ME OR WE? - My inspirational writing for the mid weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Ulluwatu 4.jpg

The image below has passed by my Pinterest feed recently and it made me think about its true meaning and importance.

The same is to say that a relationship is a "game" in which, either the two win or both lose. The apparent simplicity of these statement teaches us a great lesson: that we should de-center ourselves and start to think in the plural, in terms of "we," when we are in a relationship, should it be a loving, a family, or a friendship one.

Ulluwatu 53_.jpg

Only by thinking in terms of others, in us with the other and in the other with us it's possible to upgrade that relationship to the level of true love, solidarity, understanding, and altruism. Only by thinking in terms of togetherness, of relationship, in the yearnings and fears of the other, in their certainties and insecurities, in their mindset, we are able to build a relationship based on empathy and, therefore, stronger. Unbreakable, indestructible, years’ erosion and life proof.

Ulluwatu 57.jpg

We shall be entitled to make our points, but only if they are valid to the eyes of the other, if they also understand them in the light of their point of view. If they are happy with it and respect us more for it. Because otherwise it's not worth it, it becomes a battle and a defeat. Because arguments and reason are only valid when they have a ground, not only for us but also before those we love.

Ulluwatu 48.jpg

The foundations of a happy and lasting relationship are mutual admiration, understanding, and respect, besides love. And we will only earn them if we acknowledge that what is good for us only makes sense if it is good for the other, equally.
Going from Me to We is a symbiosis, a mutual benefit, a win-win relationship.
Happiness in a relationship is one in which both win.
In which "We" is stronger than "Me".

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos: Uluwatu temple, Bali, Indonesia.
Taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII, edited with Lightroom.

​Have a wonderful end of the week, my friends.

​If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/my-little-star-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-new-week

https://steemit.com/pt/@nolasco/the-killing-fields-of-the-khmer-rouge-my-writing-on-the-weekend

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/borrowed-happiness-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-new-week

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 21 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43