"You Can't Have Friends If You Never Talk To Them" Initiative

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


It's the truth, it is rather difficult to maintain relations with others, if you don't communicate with them. That is why I am beginning a new initiative today. On Steemit, you can recreate yourself a hundred times, just by switching gears. I am going to start by reviewing my account history and recall all of the interesting people that have crossed my path on Steemit.

It is way to easy to lose track of people on this platform, due to a multitude of reasons, so I am Making a List!

list.png


I've heard that successful people make lists. So I am going to join that crowd and work on my list making skills. My list will be full of the greatest and most unique talents on Steemit, as well as some laggards and drunks. It does take a village sometimes.

The list will be my guide to enterprising thought, rebellious mindsets and TEOTWAWKI. Plenty of TOETWAWKI.

It will be like my Steemit rolodex. My intention is to visit everybody on the list at least once or twice a week, to see what they've been up to. Similar to the way you keep in touch with your non-virtual friends. This is where the 7-day pay window comes in handy. I don't have to spend the time looking up everyone on the list, daily. I can still comment and upvote material that has started to get stale, while still rewarding that talented steemian. Voila!

The list model is about the only one that fits my networking habits. Seeing that my personality lays somewhere between a used car salesman and a hermit, I have to find something that works for me.

hermit salesman.png


Having a big following is great. I appreciate everyone that hits that button, but engagement is where it's at. Engagement comes from networking and networking is really just a nice way of saying:

"I give a shit about what you're doing here on Steemit, how about you give a shit about me"


Through the power of the all-mighty list, I set off on my quest to prove out the notion that:

You Can't Have Friends If You Never Talk To Them


I hope the list doesn't get too long and then there will be all of these comments that I have to answer and my time is limited...shit, the dogs need to go out and and and Get Off My Lawn!


Editors note: I am also going cold turkey on the pay-bots. After reading a post from @clayboyn, regarding the subject, I'm dropping the habit. I want to keep this blog pure. No more @randowhale for me.

All images originally from google images and altered in paint.


Bonnie's 35th Birthday (1).png

Sort:  

I happen to be a chronic list maker...I'm great at making lists but my problem is finishing everything on my lists 😂.

I agree it can be overwhelming trying to keep track of even half the people that one follows on here. I think you have a really good idea about following up once or twice a week with each person. it is overwhelming when I look at my feed each day and I can't imagine how time consuming it would be to sort through all the content. But if I set aside time to do this then I bet I could probably touch base with each person once week if I really put my mind to it.

I also tend to ramble and post lengthy responses to the posts that I enjoy reading so that makes it hard for me to reply to many posts and comments. Maybe I'll make a steemit follow up list this week like you're planning on doing. Thanks for the good idea!

I think the list idea can be a helpful guide for a distractable guy like myself. I get off on a tangent and away I go, totally forgetting what was successful the day before. I had "concentration ADD" before ADD was even recognized.

In elementary school, I would start a project, like the teacher instructed, but by the end, I would have found something more interesting to work on, and hand that in instead. I always got good grades, but at the same time, quizzical looks from the teachers.

I didn't even realize I was doing it.

100% upvote for no paybot and good idea. I made a list but it's very long and hard to follow, I have two lists now, people who I get along with the most an dpeople who I might be able to get alon with better. I hit the first list first and the second list if I have time. Actually his is why communities would be a nice thing, we could regularly meet up at the same place based on the kind of content we are into and stronger relationships for.

The list is getting a bit long. Thanks for the vote. I like your idea on communities for relationship building.

I always make sure that I'm checking on my followers' post, and sometimes on the new tab for minnows. I try to budget my sp, and I use bots for other's post.

Some people here have 10000+ followers and are only following what? Just 50, 60,? After a year they didn't find anyone to follow? It's lonely talking to themselves out there.

I've said it a few times, I don't care if you write like Shakespeare, if you don't have an audience, nobody will read your work. It can be lonely out there if you don't engage others.

Love it, keep it up The 100 monkey Time is gaining ground more and more Sheeple are waking up. will the 1% do something crazier than 911 to shut this movement down? lets find out. my name is mick I woke up about a year ago thanks to Eric Dubay and Jordan Maxwell. keep on steemin and love the work. Peace and love from @airmobile

Something is definitely coming down the pike @airmobile, they have completely painted themselves into a corner.

Jordan Maxwell will open your mind pretty quickly.

Yes Jordan Maxwell definitely awakened me. Hell I thought I lived on a spinning ball for 30+ years. Until I did my own research and then it hit me like a freight train. Cancelled my TV programming and haven't looked back. Eric Dubay played a big part too. EricDubay.com Peace and Love

Seems like a great intitiative, I hope it won't be counter productive as that time can be used to achieve some greater things. Curious though.

I've been spending more time writing and researching then I have curating and networking, lately. It's a two-way street here on steemit. I can see my responses dwindling and I believe I can chalk it up to not visiting those that visit with me.

I will still find time for achievement as well. Thanks for reading @mrright!

Great to hear! Following you too see your progress.

Did the same.

I'm glad you wrote this since I had actually entertained the idea of not just making a list but a list (ok maybe one of those paper on the wall with stings connecting them dealios) with who the people I remember are, why, what they are up to, how we connect and things I look forward to because of the connection. Since this platform is so open, hard to search and technical in its sterility we try to constantly humanize on here.... such lists seem necessary. Until there is an easier way to keep track other than just a name amongst dozens if not hundreds... we might as well just keep reintroducing ourselves to the people we know 'of' but don't really know. I think the openness of the platform also adds a weird element to relationships on here.

I agree with everything you wrote @ecoknowme. You almost have to maintain a cue card for each one of your acquaintances on Steemit.

(continues scribbling) cheers @wakeupsheeps !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 59522.29
ETH 2588.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45