You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keep your 0.02 upvote to yourself. A comment will do.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I feel like a celebrity checking out your blogs and randomly seeing my name pop up :D

I hear what you are saying here too man. All the 0.02s will add up with time, but you are more annoyed about the lack of engagement. I feel the same, don't get me wrong I have spoken to some amazing people on here and had some very good conversations, some from people commenting on my blogs, and some from people replying to my comments on theirs, but that is only a small fraction of all the comments I have left. Most people do not reply, and some people only leave a vote, not that I am ungrateful but I write something I don't just say 'great post', I write meaningful comments, and when you just get nothing at all, you can start to question if it really is the 'community' that you saw in all the youtube videos.

There are some really awesome helpful people here and a sense of community yes, i do actually love steemit, but there is also clearly another side to steemit, which is people only interested in their content making money. Some higher up accounts have been so helpful to me starting out, some clearly like to give back around here and others do not. But that's the whole point of steemit no? So you can do what you want, use it for how it suits you? Decentralised?

I have had some amazing chats with people, a lot of steemit is very sociable and do engage with you, but somettimes as a minnow it is hard. The steemit chat doesn't seem to drive anything over either, i think everyone uses it for the same reason, to promote their posts, not to scan for other posts.

Having said all this i have been on here less than 3 weeks, and so maybe i am not in a position to have an opinion yet, just my observations so far.

I think you should check out minds.com. Its another crypto based social media plafrom, but you're rewarded for time spent on there, when you subscribe to someone, when you comment, when you share someone else's post, when you vote, as well as the usual earning rewards from vots from other people, and votes on your content. Where as on steemit it seems i can spend 2 hours actually taking the time to read peoples content, and leave a thought out comment, and sometimes not get a single reply or vote, and then it feels like man that was a waste of 2 hours. Where as on minds.com you would actually be getting rewarded for those 2 hours you spent engaging. It is very different to steemit and i do prefer steemit because my main focus is blogging, and minds is actually slightly similar to facebook. Anyway i hope this does not piss anyone off, i do prefer steemit and i do think there is so much great things here, but there is also a side to steemit you don't hear about in all the video's, i didnt come on here expecting to have it easy , i knew i would have to work hard.

It just is a bit annoying when you're making such an effort all the time, and there's nothing in return most of the time, and i do not mean just monetary rewards, it is mainly the being ignored, and then you notice random comments which don't say much at all being upvoted to fuck because of bots etc. Minnows totally depend on the few at the top who are like minded to us, they like to engage and genuinely want to help us along :)

I think we will both be one of those one day!!

Sort:  

I was going to resteem this comment but it seems one cannot resteem comments. Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I have been told to gather those 0.02, but honestly if it goibg to take about 100 upvotes to get $2 then I rather focus that energy elsewhere or on another like building craft something I have totally abandoned. Imagine being a creative writer without any creative content on your blog, it really sucks. I rather write my short stories, promote them on facebook and twitter and getting those wonderful feedbacks I ususally get than scavage for 0.02 upvotes. instead of earning this way, i rather buy little by little and once I reach the level of a minnow I can start making steps to help snaller accounts grow.

Definitely have a look at that minds.com in that case i think you could do quite well on there. This is the best time though to be earning all the 0.02's because the price of steem is so low!! So it may feel slow but this is definitely the best time to be putting in so much effort and earning all those pennies because the price of steem has been what 4 or 5 times higher than it is now? So that 2 dollars could end up being 10 dollars a few months from now, it would be even more disheartening if it were the other way around, where you spent all that time making 10 dollars and then steem crashed and it went down to 2 dollar.

I will have to spend a bit less time on here, i feel the same as you there are other things i can be getting on with- but im trying to have a goal of 3 blogs a week, and maybe spend 1 hour a night reading and leaving comments. So over time that is steady progress. We're not going to get big accounts after a few weeks or even months, a lot of those accounts at the top have been here from the start, and many of them have earned it all, or mostly all with little bits of investing.

So maybe pull back a little but set a reasonable goal of posts and comments for the week, it's almost like a little project then.

So maybe pull back a little but set a reasonable goal of posts and comments for the week, it's almost like a little project then.

yeah this is how I want to approach things. I was a bit edgy yesterday so maybe it affected my delivery.

I really do not mind the pennies, I just stated I prefered comments more. maybe not in this tone, but this is what I meant. I am not expecting $1 upvotes, lol that woukd be ridiculous in a way, given that there are other people to upvote. I appreciate all I am getting, but does that mean I cannot have a preference? certainly not.

I think some people could read this post the wrong way, but I could understand the point you were trying to make without getting hung on on it's delivery :)

You are absolutely allowed a preference, just as people are absolutely allowed to ignore our comments! haha! Swings and roundabouts!

At least I have someone whi understands, thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68