Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode DCCCXCVIII

in #blog6 years ago

Sometimes even the simplest items have an interesting history. Such appears to be the case with this item. A simple ashtray with a business logo on it. Think nothing of it and toss it in a box. Then you google it and find an old New York Times article. Seems this place had a bit of history. Built in 1927 then split into 2 for the 1939 World's Fair only to be merged back together in 1966 then torn down in 1982. That mean this ashtray has to be from sometime between 1939 and 1966 when the Abbey Hotel was a separate entity. I couldn't find any info on the ashtray itself to narrow the year down anymore. That leave the question of how my Grandmother and now me came to be in possession of this ashtray. There are many possibilities. As far as my Mom knows my Grandmother never went to New York. My Grandfather would have but way before 1939. That leaves a couple of possibilities. It was a souvenir someone brought to her bar (possibly from the World's Fair) or it belonged to someone else in the family. Two of my Grandmothers brothers were in World War 2. Likely they passed though New York, Reality is I will probably never know. But what I do know is this is clearly a piece of history now.


First 100 Episode Recap | Second 100 Episode Recap | Third 100 Episode Recap |
Fourth 100 Episode Recap | Fifth 100 Episode Recap | Sixth 100 Episode Recap |
Seventh 100 Episode Recap | Eighth 100 Episode Recap | Witness Proposal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68