Book Review: Suited by Jo Anderton

in #blog6 years ago

Imagine buying a kitchen cupboard. Shiny, new, and just the style you love.

So you whip out your wallet and buy the thing. Upon delivery, you discover that the doors won’t open properly. The hinges squeal like a stuck pig at the slightest hint of movement.

No matter how practical it is on the inside, how gorgeous on the outside, the shrieks of the hinges make goosebumps rise on the back of your neck every single time.

Annoying, right?

That’s how I felt after the first chapter of this book.

I read and reviewed the first installment of the series, Debris, as well. Just like this one, it was riddled with grammatical errors and imprecision.

There were times when the flaws were so glaring they completely pulled me out of the story.

However, the story was so magical, it drew me right back in again each and every time.

I noted it in my review, mentioning that--flawed as book one was--I still planned to buy the sequel.

So about a week ago, I did just that and dug in right away. Upon finishing the first three pages, I came to the conclusion that both Anderton and the people responsible for the editing process and proofreading of Suited had done the work the same disservice as its predecessor, Debris.

After reading two novels that play out within one single city, I still have no clue how that city’s name is supposed to be spelled. If the author can’t make up her mind, how are her readers expected to figure it out?

Is it Movoc-under-Keeper or Movocunderkeeper? Anderton can’t seem to make up her mind, sometimes even providing hybrid versions with Movoc-underkeeper and Movocunder-Keeper.

In one place, she even fails to keep the naming consistent when the city’s name is mentioned twice with only one line in between.

Furthermore, the wording is often imprecise. At times, her sentences are so convoluted that I have no clue what they’re supposed to say and I end up making an educated guess based on context.

Misspelled names, and other slipups that should have been caught in editing.

Still, I kept reading. I’m the kind of reader that needs to know what happens in the end. To the people in the book.

Even there, I was left frustrated, with an ending that felt very much like a cliffhanger--raising more questions than it provides resolutions.

All in all, I don’t think I’ll be reading more of Anderton’s work.

If you’ve read this book and disagree with me, I’d love to hear your thougts on it.

Hugs

Jasmine


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/10/04/book-review-suited-by-jo-anderton/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner.

My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.

For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.

We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.

But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.
We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted. We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.

We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.

As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.

If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.

If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.





Steemitramble




Steemitengine
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Congratulations @jasminearch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jasminearch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78