7 Profitable Thrift Store & Free Recycling Finds w/Stories: $50.41 Spent > $5,694.94 Revenue (No Joke) - Post #2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

After an overwhelming response to my first thrifting post, I wanted to thank you and keep you inspired with a few lucrative thrifting/recycling finds from recent years. The numbers don't lie. These items below cost me $50 and brought in almost $5,700 of revenue before fees and taxes because I got them dirt cheap or found them for free.

Background: I quit my corporate job ~2.5 years ago to thrift and sell recycled goods for a living to be completely independent. I hope to share knowledge, strategies and inspiration for you to benefit from in your lives.

All figures below are precise to the penny as I've tracked every find, cost and detail since I've started. I'll list the cost (if any), the sale price, and the profit before taxes (after any fees or shipping expenses). Keep in mind that market prices may change over time, for better or worse. This was a snapshot of their values at the time.

Please note that I'll often pass on larger profits because I don't want to spend $300 to make $300. Some people don't mind that risk, but I'd rather make higher profit margins to be more sustainable in the long run. I also like to stay in a certain sale price range to keep my items liquid. I prefer to spend $1-20 for items I can sell in the $50-$250 range, proportionally, since they're more affordable price points for buyers. One other point is that I also rarely sell in auction format. I determine my prices and trust my judgment, while being flexible to reduce if it sits for too long.

one-persons-trash-is-anothers-treasure.jpg
Image Source

Note: These aren't all of my biggest sales, but they're my highest significant profit margins relative to the sale price. I have screenshots of the final sales but feel it's best to keep those private for now...

FIND 1: Sony LAM-X1 Hi-MD MiniDisc & CD Player/Recorder

Sony Lam-X1.png

Purchase Price: $13.93 (including buying a new mini-disc for testing)
Sale Price: $1,010.00
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $838.04

Story: I picked this up off a shelf a minute after the employee put it out. It was screaming rare and profitable. The only one on eBay in the past year at the time sold for ~$600 without the remote. This one had the remote and was in mint condition. Score! I decided to make up my price to reflect the scarcity of this Japanese import, and it worked out just fine after gathering over 25 watchers. I used a small portable photo booth for the pictures, which all came out looking great with the black backdrop.

It sold to a man who was in the hospital being treated for bone marrow cancer. He'd always wanted one of these, so he treated himself under the circumstances and was thrilled. It still gets me choked up a bit to have been able to bring him some joy in such a dark time. Seemed like fate to me.

FIND 2: Sealed New Encyclopedia Britannica Great Books Of The Western World Set ~1993

IMG_1541.jpg

Purchase Price: FREE
Sale Price: $1,099.98
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $877.94

Story: I built a relationship with a building management company gutting a nearby apartment building. For 3 weeks, they gave me private access to 6 floors of this building owned by a hoarder who died with no family left. As each tenant moved on over the decades, he converted their rooms into personal hoarding museums. It was a gold mine of antiques and brand new items dating back to the 1950's. With about 20+ vacant apartments and a huge basement, each room was a decade lost in time. I pulled so many free pristine products, it was mind bending. It was a personal sign that I was meant to do this for now after getting the only "all access pass" because I had good manners when the manager saw me standing curiously outside. All I had to do was bring Gatorade and protein bars for the staff so they'd let me in and out during their shifts. I literally took full cabs home two blocks with the most amazing stuff. Most importantly, I feel like I let the owner's spirit carry on by reselling what would've been put in a dumpster.

FIND 3: Sealed New Encyclopedia Britannica 1991 Heirloom Set

IMG_0552.jpg

Purchase Price: FREE
Sale Price: $819.99
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $649.57

Story: Same as above. The gift that kept on giving. I sold so much, but these two sets were the largest in individual revenue so far, although I still have one big item around this mark that I haven't tried to sell yet.

FIND 4: Hand Numbered Birdman Movie Talking Action Figure Promo

Birdman 1.png
Birdman 2.JPG

Purchase Price: $1.28 (after using a few store rewards dollars)
Sale Price: $400.00
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $340.68

Story: I found this at the last hour a thrift store was open after their weekend window sale. The window sale is where a long line of people stand outside (sometimes for 24 hours) to get access to buy only two items in the order they are lined up. First come first serve. After the sale and day passed, I casually strolled to the store, peeked in the window for any mistaken leftovers, and saw this gem semi-hidden on a shelf. At the time, Birdman was an Oscar Nominee, so there was a lot of hype. This was an exclusive media-only promo release and was selling up to $600 at the time. I was a little late to market so I didn't get as much, but still a great return for spending $1.28! The figure said some pretty lewd quotes, but that was the draw of the character in the movie.

FIND 5: Epson R2000 Printer

IMG_2175.jpg

IMG_1106.png

Purchase Price: $16.32
Sale Price: $714.99
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $632.72

Story: I found a thrift store employee I knew pricing some electronics, so I gently asked how much the printer would be. She slapped $14.99 on it and I thanked her profusely. This printer was in near mint shape with all components. People often take out the print heads before donating since they're very valuable, but this was complete! Easy sell a few miles away for dirt cheap shipping. A tip is to take a picture of a successful print head alignment test for your ads to prove it works.

FIND 6: Sealed New LEGO Harry Potter Hogwarts Castle Set #4842

IMG_1181.JPG

Purchase Price: $10.88
Sale Price: $584.98
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $439.69 (rush shipment for gift)

Story: This was put out in a glass case 10 minutes before I saw it. It was fully sealed new. As a discontinued collector's set, it sold in a few days for a nice return.

FIND 7: Tenant T1 and R3 Commercial Floor/Carpet Scrubbers (Double Find)

IMG_2575.JPG

IMG_2582.jpg

Purchase Price: FREE (+$4 split portion of cab ride home) - T1 Unit
Sale Price: $615.00
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $587.64 (They bought prepaid shipping.)

Purchase Price: FREE (+$4 split portion of cab ride home) - R3 Unit
Sale Price: $450.00
Profit After Fees & Shipping: $446.00

Story: I found both of these outside a library that was renovating with dumpsters outside. It was a trash night, so I was glad to save these from the landfill. They weighed 100 and 125 pounds, respectively, so I had to take them back in a large cab. The driver was intrigued from my explanation and took a large folding table for himself, which was another 75 pounds saved from the trash. Win win! And, yes, I carried these both up and down 4 flights of winding stairs. Great exercise!

The T1 sold to a cleaning company for a huge discount because it had a potential water valve issue. If I chose to fix it for about $300, I could've easily sold it for $1,000 more, but I didn't know where to get it fixed. The R3 sold to an individual who was starting his own business as his first investment. The R3 was worth about $750, but I wanted to help with his startup since he was honestly straining to give me $450. I can't complain with $1,033.64 net profit though!

...That's the first look for now. Hope you enjoyed! I have so many more to share, so please check back.

My recent posts:

Please upvote, follow & resteem if you'd like to help me in my vision of sharing this knowledge.

~steemmatt

Sort:  

I am in the wrong line of business! Great work!

Wow, this awesome! You are really pulling some nice deals there. I like it. :)

Thank you, Sir. Glad you could check it out.

Many many thanks for sharing this knowledge.

Thank you as well for checking this out!

I do a little bit actually..phone and camera acc..
😂

So inspirational! Loving these posts... can’t wait to see more of your finds!

Thanks and of course. I have plenty of ideas to keep Steemit readers busy for a while, while also never knowing what I'll find next. Saw your last open mic video, nice job. I've been drumming since a kid, so I appreciate any and all music performance posts.

Thanks Matt! 😊 You should think about submitting an open mic entry sometime! You could definitely do a drum solo or something cool. I just think the Open mic community is really supportive and engaged with each other. It’s been fun to be part of it!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Steem is behaving weird in low voting percentages, so actual votes can diverge by up to 1 voting percent point.
Nice, you got a 5.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @steemmatt
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @steemmatt to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84