Courage in Vulnerability - Walking the Walk, not just Talking the Talk

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

accomplishment-adult-adventure-372098.jpg

image source

We are all so very blessed with our wisdom and knowledge. We even get crafty and skilled at organising and presenting it in such a way that it inspires and motivates those we come in contact with.

Our ideas solid, our thoughts clear, the plan sound. We talk the talk with gumption. We may even walk the walk. The latter however, a little more of a struggle when it comes to matters of the heart or psyche.

We see a lot of well written and documented research articles on emotional intelligence, emotional strength and leadership. We are painted a picture of the end goal. Talks of when people reflect back at a time they struggled.

We feel so motivated, thinking, "Hey they once were where I am today. I can get there". And so we push ourselves out of bed, push through the formidable doors that scare us, and open up in ways we never thought possible. This is truly remarkable, an aspect of determination, focus and motivation unparalleled.

But we all know what happens next. The slump hits. The doubt creeps in. Despite our best efforts, shit happens, and we need to pick ourselves up and move on. All of this seems like a very isolated journey. And we often make it so. Those of us who have the tools use it. Exercise, yoga, meditation, inner work etc. But when it comes to reaching out and asking for help, it is something we often wait for, with some of these top few excuses:

  • Let me try and figure it out first.
  • I need to hold my own.
  • I can't be seen as weak.
  • Let me ask when it is a really big enough task (justify the asking).

concept-idea-innovation-212286.jpg

image source

Yes, we've all been there haven't we. I certainly have! I still need help. Sometimes on a daily basis. There are some periods I just need to take a break, and regroup. I can't keep going, and although the guilt and fear sets in, I just have to take my internal time out.

We don't see this active part of someone's inner journey. We don't often see those "vulnerable" moments. So build an image of polished expectations. In our own mind, despite all the great new findings on courage and vulnerability we know, we still judge ourselves the harshest. Don't cry we say. Don't let them see. Keep it under control.
It IS HARDWIRED into our system, unfortunately.

Vulnerability IS NOT weakness we say in agreement to our social and professional chat, yet we ensure our public image on social media shows the best of our mental, physical and emotional intellect.

Yes, vulnerability is NOT weakness. Vulnerability is COURAGE of the highest form I can think of. If you can strip yourself and expose a weak spot, it takes a lot of bravery, to stand there and just own it,without self-judgement.

It took me a while to think about whether I should even write this, because for a brief moment in judgement I felt, "Oh it is so private and personal. Should I shine anymore light in this moment of vulnerability weakness". There you have it, guilty as charged. As much as I try to keep my awareness at a lofty level, it dropped, right back to an old conditioning.

But, the message was far greater than my doubts, and more importantly, it inspired me, hence all the more reason to share. In honoring the action and the strength in the person who did it, Maverick Foo, a man whom I have deep admiration for. He introduced me to SteemIt and patiently answered my 1000 questions, as I dragged out each of his segments beyond its original time.

He writes great motivational pieces and is a very eloquent speaker. Though it came as a bit of a surprise at first, my respect for Maverick Foo skyrocketed as I read his latest post under his mini-motivation series. It really showed how willing he is to walk the walk, and not just talk the talk.

And the best part is, it made me think, wow I really needed this reminder. And what a gift he has given in this piece, to share with the world a master's struggle. His talents, intelligence and creativity untouched. But the human struggle we all face exposed. It was clear, we all struggle, but how often do we stop to ask for help. How often do we grit our teeth and push on because it builds character.

It's funny, I always thought I had a weak constitution. I get tired easily but can withstand great physical pain. Though I can withstand much emotional pain, I have very little patience for it. If there is internal distress I have to stop and address it - I literally can't function, or function below par. There are different opinions on this, but it is what it is. So, when I saw Maverick's post, I was just so grateful to be reassured that we are not lesser for taking time out and seek assistance, we are all the stronger and better for it. And very intelligent too. For as Maverick mentioned in his reply to me

adult-business-close-up-433495.jpg

image source

Resourcefulness is leveraging on everything in our grasp to improve a situation, even if it means tapping on methods that are uncomfortable and ego-stabbing.

Well said @maverickfoo. Thank you for the permission to share your message, and Thank You for inspiring me today!

I do hope it inspires all to let go of our stigmas and those very well cloaked fears, to embrace every aspect of who we are, and celebrate even our weakest moments - for one day when we look back, it just may be our most poignant one. There is no reason to walk the walk Alone, especially in our most vulnerable moments.

You LL Never Walk Alone Logo Liverpool Facebook Soccer Avatars.jpg

image source

couldn't help myself :)


Previous Posts of Interest:

On life:

Have You Listened to Your Gut Today

The Imposter Syndrome, an Unfortunate Chemistry Class and the Road to Recovery

Why Motivational Quotes are Driving Me Nuts

Benefits of Being a Student for Life

On yoga, creativity and leadership:

How to Relieve Writer's Block using Backbends and Downward Facing Dogs!

Yoga and Leadership Series: #2 Yogini to an Entrepreneur - an Insight to Yoga and Spirituality

Yoga and Leadership Series: #1 Introduction - A Brief History of Yoga

MY Ikigai:

What I LOVE: Writing about life, poetry, haiku, short stories and motivational quips. Practicing yoga and internal reflections, walks in nature, compassionate acts towards nature, animals and humanity.

What I OFFER the world: A passion for Creativity, Innovation, Integrity and Authenticity in thoughts, words, and deeds.

What I am/can be PAID FOR: Writing, teaching yoga, books (in the making), training, facilitating. And hopefully to sit and spin out creative ideas/solutions at whim!

What I'm GOOD at: Hypnotising my Yoga students apparently! Writing, occasional witty retorts, being a hopeless romantic, passionate utopian, innovator and creator of all things fun and uplifting.

The IKIGAI - SoulArist

  • To find out more, please visit our webpage
  • For event listings/past activities visit our Facebook page
  • Snippets of SoulArist can be found on Instagram
  • Read about the founder on LinkedIn

Upcoming Posts:

Blogs and podcasts on meditation/awareness practices

*Yoga and Leadership Series *

I was going to use the website to publish these materials, however, with the discovery of Steemit, I will be redirecting the flow of these posts to start here at Steemit and then to the website. I am new to this whole program, so please bear with me as I find my footing on this platform, with the help of all my fellow steemians here no doubt ;)

I am very grateful for the support and encouragement from @maverickfoo @elizacheng @bitrocker202 @curie.

Thank you for introducing me to a revolutionary world of self-expression. One that is mutually beneficial, engenders greater awareness and provides entertaining intelligent banter #awesome

Sort:  

Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.

i was enjoying the read until i saw liverpool in it. lol

Hahaha.

Let me guess....Man U fan?

I haven't really been following much of football anymore to be honest. Just love the Liverpool quote . ;)

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Authentic post! glad to know there are creators like you here. If you wanna see similar post, check my post as well.

Thankyou for posting this. This really broden my horizon. Take a look at my post as well

Thankyou for posting this. This really broden my horizon. Take a look at my post as well

Authentic post! glad to know there are creators like you here. If you wanna see similar post, check my post as well.

quite a motivational post that has cheered me up. upvoted and followed :)

Thank you @badman-crypto. Thank you for stopping by.

An absolutely sterling post!

Warm Regards,
Shenobie

Thank you much.

My pleasure!

Love the picture!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69