Why motivational quotes are driving me nuts

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180203_001922.png
image source created using canva.com

Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love motivational quotes, videos, memes, GIFs...you name it... If it's uplifting, I'm all over it. In fact, truth be told I am one who regularly writes such haiku's. Don't be surprised if you find me penning out a whole bunch of them in the near future. It's what keeps the romance of life alive in me.

But lately, I find myself with a hollow feeling or sometimes even a little testy irritation on the inside. Not directed at anyone in particular, but just that it is TIME to ACT on it and share our experiences from the said motivation. Basically - walking the walk.....and not just talking the talk.

Again, I'm not directing this at anyone....if anything....it is at myself. I'm always asking myself hey....have I done this today....or did I try applying this in life today?

What I also find hugely fulfilling to read is actual experiences of going out there on a limb or taking that bold step! Like a friend whom I saw today is running for Congress! Like wow!!! That takes courage. Or someone who puts so much effort into sharing their time so selflessly.

It helps me stay real and keep trying, and when I mess up or forget, then I love receiving that gentle....or sometimes not so gentle reminder from the Universe saying....hey remember compassion, or empathy etc etc.

And I know that if I am feeling this way, surely a large portion of society is feeling the same.

I know I'm at the bottom of the food chain here with almost zero influence. But I really do want to hear some real life experiences of steemians with some touching, inspirational or motivational stories.

You may think stopping to help someone cross a road may be banal....but do just share a word, a thought or a feeling of that day. Maybe noticing how they walked....or what you wondered about them....or even how their voice or face reminded you of a loved one.

I just want us all to help remind each other not by our words....but by our experiences....our actions. :)

Don't worry, this isn't a bragging session about who is the best Samaritan. It is about that humbling moment when you take that time to notice life, get involved without judgement and basically have that tender moment connecting at a level that you never thought possible or just didn't realize could take you there.

When was the last time you stepped out of your comfort zone? Did you go out of your way to be nice to someone who was rude? How were you as a driver today? Did your smile make a stranger smile back?

Let's spread some joy in the world, looking forward to glimpse at these moments and even ride a little feel good wave off your experience.

Thank you.


Note: It is with great trepidation that I post this, as I'm not sure what the social etiquette is around an invitation such as this.

Please do feel free to give me some tips and feedback as I am still learning here.

Looking up to some fellow steemians who have carved the trail @bitrocker2020, a very generous information sharer @maverickfoo , a supportive curation team @curie and @elizacheng for inspiring new ideas.

Sort:  

In line with keeping this real, here's what I did in terms of walking the walk.

Just prior to writing this post, I had hit an all time "can't take this anymore" state, and was feeling somewhat homicidal. I was working with children at the time with two more days left to the end of the project - which was 3 plays from three groups. And I had some parents who were a little, well...too much.

I felt like at the place I was in, I might just snap - and I didn't want to do something or say something that would leave a scar in a child's life. Gearing up for their first stage performance is a huge deal.

So I took a day off. Despite the calls, despite the imminent show date - I had to take the day off. And so I did, and went to Port Dickson for the day. Just to de-compress.

The saying - "you can't take care of anyone else unless you take care of yourself" was literally screaming at me. That one day - to just breathe helped me regain compassion for the world, because I had first shown compassion to myself. I told myself it's okay - I didn't need to carry the weight of the world on my shoulders. To not be a perfectionist. To hold my ground and hold firm to my beliefs. It gave me the much needed recharging to continue as a compassionate human.

It seems like the least significant thing, but to be able to function at our best is one of the most important things we can do for not just ourselves, but everyone around us. To contribute to life in a way that will uplift everyone.

The value we add to society depends very much on our actions, the intent of these actions and the value of these actions in uplifting, motivating and empowering another. So, to me, it really is about making that effort no matter how small, to take that step....no matter how scary....to step outside....no matter how shy....to say hello and no matter how vulnerable....to put yourself out there.

And today, with my fellow steemians from teammalaysia, I met some amazing individuals who in their own way are taking steps, supporting and putting the wheels in motion selflessly to uplift a community together.

Thank you @bitrocker2020 @maverickfoo @elizacheng @zord189 @veenang @branlee87 and the many others I have missed the names here from teammalaysia. The sense of community in Steemit at large from other global group initiatives is very heartwarming - and something that I have not quite experienced in a scale like this anywhere else before.

Well said! And well done!

I was quite a motivational quote junkie. I guess I still am to a certain extent :P

For me, STEEMIT has actually helped me to finally try my hand at content creation. I've always wanted to try video or even blog. I had done a podcast years ago before this but never been this active where I post one a day.

So I guess I finally acted on the quote "Done is better than perfect". I used to need the "perfect" conditions to be able to work but now that I've committed to posting a podcast episode and a dtube video everyday, DONE will just have to do.

Great post @kchitrah! Looking forward to seeing more from you :)

That is so awesome. My goodness that perfectionist tick....know it too well.

It's great that you are really going for it....and with enough practise things will sort of evolve in the most amazing ways just because we kept trying and showing up.

Likewise, looking forward to your projects @branlee87

Thank you for sharing your experience. Xx

Congratulations @kchitrah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Yes, quotes can feel too theoretical, abstract, distant, far from application, and we sometimes have to stuff and my name is Joey and we have to figure things out sometimes maybe even apart from quotes, slogans. We got to find some clarity deep from our own heart.

Your post has been featured in TeamMalaysia TehTarik Sunday ! Keep it up .. here is a small tip!

Hi @kchitrah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @myach!

@myach wrote lately about: Teammalaysia'S Daily Picks #2 | @Explorernations, @Vaelriey & @Zord189 Feel free to follow @myach if you like it :)

Protip: you can tell @tipU to upvote posts - just write in the comment "@tipu upvote this post". Click here to learn more.

a difficult question to take but that is the reality that is happening around us. Greetings from me @ijas.jaswar from Aceh Indonesia 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51