I started our online travel community, The Nomadic Network — so we can connect like-minded individuals from around the globe and help them find a network of travellers they can lean on.

 

I remember not liking Dubai on my first visit but then falling in love with Dubai on my next. What's that one country or place that you didn't like much on your first visit but surprisingly ended up loving it on your next visit?

This usually happens to me with cities more than countries. When I first was backpacking in Thailand I didn’t really like Bangkok. The city was hectic, disorganized, and I didn’t really know what to do in Bangkok other than see some temples. But after spending more time there I grew to love it, and it’s now one of my favourite cities in the world!

The same goes for Vienna and Los Angeles. At first, I just didn’t like either place much. We didn’t click. But after a second chance, I was able to get below the surface and see the cities in greater detail. That’s when I grew to like them both much more.

 

What is the one thing you hate about travelling and that you wish you could change?

I wish there was a way for all of us to enjoy travelling without having to worry about overtourism. The recent surge in global travel (due to cheap flights and cheap accommodation) has really had a negative impact on many communities around the world.

I iwsh I had a solution for overtourism across the world

Cities like Barcelona, Venice, and Reykjavik (as well as tourist sites like Machu Picchu) are struggling to keep up with the overwhelming number of visitors. Finding a balance between local needs and tourism is tricky, so I wish I had a solution for that issue.

Another thing I wish I could change about travelling is hostel etiquette. Sometimes I wish there was a class travellers had to take on how to behave in hostels because some travellers just don’t seem to get it’s a shared space. While most people are respectful and considerate, there is always a handful who could use a lesson in hostel etiquette!

 

Can you tell us of any incident along the road which made you feel that - "Yes, even if things go terribly wrong when travelling, I still have good people (could be strangers) who have my back, so things ultimately will be all right"?

When I was backpacking in Iceland a few years ago, I was travelling in the West Fjords and ended up making a mistake. I timed my bus and ferry wrong, which left me stranded in the middle of nowhere for an entire day. There was nothing for me to do but sit on the curb and hope for someone to pass.

The West Fjords are one of the most remote areas of the country and it wasn’t until 2 hours later that someone passed and they offered me a ride. They could have easily kept driving, but they took time from their day to help me out. It was a simple act of kindness that made my day and is something I think back on often.

One thing I’ve learned from travelling the world is that people are generally good and they want to help. But you’ll never see it for yourself unless you head out into the world and explore!

 

What's your biggest fear in life? Something that still gives you nightmares?

Heights. And flying. Those are two things I absolutely hate. I’ve gotten more accustomed to them (I do travel a lot!) but I still hate flying. Anyone who has ever sat on a plane with me can tell — I’ll be gripping the seats every time there is turbulence!

And while I’ve done a few adrenaline activities in the past, you won’t find me bungee jumping or skydiving anytime soon!

 

What kept you motivated when you didn't see results flowing for your travel blog and your first book underperformed as per your expectations?

The great thing about failure is that is it full of lessons if you’re willing to sit back and look over your mistakes. When something doesn’t go as planned I always take the time to figure out why. That way, I can use the lessons learned as my motivation to do better next time.

When my first book underperformed, I was able to figure out why and I used those lessons to get my next book on the NYT’s Best Seller List. Failure is such an important tool for growth — whether in business or your personal life. There is always something to be learned from it, so embrace it. It’s an important part of the process.

Travel mistakes are great teachers so keep working and you'll get there eventually

The same goes for travel mistakes. They’re inevitable, and they definitely aren’t fun. But they are great teachers.

An important thing to remember when it comes to blogging or working in the travel industry is that this is a marathon, not a sprint. You need to be focused on the long term. Little hiccups are inevitable. Failure is inevitable. Just keep your eyes on the prize, learn what you can, and keep working. You’ll get there eventually!

 

Can you share an embarrassing travel experience of yours with us? Something that's still fresh in your memory?

I have had more than my share of travel mishaps. They keep life on the road interesting (and they keep you humble too!). One that stands out as particularly embarrassing is when I was in Italy. I was in Cinque Terre taking photos (it’s one of the most beautiful places for travel photography in Italy) and I wanted to get a better angle.

I walked over to a boat ramp for a new vantage point. Unfortunately, I didn’t see the algae on the ramp and ended up sliding down the ramp toward the water. I was wearing flip flops so I didn’t have any traction and ended up sliding right into the water!

Not only did I get soaked, but I ruined my camera — which was practically brand new. Worst of all, there were some local kids nearby who saw the whole thing and were laughing their heads off. I can’t blame them, but it definitely wasn’t my finest moment.

This is why I always buy travel insurance when I travel — because you never know when something will go wrong!

 

If you had to describe your journey in one word, what would it be and why?

Unexpected.

Years ago, I quit my job to travel the world. Over a decade later, I’m still travelling. I work online, run a conference and a charity, and have a team that helps me keep my blog going strong. That’s a far cry from where I started!

My journey up until now can be summed up in one word as unexpected

I’ve been incredibly lucky and it’s been a huge privilege to get to do the work I do. And when you combine all of that, I think it’s safe to say that this has been one unexpected journey!


So that was me interviewing 'Nomadic Matt' aka Matthew Kepnes. I hope his story inspires you to follow your travel dream just like it inspired me. For more travel stories and tips on budget travel around the world, check out Matt's travel blog - Nomadic Matt. You can also follow him on Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest.

Also, subscribe to "The Wandering Vegetable" for more travel inspiration and heartwarming 'Slice of Life' posts. Cheers to wanderlust!

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://thewanderingvegetable.com/interviewing-nomadic-matt/

Sort:  

Lucky you to be able to interview this inspirational person :) Have you met him or did you do the interview online?

I think he is one of the few lucky people who made traveling their work. The competition nowadays is so huge that it's much more difficult than it was before when he started traveling. And I am happy for him :) It's great to read about people who live their dreams and talk about what they're doing.

Thank you for bringing this interview and congratulations on your curie vote!

Have a nice day!

Hi wandering-veggie,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

hi @wandering-veggie
I can only imagine the happiness you felt in interviewing your "hero" !! We also left everything about two years ago to travel the world, but we still haven't found a good compromise between the joy of traveling and the problem that we don't have much money. It's not easy, the world of bloggers is now saturated and to stand out among many is really difficult, but backpacking has become an addiction !! I will try to read more your suggestions :-P
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

You're welcome. And I agree when you choose to travel throughout your life, funds become a fundaental requirement and the reason for a lot of stress. But there are many ways in which you can work while you travel be it teaching a language or selling a product of your own on your blog for sustainable income.
You can also take up jobs in the place you go and sustain yourself. Wish you luck on your future travels!

Congratulations @wandering-veggie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

great interview. I liked the points about earning money during backpacking. I am also a traveler and sometimes also trying to earn something through poker or street art - making a bubbles and dancing in the costume can be extremely profitable. Same with the opening doors from the bank

Take part in a festival like Songkran or La Tomatina
this made me google a bit and then envy you a bit more. I think you made me a new inspirations :) La Tomatina is still possible this year, why not :)

This interview is an eye-opener, most people see travelers as annoying or lucky people, but this is just another kind of business and experiences, it becomes like another job, you have to love it! you're so lucky you inteviewed the person that inspired your life style, thanks for sharingyour experience!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

I just sent this one to my boyfriend. Such a cool helpful post for my future travels.

Out of 5 must-do, I have not done even a single one yet :(

I'm thinking about traveling to a country for the first time, I've never set foot in foreign lands and I think this is my time to get to know new places, this post encouraged me to continue saving for my trip of my dreams!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99