Keep your 0.02 upvote to yourself. A comment will do.

in #blog6 years ago

Yes, I am going to say what no redfish is willing to say and that is: we don't want your worthless upvotes, well I speak for myself. But first of all let me clear the air: this isn't about greed or my false sense of entitlement. Matter of fact you don't even need to upvote at all or even notice my comment or post, but if you think your upvote worth $0.02 is helping me grow, well, I am sorry to disappoint you but it is not, and you should stop (maybe). If you value my comment or post at all then the least you can do is give valid feedback.

I'm not going to lie, I need these upvotes--the ones that are worth something tangible of course. But as a writer, I value feedbacks more. Like I said earlier your 0.02 upvote isn't helping me grow financially. If you do the maths it will take approximately 50 upvotes to get to a dollar, so be rational and put yourself in my shoes, are you willing to lick someone else's arse 50 times for a dollar? I guess not.

"Then stop the ar---

let me finish!

However, if you want to help me in any way then I will suggest you reply my comments or leave a thoughtful comment on my post, that will only cost you time, which is more valuable than money itself (oh here we go again. Eat feedbacks then). Time is the currency of life, and anyone willing to spend a fraction of it with me, in my opinion, values me.

1 comment > a hundred 0.02 upvotes.

I'm so particular about that figure, 0.02. I don't know why.

I too feel like a fraud whenever I upvote people's post because I feel like I have given then nothing of value. My upvote is worth nothing actually, and to compensate I try to leave a valid comment on very post I read.

What actually pains me most times is the feeling of being a sellout. I feel I'm selling my time, experiences, and life for peanuts (and peanuts do taste great). I could do this for free--i have some this for free and my concern then was more about impact. I wanted to give people something of value. My poems, journals, stories...they were my media to connecting with people, but now that I have chosen to gain from this process, it hasn't really been fulfilling. I have this saying of not wanting to put a price tag on my soul, but I have actually done that, and it's a blank one where anyone can input any figure they like.

"Hey Mr. Nonso take this 0.02 upvote for your troubles."

Angry tears rolling done my brown cheeks right now.

I do value steemians like @tarazkp who take their time to reply comments (although his posts can be lengthy sometimes, and I say this with a straight face), but he gives you this feeling that you are connected with someone and there is nothing that nourishes the human soul more than relationship. When you form new bonds with people, no matter how brief, it elevates your mood. Like the comment I got from @nuthman and @myindigoinsight some days back, I really did feel that my post was worth something, because the discussed the issues I raised with such clarity (I did not return the favour though, shoot me), and that's what I am talking about, connection.

I am probably going to get one of those:

"Oh, you need to earn your upvote"

Keep it then.

"You feel so entitled for a reddish with little steempower, I'm going to flag you into limbo... yen yen yen"

Okay.

In essence, I want to restructure my approach towards steem in order to gain a more pleasurable experience.

As a whale, dolphin, minnow...Whatever, you can be selfish (still a fish anyways) and no one will hurt you. But in the case where you give peanuts and require or preach that people give more to the system when they do not have more is really...(I'm thinking of the appropriate word, language Nonso, Language) , well I think it's annoying.

By any chance you just read the headline of this post and then jump into the comment section, well, that's on you.

"Okay Sir Nonso, how about we increase it 0.04?"

Bye!

Sort:  

My entire account was earned mostly from .02 cent or smaller votes. I did end up receiving 50 of them.

Then, my vote mattered more and those same people continued to grow and they have .03 cent votes.

... kept growing and we all have .05 cent votes and at the top of the high price I had a $4 vote... The price went down and I have a .56 cent vote.

Build your account on accumulating .02 cent votes and let that .02 cents help you earn the next round and the next round.

the road to success isn't an easy one and im not looking for shortcuts. I have written over ten posts with a collective value of about a dollar, so if I was here just for the steem alone i would have bailed out by now.

yes, it must have been very hard for you then, but if it's possible to help another make their journey easier I am sure you will help?

what triggered this post was the assumption that redfishes are milking steemit. but the fact is individually they are making peanuts, and economically its hard for people to save if they have little. Investments are usually for persons with substantial cash.

but I do get your point and I am building my account. if I can get the attention of top steemians like you , then it means im making progress, despite the low earnings and that is more important to me

I feel like a celebrity checking out your blogs and randomly seeing my name pop up :D

I hear what you are saying here too man. All the 0.02s will add up with time, but you are more annoyed about the lack of engagement. I feel the same, don't get me wrong I have spoken to some amazing people on here and had some very good conversations, some from people commenting on my blogs, and some from people replying to my comments on theirs, but that is only a small fraction of all the comments I have left. Most people do not reply, and some people only leave a vote, not that I am ungrateful but I write something I don't just say 'great post', I write meaningful comments, and when you just get nothing at all, you can start to question if it really is the 'community' that you saw in all the youtube videos.

There are some really awesome helpful people here and a sense of community yes, i do actually love steemit, but there is also clearly another side to steemit, which is people only interested in their content making money. Some higher up accounts have been so helpful to me starting out, some clearly like to give back around here and others do not. But that's the whole point of steemit no? So you can do what you want, use it for how it suits you? Decentralised?

I have had some amazing chats with people, a lot of steemit is very sociable and do engage with you, but somettimes as a minnow it is hard. The steemit chat doesn't seem to drive anything over either, i think everyone uses it for the same reason, to promote their posts, not to scan for other posts.

Having said all this i have been on here less than 3 weeks, and so maybe i am not in a position to have an opinion yet, just my observations so far.

I think you should check out minds.com. Its another crypto based social media plafrom, but you're rewarded for time spent on there, when you subscribe to someone, when you comment, when you share someone else's post, when you vote, as well as the usual earning rewards from vots from other people, and votes on your content. Where as on steemit it seems i can spend 2 hours actually taking the time to read peoples content, and leave a thought out comment, and sometimes not get a single reply or vote, and then it feels like man that was a waste of 2 hours. Where as on minds.com you would actually be getting rewarded for those 2 hours you spent engaging. It is very different to steemit and i do prefer steemit because my main focus is blogging, and minds is actually slightly similar to facebook. Anyway i hope this does not piss anyone off, i do prefer steemit and i do think there is so much great things here, but there is also a side to steemit you don't hear about in all the video's, i didnt come on here expecting to have it easy , i knew i would have to work hard.

It just is a bit annoying when you're making such an effort all the time, and there's nothing in return most of the time, and i do not mean just monetary rewards, it is mainly the being ignored, and then you notice random comments which don't say much at all being upvoted to fuck because of bots etc. Minnows totally depend on the few at the top who are like minded to us, they like to engage and genuinely want to help us along :)

I think we will both be one of those one day!!

I was going to resteem this comment but it seems one cannot resteem comments. Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I have been told to gather those 0.02, but honestly if it goibg to take about 100 upvotes to get $2 then I rather focus that energy elsewhere or on another like building craft something I have totally abandoned. Imagine being a creative writer without any creative content on your blog, it really sucks. I rather write my short stories, promote them on facebook and twitter and getting those wonderful feedbacks I ususally get than scavage for 0.02 upvotes. instead of earning this way, i rather buy little by little and once I reach the level of a minnow I can start making steps to help snaller accounts grow.

Definitely have a look at that minds.com in that case i think you could do quite well on there. This is the best time though to be earning all the 0.02's because the price of steem is so low!! So it may feel slow but this is definitely the best time to be putting in so much effort and earning all those pennies because the price of steem has been what 4 or 5 times higher than it is now? So that 2 dollars could end up being 10 dollars a few months from now, it would be even more disheartening if it were the other way around, where you spent all that time making 10 dollars and then steem crashed and it went down to 2 dollar.

I will have to spend a bit less time on here, i feel the same as you there are other things i can be getting on with- but im trying to have a goal of 3 blogs a week, and maybe spend 1 hour a night reading and leaving comments. So over time that is steady progress. We're not going to get big accounts after a few weeks or even months, a lot of those accounts at the top have been here from the start, and many of them have earned it all, or mostly all with little bits of investing.

So maybe pull back a little but set a reasonable goal of posts and comments for the week, it's almost like a little project then.

So maybe pull back a little but set a reasonable goal of posts and comments for the week, it's almost like a little project then.

yeah this is how I want to approach things. I was a bit edgy yesterday so maybe it affected my delivery.

I really do not mind the pennies, I just stated I prefered comments more. maybe not in this tone, but this is what I meant. I am not expecting $1 upvotes, lol that woukd be ridiculous in a way, given that there are other people to upvote. I appreciate all I am getting, but does that mean I cannot have a preference? certainly not.

I think some people could read this post the wrong way, but I could understand the point you were trying to make without getting hung on on it's delivery :)

You are absolutely allowed a preference, just as people are absolutely allowed to ignore our comments! haha! Swings and roundabouts!

At least I have someone whi understands, thank you :)

Hey @nonsowrites, thanks for mentioning me in your post. It's nice to know that my comments are contributing and appreciated.

I can feel your frustration. When I put a lot of effort into a post and then some dolphin comes in and gives it a 1% upvote (about $0.01) I may shake my head a little. I also wouldn't mind it if they would at least take the time to comment, letting me know if they even read the article and understood the content.

Coming from the other side, as a dolphin myself, I often don't up-vote a comment as much as I'd like to, but not for reasons that you'd expect. I like to up-vote a lot of content, but I always run low on voting power, so I have learned that I have to take it easy a bit; at least until I recharge. Then I'll usually divvy out some nice 100% votes. For instance, right now my voting power is around 75% so I am going a bit easier on the votes so that I can have more influence in a couple of days.

I would like to add though, that I am happy to take any votes that I can! For instance, I have a post from a couple of weeks about that had almost exclusively 0.01 to 0.02 votes on it, but there were hundreds of them! Just the small votes alone added up to around 30 or 40 dollars I think.

Another nice thing about getting those small votes from plankton/minnows is that they may follow you, and later on they may increase their stake quite dramatically. Then you have a nice rich friend to give you some love! hehe. Just my 2 cents, my friend.

I do understand. And like I said earlier, this post is targeted at those top accounts who demand so much from small users, and giving nothing significant in return. truly if we are expecting accounts to grow and power from getting 0.02 upvotes which might even take a month to earn $2 than that's really absurd in my opinion. I can comfortably buy two steem per week, use that time spent reading over 100 articles, (which might not all make sense), developing my craft and promoting it elsewhere. it is just about weighing your options here.

To get upvote from @wafrica, the post needs at least 300 characters! Please describe your work in detail ;-)

What if you got 50 of those 0.02$ upvotes? Suppose your following grew large enough to include 50-100 minnows upvoting you and your comments regularly. Then you'd be making about $1-$2 from small upvotes. That's, in fact, vastly preferable to getting that valuable an upvote from a single large dolphin on the regular. Why? That one person might one day decide they don't want to support you any longer. That may happen for any number of reasons or no particular reason at all.

I know you want feedback but railing against small upvotes will not do you any good in the long run.

this post is actually targeted at top users who do little for the small users and complain so much about about redfishes milking the system.

honestly I will appreciate comment more than 50 0.02 upvotes. I am not trying to get rich quick, if so I would have withdrawn my first earnings rather than power up, given that it is so little. yes minnows and smaller steemians do not have too much to give in terms of steem, thats understandable. but as for the dolphins and whales they can, however it is not compulsory they do because they've worked for their spot. but I will reiterate my earlier statement: I would prefere a simple comment from them than a somewhat worthless upvote as compensate for reading their posts, only to be told later that I am milking the blockchain by withdrawing my earnings. that is not a fair statement, this is what I am actually reacting to.

I've not come across any accusations of redfish milking the system, because, let's be honest, how much can they actually milk the system?

My advice, ignore and avoid people who complain like that. They are in all walks of life. People like having others to blame when things aren't going well for them. Don't let them get under your skin or try to justify yourself to them.

I will take your advise, thank you :)
a little tense moment there...

It is during our darkest moments that we must focus to see the light

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60