Soliciting more feedback by running a @croupierbot lottery on your steemit blog-post

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I've been playing a bit with writing a little steemit bot. Yesterday I started running the first beta version of @croupierbot.

The goal for @croupierbot is to provide a friendly croupier that you may invite on your own blog post in order to help in soliciting more feedback on your post by running a little lottery. The steps would be as follows:

  1. Announce in your post that you will be running a @croupierbot lottery for your blog post.
  2. Await comments on your post.
  3. Award lottery tickets to contenders by upvoting their 1st level comments.
  4. Invite @croupierbot to your page.
  5. Wait for @croupierbot to draw the winner.

As steps one through three are obvious, we shall walk through the final two steps to show the value of @croupierbot as an incorruptible croupier. I will show how you, neither your contenders, need to actually trust the bot given that @croupierbot discloses all its steps that it takes using the blockchain to prove its trustworthiness.

But let's start by inviting @croupierbot after having upvoted the comments.

To invite @croupierbot, simply reply to your own original post mentioning @croupierbot and the word lottery. The syntax is shown above also includes an amount of SBD describing the price money, but for now, you may omit this as it is meant for a future reputation tracking feature that I won't get into in this post.

Within a number of minutes, @croupierbot should respond with a first response that looks something like this:

Here the @croupierbot announces the lottery, that shall commence a number of minutes later. It lists all the tickets you have given out through upvoting and mentions a block number that currently does not yet exist in the steemit blockchain. This first post is created as a way of logging the intent to draw using the designated future block and thus showing the bot won't be able to influence the outcome of the draw in anyone's favor.

A number of minutes later @croupierbot will post a second post

The second post is the most important one. It not only reveals the winner of the lottery, it also provides links to steemd.com that make it possible to validate the impartial and correct operation of the drawing algorithm.

There is a link to the first post. The draw announcement. The fact that the draw announcement has a lower number than the second block number shows that @croupier could not have known the outcome when the first post was posted.

If you follow the link, you can see the link to the post:

If you follow the other link, the drawing block link, there, you can click the Show raw block data link to reveal the info we need.

After clicking, look for witness signature and copy the string:

Now use the string from a python interpreter like this:

The number 3 here is the number of tickets. The response, number 2 is the ticket number of the winning ticket.

I hope some of you will find @croupierbot useful for attracting more feedback to your posts. If you run into any issues, please let me know, @croupierbot is still very much in beta, so there might still be bugs.

I'll be running four $0.15 SBD @croupierbot lottery draws on this page. One tomorrow and then one for on each of the next four days. So please add a comment to this post to partake in the demonstration and beta testing of @croupierbot.

Oh, and if you enjoy my post, remember to vote for me in MAP20.

Sort:  

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pibara to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks does? Give it an upvote to support this project and keep it free!
For more information, Click Here!

This comment has received a 1.92 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @fersher. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

good post

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @azziz

I love this idea @pibara. I'm definitely interested in trying this out.

You might consider using @croupierbot like this. I'm not sure I have enough interacting readers to make this work, but I'm pretty sure you would.

I'm really interested in giving it a try. Do you suggest I announce it at the bottom of my post or how would be the best way to let people know I'm giving away and they have a possibility of winning?

@pibara, hey I have been running tiny tests of the @croupierbot on a couple of my other posts to check and see how it works. How long does it normally take to respond to a comment calling it to come in and do its magic?

It was down for a bit. Could you retry. I'm struggling with a bug right now, havn't fixed it but if you use the short call and there are at least two upvotes, it should not run into the bug. Please use the simple form short invite. Respond time times I've measured so far are between one and nine minutes. Let me know if it still doesn't respond.

Happy to give it as many tries as needed. What is the layout of a "short call"

I'm going to be away from my computer again for another two hours. After that, I will be nearby the full evening. I'll give it a try as soon as I can and I will let you know if it works.

Just the name of the bot, a space, the word 'lottery' a space and the price. No newlines no postfix and no other account mentions :

@croupierbot lottery 4.321

Should be a reply to your own top level post and there should be at least two other replies by people other than yourself upvote by you.

Hi, @bigpanda

Thank you for inviting me to this page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am sorry for the inconvenience, but 'on' is not a command I currently understand.

[@croupierbot catch-up instance]

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to your page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 15276432.
After block 15276460 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @fersher .

This winner has been drawn using block 15276460.

( Draw announcement can be found in block 15276435 ).

Ok, as anounced: 0.15 SBD lottery #1 (of 4).
@croupierbot lottery 0.150

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to your page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 15249746.
After block 15249770 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @azziz .

This winner has been drawn using block 15249770.

( Draw announcement can be found in block 15249750 ).

I'll be running a new $ 0.150 beta test run here tomorrow. Please comment on the main post if you want to take part tomorrow (and the next few days).

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to your page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 15337070.
After block 15337100 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @amarvaran .

This winner has been drawn using block 15337100.

( Draw announcement can be found in block 15337073 ).

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @amarvaran .

This winner has been drawn using block 16086600 as anounced in this transaction in block 16086482.

While in no way required, a tip by the winner @amarvaran by means of an upvote of this post would be highly appreciated.

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to this page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 16086479.
After block 16086600 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

Hi, @pibara

Thank you for inviting me to your page.

I am your friendly incorruptible croupier.
I am here to help with the impartial drawing a winner from the following contestants:\ :

The block number of the current head of the block chain is 15385133.
After block 15385160 is added to the blockchain and becomes irreversable, I will anounce the winner using the witness signature from that block.

OK, I have drawn the winner.

The winner of the draw is @bigpanda .

This winner has been drawn using block 15385160.

( Draw announcement can be found in block 15385136 ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44