The First Day of School, at Home

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

image-2018-08-01 (1).jpg

August 1st. Today was supposed to be our first day of kindergarten, out of laziness. I wanted our official beginning of schooling on a nice easy day to remember, like the first—rather than the eighth, when all the public school children will be starting. As it turns out, I suck at preserving memories. I was going to take the iconic back-to-school pictures with my son wearing an (empty) backpack next to the front door. I totally forgot. But I could do that tomorrow, and no one would know…

For the first day of official homeschooling, we did exactly the same thing we have done every weekday morning for the last six months. (Again, I’m not excellent at making memories.) I got to look at the squiggly lines of a five year old’s printed letters, listened to a cute voice carefully picking through the words of a story, and rolled chocolate chips across the table for every correct subtraction answer spouted out.

The day got more eventful later on, when the boy got to attend his first karate class, which only by luck coincided with his “official” beginning of school. We’d tried martial arts in the past, and that is a separate story for a separate paragraph.

image-2018-08-01 (2).jpg

A little guidance, please...

Six months ago we tried out a class. It was one of those places with the fake rubber bad guy staring out the window at you. The American flag was emblazoned all over, like a permanent Independence Day celebration. The man running it was one of those people that is supposedly very physically fit, but looks a bit soft around the middle. He had a robust personality. A big talker—that was clear immediately. The boy sat in on a class. Twenty other kids were subdued into little lines on the mats, while twenty parents all lined up against the wall, watching. Quite an audience. The boy shut down; there was no chance he’d perform in front of that crowd. It was just as well, because I watched the big talker man tell the kids all about the glory of his military experience, and then instruct the kids to bow to the flag, rather than the instructor.

Picking our own wise ones to follow is tricky, and even more so trying to pick them for the next generation. Patriotism aside, bowing to the military isn’t something I am that keen on instilling in my son. So, I kept looking. I was pretty sure I’d found the one I’d been looking for when I spoke to him on the phone. He had a subtle Hispanic accent—his words had a soft rhythm, spoken smoothly and calmly, those words entered my ears and circulated, relaxing all my muscles. I listened in silence. Yes, the details are all good. Oh, let’s take a nap.

Not surprisingly, the class went swimmingly. My son added some extra superhero flair to the kicks and punches he was instructed to do. Nothing cuter than miniature superheroes learning to control their bodies, and learning to bow to someone hand-picked for his wisdom.

image-2018-08-01.jpg

When we got home, as though to bring a proper conclusion to our first official day, the boy picked up a chapter book and just started reading. Of his own accord. After he read one chapter I asked what it was about, so he read the next two chapters aloud. It was a brilliant moment in teaching, and I am hooked on The Magic Treehouse series too, like a five year old.

Now to remember to get that dusty backpack out tomorrow and get some second-day-of-school pictures.

Sort:  

We have most of the magic tree house series, I read them to the kids.
Sounds like a great ‘first day’

We have most of the
Magic tree house series, I
Read them to the kids.

                 - alaskahippie


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I'm scouting them from the library. We blew through number 1 too fast, now I've got to track down number 2. They are good at staying packed with action.

It was a good first day :)

Another good series is 39 Clues. We get the audio books and listen to them on the way into town. An hour in the car gets boring for the driver and passengers

Interesting, we will have to check it out - literally, from the library :)

What a great "first day"! If I find the way to be 5 years old again I will ask u to be my teacher!

And I'll introduce you to his karate instructor. I think you'd like him ;)

Oh, teach me another language too! eh... french or chinese! 😀

I'll be signing the boy up for Latin and Spanish at some point. I'm sure we can find you a nice, soothing, good looking French or Chinese instructor too.

I can help with spanish, after all that's my native language. Its a good thing you decided to teach your kids spanish, its the 2nd most used language in the world and if they know spanish they can understand a bit of portuguese because they are very similar.

Yes, is true, my husband spoke Portuguese as a child and can surmise some Spanish. We probably won't be doing much other language for a few years, but when we start we should Skype or something, and you can talk to him :)

Cool! I will try to sound very teacher haaa

howdy this fine Thursday @ginnyannette! man..does any suck at making memories more than you do? lol! just teasing, no this sounds like a promising start, the boy is picking up books and reading on his own! I need to get that series, maybe it would help me read more! Next time we want some Iconic photos though!

Kids books are surprisingly entertaining, or maybe my intellect is decreasing from too much child related materials. You should check them out ;)

haha! maybe you are becoming a child again? your intellect is decreasing..lol. as long as your writing skills don't!
very clever for a Floridian ginnyannette!

Coming from you, I know that's a huge compliment.

yeah I guess that would be an earth-shaking type of compliment coming from me wouldn't it? lol. well don't get used to it!

SIX! Do I get a chocolate chip???

My son tries that give-an-answer-before-being-asked-a-question tactic too. Doesn't work. Tisk tisk.

I feel terribly ashamed. May I please have a chocolate chip to cheer me up? ;-)

Quick answer: seven minus three! Go!

Well, let's see . . . we carry the two and add the square root of the hypotenuse, so we get four with a 3.9 margin of error. (After all that, I probably still don't get any chocolate chips. Muttering, "Probably grade on a curve, too."

At the word "hypotenuse" I shut down. I'm not ready for language belonging to math above the fourth grade. Here, just take the whole bag.

(Grabbing bag by its hypotenuse) Good. I was afraid you were going to ask me what it means. ;-)

At least you are starting. Summer is flying by, and I want to give homeschooling a try this fall for my first born. Age-wise she could wait until next year. I have to start preparing now, or I'll just skip it completely..
As for memory making, you’d be amazed at what memories they’ll end up cherishing when they are older. Picture taking may not end up being as big of deal as you think it may.

It does take a long time to put together what you want to do, and then it always changes throughout the year. Good luck on your plans.

Yes, I think you may be right about the memory making.

Martial arts is a great idea! I hope he loves it.

So far so good. We have our second class coming up soon, so we will see how it goes.

How did it ever get to be school time so soon? The leaves here are beginning to yellow. Yesterday a wind gust created showers of golden leaves. Soon they will be orange and red then brown and dead. I love fall but miss Fl. in winter.
Sounds like you make learning really fun. All kids should be so lucky.

Summer has been dragging a bit for me, but it will keep dragging because it won't really be fall here for a long time. Halloween is usually hot. I would like to experience your leaves.

Thanks, learning is fun most of the time around here.

My little girls first trick or treat year it snowed. I think it will be cold early again this year. I will be sure to get pics for all of you sweltering Steemians. I know I always look at the beach pics with envy when it is below zero at my house.

I would like to see those pics. Snow on Halloween? That's a bummer for showing off a costume, unless you are dressing up as an Eskimo. I really like chilly fall weather, but don't care much for winter. I end up getting no fall and a bit of winter :)

I lived in Fl. for a while. Somehow or other the 60's temps become cold weather after the first year. Strange how the body adapts. I admit I did miss fall and spring. Winter not so much.

Yes, the body does adapt, although some slower than others. I knew a lady from Wisconsin that came down here for a summer and couldn't handle the heat. But, I'd probably be afraid to step outside in the winter up there.

Well I am afraid to step out in the winter much and I live here lol It is not as bad as Wisconsin though. You should do a "snow day" with the kids. I feel sorry for the ones that get no snow days

We should. Maybe we will head to the mountains one of these winter days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40