My Experience Learning Spanish With DuoLingo

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Duolingo Logo.png

Finding myself bored and with nothing to do on the long train ride from Ljubljana to Salzburg, i decided to learn a new language. After a quick look at the options, i decided to download the DuoLingo app and pick up one of the languages on offer. Not sure why, but i ended up choosing Spanish (German would have been more useful on the trip).

Why Learn a 2nd Language at all?

The education system here makes it mandatory to learn two languages - English and a choice between Mandarin, Bahasa Melayu and Tamil. Learning another language can bring about economic, social and mental health benefits. E.g. in a 2010 study done by Hazlehurst, a second language can add a pretty impressive 10 to 15% to your wages.

Those who have learnt a second language also show greater mental flexibility, they are better at problem solving, more creative and have better reasoning abilities.

Nosotras somos niñas

Having lived and worked in a few countries in Southeast Asia, the way i picked up languages informally was to learn a few keywords, things related to the office, things related to food, direction words like "left" and "right" and use them in the office, in the taxi and when ordering food.

DuoLingo was my first 'formal' attempt at learning a new language since school and to be honest, i found having to learn sentences like "we are girls" and "they are boys" a little pointless and rigid. I can see what they're trying to achieve by laying the foundation for sentence structure and grammar - something that one rarely borrows with when they self-teach.

Starting is easy, finishing is another thing altogether

duolingo.JPG

I truly believe that people will only pick up a language if they see a benefit to it. If you want to go to university in Germany or Japan, you will do what it takes to become proficient in German or Japanese. If you want to understand your Korean dramas, you will learn Korean. But if there's no compelling need to learn a language, then the motivation to see it through dies really fast.

At least that was the case with my Spanish. Once i was on longer stuck on the train, i had no reason to continue learning. Spanish isn't used widely in Asia and there are limited opportunities to use it in day to day life. Also, I found the style of learning to be a bit too impractical.

For anyone looking to learn a new language, i think a better way would be to read blogs or posts on Steemit in that language. Then interact with the author and slowly, bit by bit, your command of the language would improve. It is also a lot more practical and fun than to learn sentences like 'we are girls'.

Sort:  

You are 100% with what you say about motivation. If you do not feel something is useful or feel really passionate about learning it, it will be nearly impossible to learn.

But I have to disagree when you say duolingo is impractical. I believe duolingo to be the most practical app for learning language out there, which is not to say using apps are the most practical way to learn, but it’s a wonderful tool. We need to make sentences using grammar in order to allow the grammar to process automatically. No sentence is impractical if it has words that you are likely to use and common grammar that’s you are trying to learn, it doesn’t matter how impractical the sentencemignt seem. The only better alternative would be to make a ton of sentences yourself and speak them out with a textbook as a guide

To be fair I have yet to become fluent using duolingo but it is mostly due to the problem you had, I just didn’t see myself using the language any time soon. I really wish I had it when I was studying Japanese now or chinese though!

That's true. I find the grammar rules of the languages to be harder than the actual vocab. For me, it is something that i can only seem to pick up when i immerse my self. Luckily a lot of the Asian languages have relatively simple grammar structure.

I guess you haven’t studied Japanese!

Yeah i've heard from friends that Japanese is tough with the polite modifiers and all. Thankfully mandarin and thai were a lot easier. At least when it comes to speaking.

你会中文吗?!

I am from South American and obviously I speak Spanish as my native language and here our education we have to learn the basic of the english because we all know the english is the predominated lenguage on the world.
And as different of you this have to be my priority to learn a new lenguage and for me DuoLingo isn't good exactly as you said. For learn English I used paid websites that have helped a lot and of course video games helped too and read post like this on steemit!!! xD

Hahaha now that you mention it, video games are probably a very good way to pick up a new language. Especially RPGs.

Good learning and great suggestion! I really like your idea; read blogs or posts on Steemit in that language and interact with the author and slowly , bit by bit, this would certainly help us to improve the language.

I myself learned French for 3 years during my high school and 3 courses of Spanish when I studied in the University.... They were very interesting! Um! To tell you the truth, I forgot them all already!!!! ;D

Wow @tangmo, so you know at least 4 languages! It's true, i haven't used my 2nd language for more than 10 years and now i struggle when someone talks to me in it.

Ha ha! Yes, I know at least 4 languages....but only a few words of Spanish and French! You are lucky staying there where you can practice other languages! For me, I live only in Thailand, so it's not necessary for me to learn other languages for the time being.... ;)

Suerte quien quiere puede y no 2 luego quizas agarres amor a los idiomas y estudies 2,3 y hasta 4.

Muchos gracias. Espero aprender tres idiomas.

I hope that came out somewhat correctly :)

Sweet!

Good experience and try to incress your experience day by day and hope you will be success

Thank you. I'm looking to see where i will move to next before deciding which language to choose.

DUOLINGO IS cool you can learn new language

I remember trying this out a long time ago, I just couldn't find the time to dedicate to an app like this instead of something like a class in school.

I wish it worked for me as it worked for you, maybe I'll give it a try since I wanna learn Japanese.

Does this really work?? How does one download this

Well the app is free on the play/app store. It is a decent option i think if you're looking to try out new languages.

I really like this! Definitely awesome! Great post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41