Is there something 'disturbing the force' on steemit...?

in #blog6 years ago

I wrote about this last week (or 3 , I lose track of time and posts).

This is not empirical evidence.

But noticeable enough for me to notice.

I would appreciate others 'non empirical, but noticeable enough to notice, comment', to try and add to a bigger picture, that is only mine at the moment.
(and this kinda corroborates some graphs and figures I have seen.)

hhh.jpg

source -@penguinpablo -Daily Steem Stats Report - Tuesday, April 10, 2018

My regular posters that I follow, are noticeable by their lack of.....
When I used to go to my feed, there was post upon post from all my follow lists.

And equally, the small 'inner core' of my regular matey's here, continue to post...day in, day out.

Since I posted the one last week, (or whenever)- I have tried to remain objective, but at the same time be aware.

I find this worrying.
This could be, for example down to just the people I follow, and not indicative as a whole (hence the input is appreciated from others).

My list of people I interact with is getting smaller, (without making my 'follow list' smaller)- not from not wanting to interact, from sheer lack of material and posting appearing on my feed..

Is this my slanted, biased opinion? - or are other's so also experiencing this same 'phenomenon'.

I say phenomenon, but of course it may be nothing of the sort.

It kinda feels like it though...

Are people leavin' steemit? or feeling less enthusiasm to post...

I welcome all your observations or opinions. (and tips even, if I'm doing something - inadvertently - ' wrong' without even realizing it?).

hhh.jpg

I'm fighting for steemit and it's future, and any issues are better talked about now, than swept under the rug to ferment and cause problems later on....

btw, I read a very interesting post just now, and think it's has addressed a very intelligent point .....

https://steemit.com/steem/@dr0tcl/lets-talk-steemit-4-or-why-you-should-not-be-able-to-see-payouts

Sort:  

It's happened before. Price go down, posts go down as people lose interest in low payouts because it's mostly about the money for them... price go up and people want money again and start to post more. The state of the shitbot bidbot crap might have an impact too this time around :P

OK, I bow to your much greater time and experience in these parts...

This is the first time I have noticed the drying up of posts on my feed.
(even when steemit price was miniscule...)

I have written about this before. It is the price of Steem. Posting is 'just not worth it' for many people.

A few weeks ago was this:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@tarazkp/the-thick-and-thin-prune-the-dead-wood

Because the whales are not present at the moment and the bots are drawing so much from the pool, some of the highest rewarded producers have gone from a post or two a day to a couple a week. I know one who has complained numerous times of not getting blocktrades votes anymore on their every post. When prices are up, the entitlement grows two-fold again.

I just keep doing what I do. If there was a boom tonight, tomorrow they will post again with a post that says 'Been busy'. I have seen it quite a few times over the last year.

Now that you mention it I've noticed the same thing.
Less posting on my Feed.

I used to have to scroll right down to see older things - now is see 3 or 4 hour old posts on the first page. This is definitely a new thing (for me)

yup...I guess it's time to cull the herd and look for some new writers.

I have just been talking to...

@dr0tcl

Seems intelligent, but don't really know his stuff.(JD and research - not good)

But you are correct - ridding of the old and unproductive, and finding the new ... - It's easy to become complacent in the places that you 'inhabit.'

I'll stick with ya , old timer! lol

thank you.
I enjoy hearing about Thailand.

I haven't really written much lately, about here.
You will be pleased to know am now taking my book seriously ( seriously for me)

You have online books I know, I'll be tapping your brains nearer the completion...

ah! - and we're off ! .....would you happily write here, and then put it into a book, btw? (not identical, but you the same basic elements)

Yes, it is not just you. I myself quit posting for over a week. The more I learn being here, the less faith I have in its long term stability. I found I was writing some how to posts that would have garnered me thousands in royalties over the next few years and they were met by crickets here. And now that they are on the blockchain it hinders my ability to publish them now.

Between the constant warring, the pessimism about whale behavior etc, I have begun reevaluating how I use this concept. I feel I was lied to by videos made by a prominent witness who profits immensely (as many witnesses) about the way this site works. Had I known the truth I never would have invested any of my own money here, never would have posted some of the things I have.

Most of my effort here will come in the way of interacting with people like yourself on your posts, sprinkled with an occasional post like I did yesterday. I would be a fool to think the posts I offer of value would be worth anything here. So I rethink how to add value here without stealing future money from myself in the process.

But for sure my monetary investment here is done, most of my intellectual contributions that can be monetized elsewhere are done. I am through paying whales for a slim chance someone might read my strategies that can make me money elsewhere. The only winner in that scenario are the whales.

I hear ya, @practicalthought. Your post set off an hour of research on the topic.
Not sure of the solutions. More needs to be done in future modeling to increase payouts for higher quality content. Expanding is important, of course, but a lot of that development entails a great amount of time. Another thing - I am not aware of what your how-to-guides are all about. We need a better way to organize and promote our content. That is hopefully coming soon, from what I've read from the devs.

I have a few other ideas - there are other ways to self-promote and we can help each other. I am about to launch into a personal campaign, but it wouldn't be much more effort to share some of your stuff outside of this platform. If you're interested, maybe we can team up to do some cross-promotion. It couldn't hurt as it will all be free. Send me a message if you are interested. We do not have to be limited to this platform. It could very well be that this is just a launching-off point for the future success of many Steemians.

I'm listening.
I have no clue in terms of offering input, so listening is all I can do.

I had you in mind as well, @lucylin. I didnt' notice anything on my end as far as changes in my feeds.

I wasn't ignoring this post, just buying time to reply. I am reluctant to join yet more social sites to support this one. I have been invited to several Discord groups since I came here, and before that a telegraph group by someone I respect. I am really trying to simplify my life and joining a lot of social sites won't do that. As well as I have read some bad things about both Discord and Telegraph. I find it a bit strange (a drawback even) that this social site is lacking enough that many feel they need to join a different social site to better manage this one.

I have been cutting back for some time. Twitter went last year. Fakebook not that long ago, although I hadn't logged in for some time before I downloaded my files and told them to delete the account a few weeks ago. I unplugged completely from cable almost a year ago. My big dream is that the little hodling I am doing now will duplicate what Bitcoin/Ethereum has done and enable me to buy a place away from the cities. A place where even cellphones are off much of the time, placed in some kind of box that will block any signals that still may be transmitted.

Is it possible for you to do a post on your campaign? If it is something you don't really want widely viewed, you could always write about it in a comment on one of your posts older than a week and steer me there. No one looks at posts past the first few hours, let alone once there is no payout involved. 😁

It's all good, @practicalthought. I have to say, you're one of the most logically thinking individuals I've met on this site. Going off-grid sounds awesome. What is it with Discord that you have been hearing, if you can be more specific? I have heard some rumblings as well.

What I am thinking is starting a group outside of Steemit for writing projects. There are enough talented people on here that we could get a handful and launch a small writing site and actually use Steemit to feed it, not the other way around. Current plans are to dig in for the long haul here, but it's good to have a backup plan, or two - and why not take full advantage of this platform to market our other projects? The constant demand for recruitment here sucks up a tremendous amount of very precious uninterrupted writing time. It's so obvious that we're underpaid, although we know that is just the way it works - it takes years to build up a following. I'm also very unimpressed with the fact that there are no residuals for older work here. People still unknowingly vote on older posts and share them. Why not let the authors benefit?

Sorry this reply is not chronological but I'm not gonna spend time editing it, lol. The way I am planning to do things, we don't even have to write on the same subject matter and we could all keep the names we use here. I'll be using very few platforms and concentrating on improving efficiency. Mirroring will become much easier soon. Still in early stages of planning but will let you know.

Dunno if you're familiar with them, but The Writer's Block has a writing group here, and on Discord.

@rhondak can tell you more.

It seems different than what you have in mind, but the folks there work at writing, and may be of benefit in what you do.

That's awesome advice, @valued-customer. Thanks. I will message @rhondak. I had been meaning to ask the good people on this platform what other communities to join - so that was perfect.

@canusapatriots, here's the link to our Writers' Block Discord. :-) https://discord.gg/vhEz4

I have to say, you're one of the most logically thinking individuals I've met on this site.

Thank you

What is it with Discord that you have been hearing, if you can be more specific? I have heard some rumblings as well.

I have read that they have a tendency like many companies to reset your settings to ones favorable to them whenever there is an update. This is often done to turn off privacy settings and such (other companies often use this method to auto subscribe you to their crap, often for monetary gain for them). I have also read that many hackers are using the site to trick users into downloading Trojans. Similar to the amount of plugins for WordPress that are nice at the beginning, but then add back doors once their plugins are widely used using updates. I figure at this point better to just avoid most of these sites as they don't do much for me but take my time.

Just curious, but what kind of writing projects are you planning? One thing I have noticed is there is a vast amount of writing overload taking place. Promotion methods are quickly becoming out of date as the mob rushes to implement them, as well as I think many people (myself included) are going into shock from information overload. There is so much contradictory stuff floating around, especially within groups that on the surface seek to achieve the same results. I am unsure how much is purposely done with disinformation to achieve this result, but it is effective.

I am thinking here that as soon as any group achieves a certain size that they will begin to notice some of those who were in from the ground floor will begin stirring up problems, creating a split in the ranks. People are cynical now, distrustful and for good cause.

I bring all of this up now as you are in the early stages and this is the time to be aware of all of these factors. There was a book that I read as a kid, an older sci fi book called Wasp.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasp_(novel)

I would urge you to check it out, as some of the ideas presented in it could be crucial in countering infiltration by those who would disarm any success you may have. Looking forward to understanding your project a little better.

That is what I've been afraid of. I have also noticed - and written about - the fact that User Agreements and Terms of Service Agreements are doing what you mentioned. Youtube was notorious for it. Those things should be one paragraph long and be mandatory reads before anyone can log on. Also, they should not be allowed to change them without the consent and prior notification of the users.

Projects? Well, books, fiction, fitness and health writing, whatever new thing pops up that I'm interested in. Lots of things. The reason I'm thinking about outside sites is that the talent is already here. If we could find the advertisers, we'd only need a handful of good writers to run a blog. Details TBD. On Steemit, we have to find niches and really work on the hashtags. There is a way to optimize views and, like @valued-customer said, there are other communities here for added exposure.

I thank you for your spot-on understanding and information-packed response. Will check out that site. Information overload - YES! Lol. Gonna need to start recruiting people.

And now that they are on the blockchain it hinders my ability to publish them now.

Why is that..? I am posting some of my book....aghhhh!

I'm keeping the faith for a couple of reasons.
I have no choice
I have no choice.

(Hence the writing a book inquiries. How do you find two excerpts, btw? )

Why is that..? I am posting some of my book....aghhhh!

It's because Amazon/B&N/Apple etc frown heavily on you selling your book to their customers when you are giving it away for free elsewhere. Now it is true some authors will give some or all of it away via fanfic/bookfunnel sites as a marketing strategy, but they make sure to delete them before finishing the book and sending it to the online bookstores. With blockchain you cannot unpublish. It will be there for all to grab for free as long as the blockchain exists.

I have read that with Amazon (who is the main one to worry about as their bots constantly scour the web) they will overlook 10% of the book being free online. I have never tested this however. But they are well known for finding your books priced cheaper elsewhere and price matching. Some have used this trick to make their books permafree, but Amazon frowns on it and has been known to swing a hammer when they get mad at ones account.

I would also say overall it would leave you a bad reputation as some of your future readers discovered they shelled out money and could have had it for free as well. They have a community (Goodreads which Amazon bought) where they are very critical of authors and the last thing you as a writer want is to get a mob going on you over there. Once you have one, they will target everything you publish with bad reviews. That's another free bit of advice, never open an account there to interact with them. Your books will be added regardless, but there are some unhinged people there who are looking for excuses to become trolls.

One last thing since you have me talking about self publishing. Be careful if you have Fakebook. Never set a fan page up. Amazon will tie you to anyone who joins and delete any reviews they give you, as well as warning you if your friends continue giving you reviews they will ban your account for gaming the system. Even though you don't know them. So many have scammed and gamed the system there Amazon just smashes now if there is any sign something may be wrong.

I had a fakebook years ago - never used it really, but not deleted either.
In fairness it could work for my book - many of my way out stories have the contacts on there that they apply to!...add authenticity..?)

That also brings up a question!- How do I label it? fiction?, even if it's not?(for legal reasons or something?)

I'm not bothered about Amazon frowning on me. I'd be kinda disappointed if they didn't! lol.

Hell, I would even put on the front my book 'if you want to read to free extracts, go to steemit.com! lol.

I'm stubborn I know - but I will do it my way (but will listen to any advice, for it to fit into how I want to do it, if you see what mean?)

I will be asking you a million questions, as I get closer, I'm sure..

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

@arcange also posts charts regarding Steemit's stats. I haven't looked for the info you refer to, but you easily can.

I have reduced my posting as the weather improves, and I bend more nails. It's a seasonal thing for me. Maybe not unique to me.

Also, Steemit has churn. New folks find out about Steemit (the price rises, censorship burgeons on alternative platforms, etc.) and flood in. As they get disillusioned, they tend to tough it out for a while, but when they hit enough walls, they start leaving.

~10% of new accounts remain active after a year. Most leave long before a year.

I suspect it's a factor.

I have reduced my posting as the weather improves, and I bend more nails. It's a seasonal thing for me. Maybe not unique to me.

duh! - I never thought of that! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67030.16
ETH 3094.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66