Celebrating Thanksgiving as an American MuslimsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Why shouldn’t American Muslim celebrate Thanksgiving? We have indeed a lot to be thankful for just like many others.

I almost feel obligated to share my personal feelings here. Thanksgiving day has religious roots, and thanking Allah is fundamental to the Islamic faith. When many Muslims stand against this very day, I would argue there’s nothing unIslamic about celebrating Thanksgiving Day.

The Holy Qur’an repeatedly stated to be thankful to Allah. And this verse says it all.

“Then remember Me and I will remember you. Be thankful to Me and do not reject the Faith and I will bless you.” The Qur’an 2:152

Thankfulness is a key message for this day. So on this Thanksgiving Day, I am happy to say I am very grateful (I was saving this speech for my Oscar acceptance which I never get invited to). I am thankful to Allah for all His bounties. I am thankful for my parents, my husband, my health, and my family and the opportunity to have a family get-together today. I am thankful for things I know of as of today, and many more that I am not even aware of. I won’t be thanking God enough, even if I thanked Him 24/7.

Thankfulness to God is the main purpose of our creation, yet most of us still remain unthankful.

1.jpgthumbnail.jpg

Sort:  

Very interesting insight. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you!

Congratulations @sashraf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63