Math, computers and space marines

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

I had a bit of free time today so I made some vector graphics for a future math post. I am particularly fond of the following tiling:


g10975.png

This type of tiling has a special property where new patterns are being created as you tile. I will make this very new-age sounding thing clear in a future math post. The underlying theory is somehow relevant in the real world. More specifically, in the realm of quasi-crystals. So yeah abstract math is useful :P Btw I used my favorite vector graphics program to make the above image: inkscape (It is open-source :D)

Besides math, I have also been looking at building a portable PC. I will be moving around a lot in the next few years. A laptop doesn't quite cut it for me with respect to the specs so a portable PC would be a good idea. Finding a suitable case with fitting hardware for a small case is quite an ordeal. Currently, I have my eyes set on the Lenovo Legion Cube case:




I don't dare to call these cases pretty. But with computers the inside only counts. In terms of air-flow it seems to be pretty well built. Air is sucked in one side and then it is propelled out on the other side. So it is Cool :D If anybody has experience with these cube cases let me know.

That's all for today. I will be ending this post with an awesome Warhammer 40K fan project I came accross:



THE EMPEROR PROTECTS

(If you are as hyped as me about this short series support the guy on Patreon -> https://www.patreon.com/astartesfilm)

Sort:  

Congratulations @mathowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78