The Benefits of Being a Student of Life

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Being a Student for Life Bruce Lee.png

imagecreated on canva.com

Becoming a lecturer at a local college all those years ago was nerve wrecking. I myself was a young adult not much older than those who filled the lecture hall, and yet I had to convince them I knew what I was talking about in teaching detailed process of how drugs interact in the brain. Although I didn't want to be seen or perceived as not knowing my stuff, I had to prepare for potential questions I could not answer. So, I did some research and asked around, and the one piece of advice that made sense was, "It's OK not to know everything".

I prepared a response for the occasion, "That's a really good question, I honestly don't know the answer to that. Let me find out and get back to you in our next class". For some reason, the first part of that always cracked them up. And when I delivered on the second part, I started getting better questions. The best part of it all was; I learnt more about the topic I was teaching, had more to share in the subsequent semesters and it took the pressure off of teaching - making it that much more enjoyable.

But the best lesson I learnt during this time however, came from a student of mine, who later became a tutor of sorts to me, and we now both call each other should we need a little "expert advice"

She was a mature student in a sea of young high school graduates. Yet, due to her motherly and other life engagements, she regularly found herself in trouble with meeting course completion deadlines. I decided to extend the due date and tried to come up with make-up assignments for her, whilst encouraging her to finish the course.

She is a little older than me, and I was so impressed with how humble she remained. It inspired me. We became friends. Soon she introduced me to things outside the lecture halls, into realms of hypnosis and energy work. When I branched out and explored meditation and all forms of new age learning - she became my tutor - someone I would call up to ask for advice. And when she had some questions about some of the things I do, she would call me. This back and forth of roles was so beautiful, enriching and filled with respect for each other. Stemming from deep respect for all life as your teacher.

Over the years however, I realised this may not be how everyone views life. In my interaction with people, I sometimes encounter those "teachers" who talk with an air of authority. We all know this type too well: someone who truly does mean well and probably has a fair bit of knowledge (in most cases at least) - and they advice in things that you most likely already know, and sometimes have a better sense of than they are aware of. We tend to cringe and find ways to excuse ourselves from this conversation even if we might have a few questions that we wanted to ask, but given the sermon that would likely follow, we would rather not find out. God forbid, I may have been a perpetrator of this obscene bahaviour myself.

design-expression-learn-247819.jpg

image source

I try my best to stay away from this behaviour by remaining a student of life - seeing everything with the potential to teach us something, and everyone a potential teacher. I must confess, this is a work in progress, especially in customer service counters that lack a healthy level of common sense.

In an industry where I position myself as a facilitator / trainer / instructor it seems that people would want authority as the best fit for the job. But, I squirm at the idea of authority. How can anyone or anything be an absolute authority? Times change. Even Hawking's and Einstein's theory are now being questioned as technology is advancing. Sure for the most part, their work remains intact, but there is room for some improvement in the gaps that have been identified since.

Point is, over the course of time, given each unique life circumstances, we all arrive at each other's doorstep both as teachers and students. The more aware we are of this, the better we become at "sharing" our knowledge or skillset with the world.

Remaining a student of life, for life is a great trait to have, and here's why.

1. It keeps you humble

Remaining humble can't be stressed enough. In a day and age of authority figures selling us products on how to live a life of success, one might think that is what it takes to become an authority ourselves.

Being an authority in our own work is indeed something worthwhile. But by no means does it make us an authority over others, even if it is in our niche area.

A master, still learns much from another master. We are after all unique beings, putting our own creative twists into all that we learn and do. The more we engage in a "receiving" attitude, the more we literally receive!

2. Helps you stay grounded

In our pursuit to gain a foothold in this fast paced society, we try to prove our authority in many ways: certificates, degrees, authored books, lectures, published works etc.

We sometimes forget we too were students once, and we too struggled to be recognised and acknowledged. It keeps us grounded and remember to take time to recognise and acknowledge those who are now in the same position we once were, and because of some kind souls who guided us on the path, we made it to where we are now.

art-ball-shaped-circle-414860.jpg

image source

3. Keeps you teachable and malleable

With the way the world is changing these days, it pays to be able to learn a new skill, and the faster we learn, all the more pleasurable the learning curve - and possibly more marketable too.

When we start thinking that we have reached our peak learning, there is a problem. We stop becoming teachable. Our growth and creativity stops. And in just a few short months or years, we may just find ourselves waking up and asking what on earth happened to all the dynamism in our work/life/business.

To remain teachable means to allow anyone and anything to teach us. It could be someone older, someone more experienced, or it could be someone younger, with even less experience - but may have just discovered something cool we did not know.

Now with this latter case, we have a tendency of either outright rejecting their voice or, not quite giving the kind of recognition that is due by camouflaging it with a "Lucky find" "Fluke" "One of those odd things most people overlook" etc because we do not want to be perceived to be less.

But the truth is, it costs nothing to give that recognition where it's due, and means EVERYTHING to the person who hears it, empowering them and motivating their growth - and usually ends up earning more respect.

children-desert-friends-36785.jpg

image source

4. Makes you approachable

As a teacher, trainer, facilitator, guru....etc...it automatically puts us in a position of "authority", and can be intimidating for about 50-80% of the people we encounter, hence reducing the chances of questions asked by them.

Sure, our presentation style makes a huge difference. But no matter how "friendly" we make a presentation, the energy of humility and teach-ability instantly puts us in an approachable "energy-reading" that may not be visible to the naked eye, but can be sensed and felt by those who come in contact with us.

In the way you listen to their questions - because you have an inherent streak of wanting to learn and know - you truly listen.

In the way you acknowledge the question - because you understand where that question must be coming from, or perhaps a novel question that is worth mentioning - cuz hey you didn't think about it, and now you have an opportunity to go find out - or an interesting new creative angle to explore.

In the way it opens you up as a down to earth person just like anyone else - but truly worth her/his salt and so you tend to build a fan-base from being relatable.

5. It is down right respectable

Stephen Hawkings may have earned his respect from his brilliant essays, not because he went about claiming to be an expert, but because he made a stellar case for what he proposed; without which, the rest of the world probably wouldn't have given two hoots for a wheelchair bound individual who needed a device to help him speak.

The point is, respect is earned- in our work, what we do and what we say.

However, it is important to also extend this same respect to others, not to treat them as students, but potential teachers of life.


Previous Posts of Interest:

On Life:

  1. The Imposter Syndrome, an Unfortunate Chemistry Class and the Road to Recovery
  2. Why Motivational Quotes are Driving Me Nuts

On Yoga, Creativity and Leadership:

  1. How to Relieve Writer's Block using Backbends and Downward Facing Dogs!
  2. Yoga and Leadership Series: #2 Yogini to an Entrepreneur - an Insight to Yoga and Spirituality
  3. Yoga and Leadership Series: #1 Introduction - A Brief History of Yoga

MY Ikigai:

What I LOVE: Writing about life, poetry, haiku, short stories and motivational quips. Practicing yoga and internal reflections, walks in nature, compassionate acts towards nature, animals and humanity.

What I OFFER the world: A passion for Creativity, Innovation, Integrity and Authenticity in thoughts, words, and deeds.

What I am/can be PAID FOR: Writing, teaching yoga, books (in the making), training, facilitating. And hopefully to sit and spin out creative ideas/solutions at whim!

What I'm GOOD at: Hypnotising my Yoga students apparently! Writing, occasional witty retorts, being a hopeless romantic, passionate utopian, innovator and creator of all things fun and uplifting.

The IKIGAI - SoulArist

  • To find out more, please visit our webpage
  • For event listings/past activities visit our Facebook page
  • Snippets of SoulArist can be found on Instagram
  • Read about the founder on LinkedIn

Upcoming Posts:

  1. Blogs and podcasts on meditation/awareness practices

  2. Yoga and Leadership Series

I was going to use the website to publish these materials, however, with the discovery of Steemit, I will be redirecting the flow of these posts to start here at Steemit and then to the website. I am new to this whole program, so please bear with me as I find my footing on this platform, with the help of all my fellow steemians here no doubt ;)

I am very grateful for the support and encouragement from @maverickfoo @elizacheng @bitrocker202 @curie.

Thank you for introducing me to a revolutionary world of self-expression. One that is mutually beneficial, engenders greater awareness and provides entertaining intelligent banter #awesome

Sort:  

Wow, you're like the perfect woman! Wow! Even though its late for me, and I shouldn't be curating I was just jolted awake by this post! Sometimes you're surrounded by so many people it's hard to recognize pure gold. It is like you're a hidden gem I've been glancing over and I'm sorry for that! I'm trying to focus better and pay attention to great people like you! I'm very grateful you joined the curation trail as now I can recognize you better and read your posts! You're a true inspiration! I try to always learn as well especially as im getting older!

That is one of the best compliments I've received. And thank you, from the bottom of my heart. I'm glad we can take time to collect our thoughts, cuz if you said it to me in person I would have just gawked, speechless.

Having said that, I don't know about perfect, just taking each day as it comes, trying my best to just have a contented day to be grateful for. I do slip up and sometimes over think things....but I'm glad I have a support system. Finding strength in the Divine is by far the best foundation that has helped me stay grounded.

Thank you so much for your support @dynamicgreentk, we are all blessed to have good people on this platform making a global community work towards growth and development.

It truly takes a Village. _/_

Hey @kchitrah, I wish teachers in local schools would think and behave like you do and said. One of the students told me, a teacher at her school scolded at her because she asked too many questions. I was stunned.

Humility is like a luxury right now. However, I always find humble experienced people amazing because they are not swallowed by the fame, glory and praises. They remained grounded and always thirst for more knowledge, which I hope I'll be like them some day. Indeed, they're more approachable as well, because I don't fear talking to them. They portray themselves as friendly and open. I love hanging out with people like them :)

Thank you for writing this downright straight to those people who acts authoritative in order to gain temporary fame and glory XD

When I think back...I struggled that first few semesters, and much like school teachers we are taught what to teach, and perhaps how to get organised , how to test, but... It's not standard training to learn how to build rapport, the creative aspects of material delivery. Especially lecturers LOL.... Only later were there these classroom teaching tools and courses that were introduced.....and these days my goodness YouTube-everything is available.

We sorely need a change in how we approach learning and education .

Thank you for taking time to read and comment xx

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Very nice article. I have been a teacher, now I am a councellor. My wife is a college professor. Students are definitely our teachers! Life is the ultimate lesson in humility. Thank you for the wonderful words!

Hello there @eye-am-a-mason, such a joyful vocation you and your wife have!

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment.

My pleasure, very nice to meet you on @dynamicsteemians !

Great platform indeed. Nice to meet you too.

This is a very good article on the attitude of learning and also towards life, @kchitrah :) thank you for such great reminders. You are a great writer and it's such a privilege for your students to have a teachable lecturer like you!

Thank you @happycrazycon.

Don't do much lecturing anymore, except my doggie when he forgets the house is not a toilet. :) Just kidding.

Sigh, I do hope I managed to leave a good impression on them for the most part. It is a hit and a miss sometimes.

Thank you for stopping by @happycrazycon.

Learning is a lifelong process... Everyone is a "teacher"... even our little ones can "teach" us something we don't know...

Absolutely! Children really are amazing that way. They just suddenly ask the most unexpected things.....or say something that stops you in your tracks.

and makes me wonder... what is inside the little heads of theirs... LOL...

The full presence to life, met with the curiosity of a creative mind! Lol so I tell myself. :)

Very true. The moment we think we know it all, our mind completely shuts down and prevent us from absorbing new information or learn new things

Absolutely. Which is why I am looking forward to Saturday. We always have something to learn from each other.

Great! Do invite whoever you think may benefit from this Sat's workshop too. The more the merrier

Awesome post! Being brand spanking new to Steemit it is nice to see posts that I can enjoy and learn from.

Cheers,
@shenobie

Thank you @shenobie. Welcome come to Steemit. There really is a wealth of gems here with amazing ppl from all over the world.

Welcome on board the steem train. I hope you find your groove here to express yourself, share your knowledge and just being on some good vibes.

Hey @kchitrah

I am still getting used to Steemit and just picked up this response!

Thank you for the welcome, and I look forward to both learning and sharing knowledge. This seems to be a brilliant space for those who really want to share, learn and understand. Which I think is fantastic.

Peace!
Shenobie

Amazing write up... guess teammalaysia has another teacher/facilitator in our group...
In terms of not know, I never shy to admit that I do not know the answer, and when I mentor someone who asks me a question I can't answer, I will try to go over the question with him/her. Unfortunately, many just want short answers and for those who are lazy to know the truth, I will just give them a short answer and not provide any more help to them.

Hey @orangila, thank you for stopping by.

Haha, yeah I guess... Just like sharing knowledge, that's all.

Yeah, I know what you mean about these situations. You can only bring the horse to the water right... Sigh

I think for our sanity , it's just best to offer what one is ready to receive . There is a really beautiful saying....the teacher appears, when the student is ready . So I guess we are all there at the right time and place to offer assistance...and also no more....and no less...

Sometimes ppl also need time to digest. Some ppl ask a lot of questions in the eagerness but the information will fall through the cracks because our mind can only process so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55