What good would you do with $700 million?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Everyone dreams of winning the Lotto, I know I do and I'm not greedy either I don't need that much $1-2 million sets my wife and I free, helps our family, and our close friends.


source

Lottery gets big.

Like, really, really big, In the U.S. there have been wins of $758 million dollars while here in Australia we have maxed out somewhere in the range of $100 million.

giphy.gif

Both those numbers above are ludicrous don't get me, wrong If I won that kind of money my next house would definitely have a Bat Cave but I definitely don't need a house that I would lose my family in because well, I kind of like them.

Lets play a game.

I want you to imagine what you would do if you won ridiculous money in the lotto and I mean the kind of money that your not going to be able to spend easily unless you decide that you need Brad Pitt to be your neighbor and that you need a Boeing to take on dogfights with John Travolta.

Even if your the kind that needs a cruise liner and your personal yacht I want you to imagine winning more money than you need for any of your crazy lottery dreams.

I'll go first.

The world has a million causes that need fixing access to clean water, poverty, cancer and endless other illnesses they are all worth supporting but my target would be something completely different.

Genius.

I know the truth is that anyone can change the world, it could be you tomorrow that has an idea that spark a revolution and changes the planet but there is a group of minds that have an edge.

Genius is powerful, it can be world-changing, it can bring new inventions, art, literature and seed paradigm shifts and its incredibly rare the image below shows some of the groupings of I.Q groups you will note that the first level considered Genius of 145 is about 0.25% or 1 in 400ish people, the ratity of genius climbs quickly as you progress up the scales the rarity ramps up quickly just add ten points to that score and come up to 155 and your looking at a rarity of 0.03% or 1 in 3406 people.

Classing


source


source

Pop-Culture Perspective

source

In the world of Marvels X-men superpowered mutants with powers like laser eyes, wings, telekinetics, and a whole bunch more are more common than genius in the real world, one of the comics has the total mutant population of the world coming in at over 30 million now compare that to the expectation of 17ish million geniuses expected for our current world.

The Lost Einstine Project.

So what do I mean by Lost Einstine? As I established genuis is a rare and incredibly valuable human resource but the value lost to poverty is stagering.

  1. Nearly 1/2 of the world’s population — more than 3 billion people — live on less than $2.50 a day. More than 1.3 billion live in extreme poverty — less than $1.25 a day.

  2. 1 billion children worldwide are living in poverty. According to UNICEF, 22,000 children die each day due to poverty.
    805 million people worldwide do not have enough food to eat.

  3. More than 750 million people lack adequate access to clean drinking water. Diarrhea caused by inadequate drinking water, sanitation, and hand hygiene kills an estimated 842,000 people every year globally or approximately 2,300 people per day.

  4. In 2011, 165 million children under the age 5 were stunted (reduced rate of growth and development) due to chronic malnutrition.

  5. 1/4 of the world lives without electricity.

With those kinds of statistics you are probably wondering why I'm talking about genius, shouldn't I be focusing on helping those problems after all genius doesn't mean you're entitled to basic human rights ahead of anyone else, I agree but today we are playing the you won lotto game, not the found a genie game. Estimates as to the cost of ending global poverty range from $60 - $135 billion per year.

Hopefully, when I'm done explaining my concept you will understand its aims.

Back to it, let's just assume that genius has a standard global distribution rate so.

World Pop. 7,000,000,000 = 17,500,000 Geniuses
Genius in poverty = 8,750,000
Genius without lights = 4,375,000
Child genius staving to death a year = 20,000.
Potential Child Genius lost to developmental issues 2011 = 406,403

The Project.

The primary goals of the project would be a dedicated search for genius lost to poverty and provide for their complete education with the hope of instilling a sense of duty to their community and the world.

How.

  1. Work towards the establishment of free schools in areas of low primary enrolment and high primary drop out rates.

    1.1 On top of basic numeracy and literacy, school hours would focus on practical skills specific to community needs e.g farming practices, water purification, protection from sexually transmitted disease, hygiene etc to enable those that attend to better their community.

    1.2 Each school site would be required to establish a clean water source within its property.

    1.3 Each child that attends to receive a small financial incentive for each year completed.

  2. Establish regional project education centers staffed with advanced teachers and learning opportunities designed to challenge and increase motivation to learn.

    2.1 Where any genius is found significant financial incentive will be offered to encourage parents to allow their child to be relocated to their regional education center, it is important that this process is handled with great care and respect to avoid allegations of child trafficking as the project views these payments as compensation for lost productivity that may be caused by the absence of the child.

    2.2 Throughout their education each year children will be encouraged to create self-driven projects they believe will improve the condition and lives of their community and country.

    2.3 Classes in morals and ethics and the value of altruism would be given a high priority in the education of these children.

    2.4 Establish links with universities to facilitate placement of students.

  3. Einstines think tank.

    3.1 Any student that chooses to complete their education with the project will be invited to take part in an ongoing think tank project discussing technological innovation, economic strategy, automation, health improvment strategies, and of course how to fund the project moving forward etc.

Ok, so it would need to be a pretty big lotto win but that's what I would do how about you

Kind regards

Peter.

My Wife is also a great Steemian worth a follow check out her most recent posts here.
Ulog #6 - I got a dollar, a steem dollar!
#18 What is it? First to guess right wins!


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers a new curation team has started a profit-sharing curation post promotion, follow @asapers to check it and more out!

The STEEM Engine

Upvote follow resteem.png

Sort:  

I would set up a trust and just start giving stuff away once my family and I were taken care of. I would always leave enough in the trust that I could live off the interest and take some trips whenever I wanted. 700 million would be way more than I ever need though. I would make it a life's mission to give back to those who are deserving.

Wow! You've really thought this out!!!! OH my goodness - you have statistics and everything! hahahahaha

I like the idea - but i hate the idea of kids leaving their parents! I know it would be for the "greater good" but i almost would want the whole family to go with them. heeehehe the whole family could be relocated there, and that could just be like the "school time" for the kids to work on their genius projects! :)

sorry - this is your idea! hahahahaha if i tweak it, I better come up with my own ;)

nice one though @shai-hulud hehehehehe

I thought about family relocation but the costs may be too high, by that I don't mean financial but rather the cost to the community they come from if it lost a whole large family.

I love the genius search because in the process you lift so many others. Even if we never come up with a genius, so many minds will be opened, so many opportunities offered. The path to food and employment. Good idea.

What a thought-provoking post, @shai-hulud I love ideas like this - so much potential

BRB, buying Steem.

nice load up the price is right. any takers on selling their accounts?

Nice load up the price
Is right. any takers on
Selling their accounts?

                 - shai-hulud


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Now I'm curious to do the math and see how much Steem I could buy with $700m and how much it would drive the price up. There's probably not that much in open sell orders but it would be an amusing exercise.

Do a smaller scale experiment, buy up 100 million and extrapolate a little bit!

Mate if anyone can crunch those numbers its you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shai-hulud from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Well... this is a subject that can be discussed for hours and hours... I think everybody dreamed at one point in their lives about winning a big sum of money. Even the riches. The more money you have, the more money you spend, so the more money you want. Regarding your genius project, I've read about special schools and programs, they exist. :) Great article!

I knew there were plenty of advanced placement schools mostly in the west and wealthy east but could not find anything much with a focus like I had in mind, I've had this lotto dream rattelling around in my head for some 5 years now.

Until I just this morning when I googled "finding genuis in Sub-Saharan Africa" turns out someone started work on this sort of thing at least there back in 2016 with the Next Einstein Forum.

very exciting

Education and more particularly, education for women would bring about huge flow on effects. Most importantly, a reduction in population growth and the subsequent stress on planetary resources...

I knew I forgot a point women represent the least enroled and the highest dropout in poverty-stricken nations.

extream poverty and excess birth seem to go hand in hand to combat high infant mortality rates perhaps the sexual education re transmitted disease and water education would drive that correlation down, one of the stats that came up was that for every year a woman completed of primary education she was 13% more likely to know about the benefits of condoms.

Congratulations @shai-hulud! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 235 (8/23/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63574.15
ETH 3404.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54