Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode DCLXIV

in #blog6 years ago

Have a couple of old bottles of champagne for this weeks bottle. These are a bit different for a couple of reasons. First and most noticeable is the size of the bottles. They are smaller than normal bottles. If you look at the label you will see that it says 4/5 pint. Normal bottles are 4/5 quart. A fifth is normally considered 4/5 quart which is 1/5 of a gallon. These bottles are half that size but are still called fifths due to some old standards from 1979. The second difference is the bottles are red. That's because the champagne is burgundy. Yes red champagne. Never seen anyone drink red champagne. Pink yes. Red no. There is also something weird about the way it's labeled. It's mad by Great Western and the label on the neck of the bottle say Great Western Champagne. The main label doesn't include the word champagne but calls it Sparkling Burgundy. I would assume this is an attempt to pass it off as champagne but they can't call it champagne since it was made in New York. Little deceptive labeling . I've never tried this. I have no clue how old these bottles are. I know I have at least 5 of them. I would guess they were bought as a case so they may date back to the early 70's or even before.



First 100 Episode Recap | Second 100 Episode Recap | Third 100 Episode Recap |
Fourth 100 Episode Recap | Fifth 100 Episode Recap | Sixth 100 Episode Recap |
Witness Proposal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49