Update: Voting, Commenting, Hashtags And Reputation

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


contest.jpg

I have been optimising the @photocontests bot behind the scenes. Some of you might have noticed small changes. Overall the height of upvotes has seen an increase and the amount of upvotes a decrease.

Voting percentage

I have made the height of the upvote you receive dynamic. Every hour the bot checks if voting power is above 95% and adjusts the voting power. For now this is every hour, this can be increased if necessary.

Commenting

The daily upvote for commenting 5 times has been removed, you still earn XP and get a confirmation when you have made 5 comments. This means you can earn two upvotes per day for sharing two photos.

Hashtags

To avoid abuse of the hashtags I have removed all other hashtags other than those I curate actively. The contests hashtags. This is to avoid abuse from users and bots. Unfortunately we cannot have everything in this world.

Reputation

Further to avoid abuse every user with a reputation lower than 25 is ignored by the bot.

Steem-Python tutorials

Interested in learning how I make these bots? I have made a new blog @steempytutorials in cooperation with @amosbastian. On this blog starting next week you will be able to find tutorials taking you through the process of creating your own bot. This will start of simple and go more advanced over time. To set yourself up you can start by reading through this post first.


banner_contests_3.jpg


Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography


Screenshot 2017-12-08 10.35.04.png

Play in fairlotto

Send SBD to @fairlotto with memo: hourly or daily

LottoTicket PriceGuaranteed Prize Pool
hourly0.01 SBD0.10 SBD
daily0.10 SBD1.0 SBD
Example: buy 1 hourly ticket - Send 0.01 SBD to @fairlotto memo: hourly


Useful links

Photography Contests FAQ
5 Ways To Increase Your Followers And Their Engagement On Steemit
My Posting Template

Sort:  

Great update with some good changes for the better!

good job man. amazing how you keep improving your photocontest

will have a look at your bot tutorial next week. happy new year!!

Thanks! Happy new year and hopefully you will learn something from the tutorials!

Love your contests - and I was spoilt to a new camera for Christmas so I can’t wait to have a play and start snapping. Thanks for always improving how the contests run - happy new year :)

And defo interested in the tutorials 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

well your very good explanation and
@musliwadi

The photocontest bot is one of my favorite on Steemit! Thanks for making more changes to it. I love earning XP by doing things I would be doing anyway :).

I added your account to the blacklist for sharing photos you did not made yourself :(

That was on my first few days using the program when I wasn't aware since I guess I saw a lot other users doing it I guess. I know it clearly says in the rules now. Someone made me aware of it (a witness) a few days ago and I have only posted original photos since.

Is there anyway I can participate again? I plan to be on Steemit for a long time and I would hate to have my first few days of posts take me away from that. I completely understand if I have to remain on the black list though.

I could go back and remove the photos and contest tags if that would help so they don't show even in my past profile history.

Oke, I removed you from the list. Do not make me regret it

Thank you! I promise you will not regret it.

i am interested in your Steempy tutorials ! Great initiative @juliank

Hi! I would like to take past to this contest. I am looking at your other post about contest FAQ . Will keep you posted ;)

most of what i do here on Steemit - these contests :-)
thank you for your care !

It was interesting to read! I will subscribe to your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49