The Blogger: Why should You Grow an Organic Following?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The-Blogger-Thumbnail.jpg

I still remember my first blog post, and of course it's my introduction post. We are all encouraged to write an introductory post to let the community get to know us. Apparently, it has been a tradition in Steemit.

As a blogger, your first post is always the best. Through it, you've come to know bloggers in the community who does take time to welcome a beginner like you. It was such an experience to be noticed and feel welcome to the community.

When I started blogging in Steemit, my first approach was to look around, observe, see what others do and try to figure out how they do it. Let's skip the part when I read some of the guides in Steemit. You know what I mean.

I don't think I've read everything nor have I researched more than what is in there. The fact that writing what you have in mind earns you rewards, make you excited to get started. Well, who wouldn't? It was nice that the creators of Steemit came up with such a promising platform where everyone has the freedom to write while earning.

Back then, I have always thought that being a blogger or an author requires you to be credible enough of your abilities in writing. In my growing years, I've come to understand that it doesn't much require technicalities on certain aspects. Steemit kicks in and boom! Steemit made a game changing plan to let authors grow.

Following bloggers in Steemit

To let you grow, following other bloggers is a vital step in getting noticed. Interaction and socializing with others also helps you stay on track and in touch with your followings. Oh! Have I said that bloggers here are automatically referred as authors? I believe we are. Correct me if I'm wrong.

My first approach with following authors was like this. Every time that somebody comments and or upvote my posts, I'll go ahead and click that follow button.I was thinking that they might follow me in return. Well I am not hoping too much but I am taking the chance. Then, I'm starting to notice that my followers we're too small than the number of those who follow me. It got me thinking, where should I have not made mistake?

Few more months, I'm starting to change my way of following others. What I did was crazy! I went to my following list, stopped following everyone and followed only those who followed me in return. Isn't it a heck of a choice? What runs in my mind then was, it is just right to follow those who appreciate me and my work. Little did I know, I am about to face a sad truth.

Here's what the sad truth is

You're following me? I'll follow you! No. It shouldn't have been that way. I was starting to see lesser and lesser number of upvotes on my posts until there were none. Why does nobody appreciate my posts? That's one of the questions I asked myself before. Then, I am starting to feel discouraged of what I am doing. Is it not for me? Should I just stop?

I went back to my following and seen many of them are not active anymore. Almost only 20 out of 800 were active. That's a big difference! See what in exchange of follow gave me? It is of course a shocking truth but I have to learn.

With the recent decrease in the value of steem, many bloggers received little amount of reward giving them a reason to think twice about Steemit. Although there are some who stayed behind and continues to create content, many has decided to leave. I am not discarding the possibility that there might be other reasons, but for now, I'm exemplifying this as a reason.

Now with a new approach

You know what I did? I stopped following all inactive and remained following those who were still active. Why? There is no reason to! I gave myself some strict rule to follow only those who write beautiful contents. That requires me to go on the bloggers blog and see if it writes nice contents. I'm not trying to be cool here but I just want to make sure that my upvotes will go to more worthy contents. Plus, blog posts from your followings are displayed on your news feed. So they better be readable with a content factor.

By doing this, I know some of my followers might not follow me anymore but it won't affect me. I'm restarting how I deal with my blog and to other bloggers. I might as well not do the same mistakes again. There is always a room for change and everyone is free to do so. It is up to you if you will follow me or not. Whatever happens, I will continue to grow and harness my skill in blogging. So are you. I want you to believe in what you believe and make it believable.

My suggestion in growing an organic following

Do not be afraid to let loose and get lost while doing what you love. If you haven't found love in what you are doing, you probably might need to. You don't get tired writing contents if you love what you do. Make friends with authors who deeply interest you. It makes you genuine and you tend to be more positive to everything around you. Remember, your contents can also define what kind of person are you. Why is it so?

If you always write only one paragraph per blog post, one could say; "oh this one is only after the reward (money)".

If you write long write ups, one could say; "oh this one needs exposure or this one sure did took time writing its post".

If you're posts are appreciated by many, it only means you've made lots of friends, you’re doing good in keeping Steemit greater, they also like what you do, and you are reputable or worthy enough to have them upvote you.

Growing organic following in Steemit requires huge amount of effort and patience. Success doesn’t happen overnight unless you got some serious luck there. Well, who knows? Accept that everything takes time. Even wounds take time to heal. You don't need to rush things because nothing comes easy. If you’re still thinking it is not a great decision to choose. Try differentiating the potential circumstances through imagination and compare what is more beneficial than this.

Today, I or even you may not be in a great situation unlike others, I know someday we can make it. We all can! Everything is all for passion! You must keep perseverance and passion inside you then use it as a determination to reach your goals. Most of them started from the same starting point. Somebody out there made it. It's not impossible that you can't do it too.

What kind of approach did you use in building your following? Have you experienced the same thing as mine? Is there anything you want to mention to let readers know it as well?

© imawreader | I am a Writer and a Reader | Image source

The-Blogger-Banner.png


Sort:  

Congratulations @imawreader! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Yay! Thanks for the award @steemitboard!

Greetings @imawreader! Your post was randomly chosen and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

Love what we do? By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables. If you need more information about us, click here.

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

You are 100% right.i'm new in steem but i can learn a lot from it. Keep writing and grow your real follower.i will follow you right away. I need a author who keep writing.

Same goes to you as well. Learning from mistakes can be the toughest thing to accept but the best way to clarify things up. Fear not the rejection of others. Instead be afraid of yourself rejecting you.

Now you know my story, I'll follow you and see if you can stay in my following list. Let me see you grow as an author. See you around!

Great content. Thanks for the warm welcome again :)

You're welcome. Try to provide good content too. If you love what you're doing, you won't get tired writing contents.

Hello imawreader!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Oh thank you. I believe I am already a member of Steem Engine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65