My Steemit Journey: It's been just under a week. Episode OnesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

My Steemit Journey began in the last week of March, and boy.... What a ride it has been! Tough, fun, humbling, sweet.... I've experienced a lot of feelings within this period, and I can say I've never seen a community like this before.

So on comes the moment when you get that congratulatory e-mail from Steemit, and you are like "yeahhhhhhh, let's do this!"

I get on, fix up my display picture, cover image and a little text in the "about me" section.

Next stop, I hop into the #introduceyourself tag, and do what needs to be done.
I did get a couple of comments on there-from noobs like me, and a few made me smile, and they were encouraging, and made $0.00..... Well that was to be expected. Lol

Also got a helpful post from a bot, talking about the 50:200 rule....that was a nice read as well, and was useful.

So after putting up my first post, I went cold for a bit.

I had more time on my hands, and went full steam on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.

First thing I noticed?
Writing great content isn't enough... I mean, I'm new here, i don't have a large following, and posting with the various tags give very little views as a noob.

I learnt it's very important to mingle and make friends as much as one can.
I signed up on steemit.chat, but spent little time there.

Next thing I noticed was that there were some folks that were doing really well here, and they looked out for minnows like me-people that dish out original content, but are largely undiscovered, because they are new and "small".

First person I stumbled across was @yoo1900. He shares content of four people with a rating of 60 or less, in order to give them exposure, and he also split's the revenue among them, which they get via upvotes.

I left a comment on the post, and didn't think much of it.

I think I commented/resteemed about 40 posts that day. Towards the end of the day, my rating went up to 27, and just before I called it a day, I was on 28.

On Wednesday, April 4, I got on here early and was getting a bit sad about the low views on my posts (they still are, and I guess it will improve in time), but I saw some amazing comments and thoughts such as these...

Screenshot_2018-04-03-09-51-45.jpg

Screenshot_2018-04-07-10-49-07.jpg

And they lifted my spirits.... At least, my posts are useful to someone, i thought.

Before i could say Jack, I noticed my rating had shot up to 43.....how did this happen? Went through my posts... Noticed a $20 increment on one of them.... And yo... @yoo1900 had upvoted my post, and also shared it with the community....

Screenshot_2018-04-04-09-30-26.jpg
*the third one *

That feeling you know.... A bit difficult to describe.....but boy, did it feel good! Saw a few comments about how good the posts are, and I was like.... "I'm a pretty decent writer I guess :)"

The thought of people seeing my content as being of great quality spurred me on, and I dropped more bars.lol.

Was quite busy up to this moment I'm penning this (sounds fancy) and couldn't really go hard, so i think I posted three or four stuffs I had written previously.

I did also participate in a little contest by @asapers and a while ago(today) , got a comment on my post, that I'll be featured in their 33rd issue.... It's already up by the way, you can see a screenshot below.

Screenshot_2018-04-06-14-12-21.jpg

Screenshot_2018-04-06-14-16-26.jpg

That has kept a permanent smile on my face and it does makes the journey worth it... Howbeit, it's a steep learning curve.

I try not to bother too much about STEEM, SBD, SP. I did read quite a bit about them, but I don't wanna go loco.

So yeah, it's been sweet, fun, tough, euphoric, and also a bit depressing, when you look back at it all.... But you can be sure of one thing... I'm gonna be pressing on, and dishing out quality in my own little way, for the good of us all.

Santé

See you next week!

P.S: I wanna see if I can get on @curie...seems a curator would have to refer me... let's see how that goes....:)

RELATED POSTS
https://steemit.com/nigeria/@solcross/through-the-mind-of-an-african-child

https://steemit.com/story/@solcross/4amxgy-a-little-bit-about-life-loving-and-making-the-journey-of-our-lives-a-memorable-one-here-s-to-you

https://steemit.com/steemit/@solcross/we-miss-all-the-shots-we-never-take-push-one-more-time

https://steemit.com/writing/@solcross/2v9gd9-about-success

https://steemit.com/writing/@solcross/5rntpu-living-life

Sort:  

This was a very nice post, keep going, and when you hit the steemit doldrums, may review your post here to revive your inspiration. There really are some good people on steemit, and I think you are going to be ne of those that give back to the community.

Thanks a lot for your encouraging words....and good to know you have got eyes everywhere. Lol

Definitely..... Really appreciated. Santé

Great post @solcross

A great piece of writing and valuable experiences shared.

It is heartbreaking when you put your soul into a piece of writing and get 10 views and no comments. I guess as newbies we have to just work hard and stay active and hope that we get spotted by some user with a rock star fan base! ;)
Let's keep doing what we're doing and I'm sure it will happen for people like us. Eventually!

Cheers, Gaz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40