Update, Month7: 🐬 Starting 2019 as a Dolphin! 🐬

in #blog6 years ago

Continuing to blog on all the fascinating aspects of my experience on our Steem blockchain, here is my seventh monthly update.

Since posting my introduction on 14 May 2018, these updates represent my "log" of sorts, giving my readers a monthly window into my "journey" through the Steemisphere - a new "virtual world" based on the creation of our Steem blockchain.

So ... "What are you doing 'in there' @roleerob and how is it going?"

Status or "Executive Summary"



To begin, here is a brief overview to answer the "how is it going" question we should probably be "checking in" with ourselves and answering, from time to time.

Statistics

There is an old saying, "numbers don't lie." Yes, well, there is also an old joke about the executive asking the accountant, "what do the numbers say about how we're doing?" to which the accountant replied, "what do you want them to say?" ... 😉

Required to issue a monthly report for most of my career, with numbers to quantify progress, here are a few:

To date on my Steem "journey," these numbers are the most important. The first three quantify our influence on adding value to the Steem blockchain. And the second two, the actual work we are putting in to adding value ourselves. Given all of our rich diversity, I trust we all have one focused objective in common - adding value to the Steem blockchain.

We want the value to go up!

How is that working for us? Well, you see here the market numbers, i.e. the "bottom line" of how our investment is doing. A nice uptick from last month!

Starting 2019 as a Dolphin!

Definitely my highlight of the month, getting to this level prior to the close of 2018! I've written more on this in the "Awards and Accomplishments" section below.

Engagement "Formula"

A steady work-in-progress, is attempting to maintain the following "rhythm" in the investment of my time:

  1. Engaging "down" with all of the many great Steemians steadily adding value and working hard, who have a smaller stake and doing what I can to encourage them.

  2. Engaging "up" and adding value, as much as I can manage, to the posts of those who may chose to ... uhhh ... increase my "influence" ... 😉 ... to help those in #1 ...

  3. Adding value by writing my own posts, so #1 and #2 have some idea of why they would want to hopefully "engage" with me ...

I don't have my stopwatch out or anything. I just try to be mindful of switching from one to the other. Part of the "flow," as I have written about elsewhere, is naturally regulated by your decline in voting power.

Awards and Accomplishments


🐬 Starting 2019 as a Dolphin! 🐬

Achieving one of my two main goals on the Steem blockchain, before the end of 2018, I became a dolphin! I wrote about the details in my post here, including a transaction history detailing the steady investments I have been making to reach this goal.

Officially Retired! Or am I? 😉

"Out there" in the real world, on Thursday, 17 January 2019, I worked my last day at my employer of the last several years. I wrote about the details in my post here, including some details on why it might not quite be over ...

Early tomorrow morning, I will be heading "out on the road," as detailed in my Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip post. It would be hard to overstate how much I have been looking forward to this trip!

Publishing my Steemisphere Posts

Until further notice, these posts are what I consider to be my greatest accomplishment in contributing to the Steem blockchain. Why?

Here is what I said in my introductory comments:

”You are reading what I would like to have been quickly introduced to, when I was where you are right now.”

I wanted to help others avoid what I had been through, as much as possible.

Here are the two complimentary posts created:

  1. Welcome to the Steemisphere! Getting Off to a "Flying Start," Version 1.0 – Covers the full spectrum of what a new Steemian needs to know to get off to a “flying start.”
  2. User's Guide to the Steemisphere, Version 1.0 – Covers the recommended apps and tools a new Steemian needs as they begin to engage with our Steem blockchain.

Monthly Highlights



Unlike the first two monthly update posts, I will only have two sections this time. So ... ”Ranking” what stands out to me in Month 3, we have …

👍 👍 Two Thumbs Up 👍 👍

Working with ”systems,” as well as managing the work of others, for much of my career, I have always emphasized ”people” over ”process” believing that is the right priority. From a lot of experience, I know the best systems are greatly diminished, if not ”manned” by competent, engaged people. A great team will always solve the problem of less-than-ideal systems. I have never experienced the reverse to be true ...

This section, then, will always be about the people I “meet” in our Community. Specifically, those who have had the greatest impact on my "journey."

As much time as I was away from the Steem blockchain over the last few weeks, I am sorry to say I did not as much time to engage as I would have liked. But I still had some great experiences.

My biggest highlight was my awe at the time and effort put in by a young couple in Venezuela - @blessed-girl and her husband, @theonlyway - to put together a thank you card for their newfound friends in the Steemisphere. I was honored to be one of the ones they put in their presentation.

I first encountered @blessed-girl while trying to find selections for my first entry into the weekly @pifc community contest. I was impressed from the very first with her steady contributions of value to our Steem blockchain and very pleased with how well they are doing.

The one entry I was able to make in the last few weeks to the weekly @pifc community contest led to my "meeting" @nurseanne84, from southeast Asia. While I haven't had the opportunity to get to know her as well, she seems like she has a wonderful attitude.

Both of these people are just great examples of what I really have enjoyed more than anything else on the Steem blockchain - "meeting" really good people from all over the world!

👍 One Thumb Up 👍

This month, in this section, I like to give a "shout out" to @costanza and his @upvoteshares initiative. He has been very steady, from the outset, and his original calculations seem to be working out very well.

It is designed with levels which open up for the purchase of a limited number of shares for interested participants. Once closed, then you have to wait for the next level.

As a bonus, with each share you purchase, then you are able to select a fellow Steemian to receive a share in the associated @minnowshares account. Great way to support others. Once a Steemian collects a sufficient number of @minnowshares, then they are redeemed for one full share of @upvoteshares.

Overall, what I have appreciated the most is the steady, consistent and transparent effort put in by @costanza. I really respect that. And another Steemian I respect, @abh12345, gives him a two thumbs up endorsement.

So ... You may want to check into it!

Source: Steem Artwork contributed by talented Steemian @dandesign86!

👎 One Thumb Down 👎

In contrast with the @upvoteshares initiative above, there was a lot of "buzz" a few weeks ago, with the launch of the @dstors initiative. Within a very short time, they had managed to obtain delegations of hundreds of thousands of SP.

Seemingly almost just as quickly, it all unraveled. First, with the announcement of a "defection" of a key developer. Followed up with charges of theft by one of the major supporters of the initiative.

Ugly stuff. Really ugly ... Now over with this short post that DStors is moving off of the Steem blockchain.

Bye ...

👎 👎 Two Thumbs Down 👎 👎

Hands down, this month's entry goes to the all of the "rumblings" which are loud and growing louder surrounding the decision of @Ned and Steemit Inc to remove ~34M SP from their wallet and move it to the Bittrex exchange!?

For "safety!" That is not a typo ...

At the crux of the current crisis, is the threat of modifying the Steem blockchain to remove the stake of Steemians who "we" don't like ... I have written about this in my Human Nature and "Adventures" in the Steemisphere post. What a mess!

At its core, in spite of all of its potential, blockchain technology is still software. Written by people. Who may or may not have your best interest at heart. Never lose sight of this fundamental truth.

We will all find out how this "plays out." As I have stated in my post, there are a number of very bright people on the Steem blockchain. However, intelligence and wisdom are not the same thing.

For the sake of us all, I hope calmer and wiser "heads" will ultimately prevail, in steering out us of this mess.

Note: If this has caught your attention, you can follow most of the latest on the #stopthepowerdown channel.

Closing



So, a little late this month, but ... Better late than never. Overall a quiet month for @roleerob, given all involved in working through the final weeks of my employment.

Thank you for reading my monthly update. I trust you have found something of value in it and hopefully even some encouragement. I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together (hopefully) to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @ roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Sunday, 20 January 2019!

divider 123.png

steemdivider.png


Interested to read more of my “log” posts on my Steem "journey"? Great! Here you go:

This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Wao Thank you very much!!!.

I like your reports a lot ... it's honor for us that you mention us, the card was something we did with a lot of love for all those who supported us in 2018. We are very happy to know that you liked it.
This year we will continue working with enthusiasm on this beautiful platform!
Thank you for mentioning us in your report, continue with your excellent work !!!

It's my pleasure @blessed-girl. Doing my small part to help you and your family is a blessing and I am thankful for the opportunity I have been given to "meet" you and get to know you a little bit.

All the best to you and yours for a better tomorrow!

A quiet month but full of great milestones and achievements both on- and off-chain which is great to celebrate. As long as many more Steemians are encouraged by your story and approach, we will be better off as we build a great community of support and engagement! Look forward to your journey forward with new perspectives!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you sir! As long as there is a functioning Steem blockchain @newageinv, you can count on me likely "hanging in there" doing my small part to add value to it. 👍

Sunk in too deep to turn back now ... 😉

It was interesting to read your updates and views. I will be coming back to check out some of the links that you posted. Who knows what kinds of trails those will send me on. :)

Yep, @jacey.boldart ...

"Who knows what kinds of trails those will send me on. :)"

... no telling where you'll end up. 😉

If you'll permit me, I'd encourage you to read my Steemisphere posts, as they are intended to help others avoid many of the challenges I went through. If you read them, I'll welcome any feedback you'd care to make for improvements for Version 2.0.

The one change, from the time those posts were written, is I now use SteemPeak almost exclusively, instead of Busy ...

Congratulations on becoming a dolphin by 2019! I wish you to become orca by 2020. It is great you feature people whom you appreciate in your reports. They will feel recognized and valued and want to continue to engage on Steem even more...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @organduo. Yes, without people, not much else counts.

"I wish you to become orca by 2020."

Thank you for the well wishes! Highly unlikely, as I think I have already bought as much STEEM as I want in my portfolio in this asset class. From here, it will all be earned via posting and engagement. Maybe someday!

Interesting account name. If there a story behind it, I'd welcome a link to it, as I am very fond of music. I was raised in a home where our mother assured we were almost continuously surrounded by it.

Thank you for stopping by! Until we "meet" again, all the best to you for a great 2019.

Posted using Partiko Android

To reach orca level by posting and curation, you have to meet quite a few orcas and whales too. You just met one orca. Haha! Good start...

To your success!

Organduo is my and my wife's @laputis domain name of our Secrets of Organ Playing blog: https://www.organduo.lt

Good evening (here) @organduo. Now safely home from my long trip, I have looked into the link you have provided here. As is quickly obvious, you are a very accomplished musician. And you and your wife are both doctors. Do you both have doctorates in music?

I am neither a musician nor an artist, but as stated in my other comment, I grew up in a home where my mother nearly always had classical music playing, so I am both very familiar and comfortable with it. While studying for my engineering degree in Utah, I was required to take a fine arts class. The “Reader’s Digest” version of a much longer story, it resulted with my wife and I sitting in the seats shown in this picture:

Source: Wikipedia – Salt Lake Tabernacle Organ

We were sitting behind the Utah Symphony orchestra, watching them weekly for the quarter I had this class. Behind us was the famous organ of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Given my upbringing, it was very enjoyable.

Until we "meet" again, all the best to you and yours.

Thanks @roleerob! All is true you stated about us. Mormon Tabernacle Organ is world-famous indeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good morning @organduo. Glad you liked the reference. When one puts so much effort into their skills, as you have, I would imagine you might picture yourself sitting at this organ, improvising from your Genevan Psalm Book.

If you don't mind me asking, are the doctorates of you and your wife in music?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @organduo, for the encouragement! I am just seeing this, while stopping briefly in Chinle, Arizona.

Also, thank you for the source of your account name. As time and opportunity allows, I will check out the link you have provided.

I would imagine this might be your first communication with anyone from here.

From Chinle, Arizona to somewhere in Lithuania on the Steem blockchain ... 😉👍

Congrats on the retirement! I like how you approach this summary.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @wholeself-in for stopping by and letting me know you liked it. I appreciate that! 😊

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.946 which ranks you at #3941 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 28 places in the last three days (old rank 3969).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74