😵 "Dark Pinup" - when you know, you really really want something

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

You know, you really really want something, when you order it knowing, that shipping costs more than half of the product. And you pay, before it is actually produced... at least that's how I understood the pre order thing of "Dark Pinup" by Lars Kommienezuspadt. Which was alright with me, as I saw the potential and the value of the project and I wanted to contribute my share to making it a success.

I had been loosely following the blog of @kommienezuspadt from my early days of steemit last summer and was always impressed with the quality of his work. Although he is widely known as a brilliant photographer, I like his drawing even better. More than once, I have just sat there wondering, how anyone can develop these characters and draw like that.

But now, back to the subject of today's post...

When Lars Kommienezuspadt announced, he was going to have his photography published in a book, I knew I had to have it. But as with all things special, it wasn't going to be that easy after all. First I had a bit of a problem with the ordering. Thank god @wcpublishing at workingclasspublishing.com has excellent customer service and they helped me quickly. I placed my "pre order" and prepared myself for the wait... although patience is not my strong side. At least, when I am not painting.

Almost three weeks ago, I got an email with the message, that my book was just put in the mail. WOW, I was getting so excited. Figured about one week and I'd finally hold it in my hands...

Little did I know...

Ok, it did take about a week. 10 days to be precise and then the tracking info of the USPS said package delivered 🤩

But instead of my book, I received a letter. From the German post. That a package had been handed over to the German customs office.

😠

I was told that I had one week to go pick it up. And bring enough cash to pay the duties!! For a book that costs a little over 50 Euro! 😡 Did I mention, that its a one hour drive to that office?

Of course you were given the alternative to decline it and have it sent back. For free!! Hahaha...

Well, I really really wanted my book, so I went to get it yesterday. I think importing a tank wouldn't have been much harder. I had to open the package at the office, and the "contents" were thoroughly inspected. Although I have to give the officer credit. He tried very hard, not to show too much interest in the photos. 10 Minutes later (I'm not exaggerating) the paperwork was finally done and I was turned over to the cashier!

Alright, I must say they did apologize for the wait and told me, if I had imported 1000 books, it would be the exact same procedure. Except for the three zeros. OK, I'll consider that next time 😶

Phew, thank god I had been alerted to bring enough cash. The cashier finally printed out the bill and I paid some 5 Euro in import tax.

And here it is!!!

IMG_0153.jpg

What a beauty. And my kind of book. 1% text and the rest photos, photos, photos! A real treasure chest. And even my favorite Kommienezuspadt model @vermillionfox is in there, yay!

IMG_0158.jpg

So, in the end it turned out well worth the trouble, and I'd order it again any time. If you like Lars Kommienezuspadt's work, you should definitely get your own copy at workingclasspublishing.com. If you live in Germany... well, you should be prepared after reading this 😉

My biggest compliments to @kommienezuspadt and all who participated to this wonderful book!


Photos taken by me of "Dark Pinup" by Lars Kommienezuspadt



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on sola

Sort:  

What a complicated story. Apparently, the book got good.
Could you explain why it's called Pinup? I do not see in the photos that you showed this style ...

Oh well, at least I got it finally ;-) I think that is why it is called "Dark pinup"... plus I really only showed a tiny fraction of what the book is about. If you want to know more, you'd have to ask @kommienezuspadt directly..

I'm shy) You then show it in your blog ;)

Ahh! You found me! 😆 Sorry to hear that you had to go through so much trouble for that book but it’s so worth it!

Oh it definitely is. That's what I wanted to point out with my little story 😁

Aww, so I’m one of the highlights. I’m flattered!

Did you order yourself a copy @yusaymon?

I can’t wait to receive my copy!♠️

You will love it!

I came to your feed to look at your tarot cards, but now I’ve gotten all distracted by this book you’ve shared and looking up the models, and commenting & following... wow! Thank you for sharing your passion and enthusiasm for this work of art, and now inspiring my interest in it and the folks involved.

I enjoyed you sharing the saga of acquiring the book. WTH?! Why did the authorities make that so arduous? Was the hassle because of the content of the publication or just would be so for any regular merchandise crossing imaginary patrolled boundary lines??

I know I'm behind on my Tarot again, but the days are simply to short to do it all ;-)

Glad you found inspiration of a different kind, although I'm sure it will be difficult to tempt you with another book ;-)

Haha.. yeah well, now I can laugh about the story. But I guess it really is standard procedure. I don't think its related to the content of the book, because they made me come for the pickup without even knowing what was in the package... and then they just go by the numbers and the bill... At least we live in a place of the world, where one doesn't get prosecuted for owning such "material" 😉

It sounds like a really good book.

Absolutely! If you like the subject, you should get your copy!

I can’t wait to get mine! It’s stuck in customs at the moment, even though I already paid for the import tax online. I want it now!!

Gosh... hard to believe it can be worse anywhere than here... at least you live in an advanced country where you can actually make the payment online!

Well the customs are 500 kilometres away so :DDD But I guess they take their time looking at the hot pictures before they send the book to me, I hope the pages are not too sticky...

I am lucky so far I didn't have to go to that German custom office to pick up a package but I indeed have heard so many absurd stories about them giving absurd prices, not to mention the hassle of going there...

Ist einfach alles ziemlich nervig... andererseits weiß ich nicht, wie ich mich in einem Job fühlen würde, in dem einen so gut wie jeder hasst..

there is much to like - I followed the links! Fabulous ..... and lots of high heels

You would like it!

I see you can be man creative, your taste is very good.
How you see and write phenomena have art

What a charming, possibly erotic book you've got there! Added to the delays you experienced: The shipping and insurance costs between U.S. and Europe are just astounding, and even worse to Australia and N.Z. When I sell via Amazon, eBay, Biblio, etc., I need a tracking system with delivery confirmation. Otherwise, a buyer can claim their book never arrived, and all money is returned to the 'buyer.' But a tracking/signature shipping method may add more than $100.00 to the cost of shipping. This is a shame, since only very well-heeled buyers and sellers are shipping books overseas these days, and often the sellers make very little profit The duty tax, added-on, makes the process even worse! Yikes!

OMG... never thought it could be much worse than here, at least for relatively free countries.. that would definitely destroy a lot of online business :-/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14