Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode DLXVIII

in #blog7 years ago

Last week I showed you the old manuals from my Apple ][+ that I still had lying around. Well here's another piece of Apple history. The Apple ][+ came with a whopping 64k of memory with the expansion card. 48k without. While it was fun to try to do stuff on it you really couldn't do much with 64k of memory. Sure if you wanted to constantly swap floppy disks you could read and write but that was tedious and the more complicated your program became to do that swapping the less memory you had left as the program ate the memory. That's where this was supposed to come in. Well the part it's for. This is from a 1 meg memory expansion card for the Apple ][. I say it was supposed to solve those 64k memory problems because it really didn't. It was memory but it wasn't really. The only thing that it could be used for at least under DOS was a glorified RAM drive. You could copy stuff too it but you couldn't use it to run programs or anything like that. I don't remember if you could write to it from programs but even if you could you still had to get that back to floppy if you wanted to save it. So yea I had an Apple ][+ with over 1meg of memory but really it was still just a 64k machine.



First 100 Episode Recap | Second 100 Episode Recap | Third 100 Episode Recap |
Fourth 100 Episode Recap | Fifth 100 Episode Recap | Follow Me | Witness Proposal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79