Day One: Blondes and Mushrooms - Seven Day Beer Challenge

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Beer:

An alcoholic beverage brewed from cereal grains—most commonly from malted barley, though wheat, maize (corn), and rice are also used.
source


Thanks to @trumpman for nominating me to take part in his #SevenDayBeerChallenge!
Nominating/challenging @motoengineer to partake. I know he's busy but I think he would have some good choices and reviews!

Day One

I stocked up on beer the other day and set up my mini-fridge, as noted in my previous post.

This fist day's beer was actually enjoyed on Sunday but I didn't feel like posting then. I've also been a bit under the weather so drinking beer everyday wasn't something I felt like doing. And now I feel like posting about.

Guinness Blonde

I like the traditional Guinness Stout. When I was in Ireland it was my breakfast, lunch and dinner until I crashed on the third day according to the scriptures. That was after the Guinness factory though.

Anyway back to the new beer.

IMG-9554.JPG

...and mushrooms. I was actually in the process of sauteing some onions and mushrooms for my Sunday supper. When I thought a beer would hit the spot right now and I had just recently stocked up. Genius! I wanted something "crisp and refreshing" so a blonde sounded like it would do the trick, even though I'm typically not into blondes.

IMG-9560.JPG

The Taste

As you can see in the above photo, I'm psychic. Because this beer apparently has a "crisp finish". In all seriousness it was what I expected light, refreshing, but with a decent amount of flavor. I would agree with the description that it had a citrus-y flavor and with a hint of fresh 'biscuit' in there as well.

Disclaimer tho: I'm no beer connoisseur. And I'm not a fan of IPAs (!blasphemy!) but if I wanted bitter I would eat a lemon pit. Anyway I have tasted some craft beers (even IPAs) with peers that knew their shyte - and I was able to distinguish and appreciate certain flavors and nuances when they would point them. Having said that.... at the end of the day, in my mind, it comes down to what you like. And personally I liked this beer.

IMG-9557.JPG

Cheers!

Εβίβα!


These are the rules to be taken into account:

  • You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
  • The beer must be something you have never tasted before
  • You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
  • Nominate someone every day
  • If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  • Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Sort:  

I just upvoted You! (Reply "STOP" to stop automatic upvotes). Do społeczności: Jeżeli uważasz że głos został przyznany niesłusznie, przedstaw krótkie uzasadnienie w odpowiedzi do tego komentarza.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:36:28
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 67.05/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60323.94
ETH 2395.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54