You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Experience Learning Spanish With DuoLingo

in #blog6 years ago

You are 100% with what you say about motivation. If you do not feel something is useful or feel really passionate about learning it, it will be nearly impossible to learn.

But I have to disagree when you say duolingo is impractical. I believe duolingo to be the most practical app for learning language out there, which is not to say using apps are the most practical way to learn, but it’s a wonderful tool. We need to make sentences using grammar in order to allow the grammar to process automatically. No sentence is impractical if it has words that you are likely to use and common grammar that’s you are trying to learn, it doesn’t matter how impractical the sentencemignt seem. The only better alternative would be to make a ton of sentences yourself and speak them out with a textbook as a guide

To be fair I have yet to become fluent using duolingo but it is mostly due to the problem you had, I just didn’t see myself using the language any time soon. I really wish I had it when I was studying Japanese now or chinese though!

Sort:  

That's true. I find the grammar rules of the languages to be harder than the actual vocab. For me, it is something that i can only seem to pick up when i immerse my self. Luckily a lot of the Asian languages have relatively simple grammar structure.

I guess you haven’t studied Japanese!

Yeah i've heard from friends that Japanese is tough with the polite modifiers and all. Thankfully mandarin and thai were a lot easier. At least when it comes to speaking.

你会中文吗?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52