Filmmaker's Diaries: 13 of March 2018

in #blog6 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians and welcome to another Filmmaker’s Diary!!

Here is the previous article for more reference:
https://steemit.com/steemfilm/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-27-february-2018-new-look-and-rebrand

Script

The main news today is that I finally finished the script I was woking on. It does fell great!! I’m happy with the result and I believe it can become a solid short film.

The main lesson here it’s really, that discipline matters. I finished the first draft months ago and it took me one week to do it. Granted writing is actually re-writing but it took me a week for the first draft and months to finish it. The main reason was really discipline (yeah, even if we are talking about a creative process). After the first draft there where many days that I skipped writing. This might not sound so alarming but just the mere fact that I skipped a day would open doors to skip another day and another… before I knew it I went a couple of week without writing.

Again this last week and a half I wrote every single day and bam!! Script is finished.

Do not skip a day, can not emphasise the importance of this.

Now I need to open it in another software… I was using a free version of a writing program and like so, the PDF comes with some watermarks, plus a very annoying pop up window Avery five minutes “Upgrade to full version”. So now I’m going to open in another one, just re-type it very quickly and buy the licence of the software. (Other’s one reason to give this post a nice up vote)

I’m also going to translate the script to English, just to have it. The original is in Portuguese.

I’ll be doing that the next couple of days but right after I’m going to pick up a feature script … a story I’ve had in my head for years and years… and I’m going to try as hard as possible to not skip a day.

Music Videos

Last time I spoke about how my friend still hadn’t send me a song to make the video too (after saying he wanted to have a video to another song)

A few days I spoke with him, and he has been actually very sick. Like going to hospital several times kinda of sick. I believe he is doing better and that soon I’ll be at 100%. But I’m not so sure when/ if we are going to make it.

So, I’ll just take a break from the music videos for now. (I’ve been handling a few business cards lately thought)

Short Film

The main project for this month (together with the new script) is the short horror film. We made a music video that was very narrative driven. And the plan was to also make a short film version form it. However with so much happening, I haven’t started it yet. So this is the project for the month, after this I will look very hard for music video costumers.

In case you haven’t seen the music video here it is:

I also want to research Music Video festivals and submit this one (and the other one (You know if you’re familiar with these diaries) to some of them. That can be an extremely interesting endeavour.

That’s it for today.

For the rest of the month the focus is: New Script and Short Film editing.

2 Bamboo Logo.jpg

As always, thank you for reading.

By Upvoting this post you are helping independent artist!!

All images (except Logo) are from Pixabay.com

If you liked this and want to know more about the filming process and our journey, consider this previous articles:

https://steemit.com/steemfilm/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-27-february-2018-new-look-and-rebrand

https://steemit.com/steemfilm/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-7-of-february-2018

https://steemit.com/steemfilm/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-january-27-of-2018

https://steemit.com/steemfilm/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-23-january-2018

https://steemit.com/film/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diary-2-of-january-2018

Sort:  

Esse vídeo clipe Tudo o que temos ficou muito bom mesmo, espero que o curta dele fique excelente também heheh. Depois que você fazer esse curta de horror, deixo aqui uma ideia, seria muito interessante você fazer uma curta de terror sobre lendas urbanas.

Muito obrigado!!

Se tiveres uma idea para um filme de lendas urbanas e quiser um feedback ou algo assim dá o toque.

Não sei se eu já disse isto mas esse clip foi filmado em Sintra. Já ouviu falar? Neste caso não são urbanas, ams lendas antigas estão focadas lá. Ainda nos dias de hoje toda a gente que é virada pelo "oculto" ou algo do género vai lá... um micro clima num dos locais mais mágneticos do planeta... central de maçonaria etc.. já os reis passavam férias lá...

Enfim não são urbanas mas é um sitio interessante a pesquisar, um dia se quiser.

That's pretty cool, can't wait to see how the music video turns out

Thanks... the music video is available on the article.

Great job man i can remember when you started with this diaries and look them now . Regards

I know... it's been some time. can't wait to have a diary saying... I'm making a movie with some budget hehehe

Saludos!!

Thank you for this post, it's refreshing! That is exactly how you describe it. Skip an hour and you fall into a black hole. Outside of Steemit, I work in cinema as a scriptwriter, so I should know. Anyway, it's real nice to see young indie artists promoting their artwork here! Keep writing, avoid the stupid how-to-do american manuals, unless you want to make the same film as anyone else, just focus on your story, make it sharp (can you sum it up in one short powerful sentence ?), unique, driven, focus on the emotions and struggle of your hero. If you're passionate enough, you won't skip another day. I hope it helps a bit, have a good day :)

Thank you very much for your comment!!

"Skip an hour and fall into a black hole" Great way to describe it.

Good advice and I do hope I won't skip another day, love to write or work in film.

Thanks again!

PS: Je viens de passer vite fait sur ta page ... tes français alors? Dans ce cas je te dit, merci bien!!

Je vais lire tes articles avec plus de temp, plus tard.

Hey thanks for your answer!!! Oui, Français ! Je te conseille notre introduceyourself, tu verras qui on est (je gère le compte seul, mais on est plusieurs à animer un blog de cinéma :) ) Je vais aussi regarder le reste de tes vidéos et continuer de te suivre. Keep it up!

Merci, je vais le lire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44