Live To Eat: @Ramengirl Gifted Me Spicy Korean Ramen Noodles & It Was Awesome!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

We love instant noodles in India. Many of us grew up on eating Maggi noodles and Top Ramen brand of cup noodles in the country. Even today, whenever I'm in the mood for instant noodles I try some of these, especially Wai Wai.

I'm a foodie and I love trying out different cuisine wherever I go. I've been trying to locate the exact pack of cup ramen that @ramengirl gave me for sometime now but I haven't been able to find it. I even looked for it on my trip around Malaysia. Anyways, I thought it would be great to share with you my experience of trying out instant noodles from South Korea!

At Steemfest 2017, dear Steemian from South Korea, @ramengirl gifted me this awesome cup of ramen noodles. Unfortunately I don't have a picture with @ramengirl and if my memory serves me right, she took a selfie on her camera. I hope to get that picture from her later.

Once I returned home I decided to give it a try. The ramen packaging said Fire and I was compelled to call it the 'Firepower' Noodles! It was Hot Chicken Flavor Ramen or buldak-bokkeum-myeon in Korean. It'll bring some Firepower in your stomach for sure!

If i remember correctly, it had two sachets inside for flavouring. One of them was the spicy red sauce. My mother felt I would die if I eat them but I was so tempted that I put loads of the sauce into the cup and added some boiling water and closed the lid.

It took a few minutes to warm it up. I mixed it up properly and I must say it was actually delicious. It was also very spicy but it was manageable for me. Off late my stomach has become rather sensitive but few months ago I could handle spicy food just fine.

It was the first time trying any type of Korean noodles and I enjoyed it very much. I'm quite surprised they like such spicy stuff. I suppose I have a lot to learn about South Korean culture and cuisine.

Actually, my experience of Korean food is rather limited to only Kimchi. I hope to visit South Korea in the next year or so and try out their cuisine. It took a few minutes for the spices to settle in and I could feel the warmth in my stomach after a while. It was really spicy. But I enjoyed it very much! I just kept the air-conditioner turned on for a while! ;)

The noodles is from a company called Samyang. They are popular for making many varieties of instant noodles in South Korea. It became famous due to the Fire Noodles Challenge. Yes! I was just as surprised to learn about this.


With the one and only @Ramengirl. It was wonderful meeting you at Steemfest!

Thank you @ramengirl for introducing me to these amazing noodles from Korea. I had no idea how popular they are around the world. It was great to try them out and I hope someday I can get some awesome noodles in South Korea itself. Please share our picture from Steemfest if you have them on Steem.Chat and I would be happy to include it in the post.

Fire Noodles Challenge

I found this soon after I ate the noodles and googled it. The challenge became viral with people filming themselves eating a bowl of Hot Chicken Flavour Ramen. I found a video that had over 2.6 Million hits on Youtube. It's insane how many views this video has on YT!

There are a large variety of cup noodles from Korea. Infact that are websites dedicated to reviewing Instant noodles. There are freaking communities out there dedicated to noodles. It's amazing how people love these things.


Source

If you love spicy noodles and want to buy one of this Samyang 2xSpicy Korean noodles in India then you can get them here on Amazon!

If you love instant noodles then this post on The Ramen Rater tells you about some of the best instant noodles in the world. If you are in India don't forget to try out the following.


Source

Post Your Favorite Noodles In The Comments Below!

So let's hear it and see it. If you've had what you think is the best packet of noodles in the world, share it with me in the comments below. I'd love to find out more varieties of noodles from different parts of the world and maybe I'll try them out when I travel. I may also upvote any interesting suggestions I find in the comments on this post.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Steem.Chat Contest #22
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Cryptocurrency India: An Update Regarding Reserve Bank's Ban & Link To Petition!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Was it not too hot for you? For this cup noodle you're actually supposed to pour in boiled water into the cup, wait a while (approx. 2min) then pour out the water and THEN put in the hot sauce! But if you still enjoyed it your way that's fine :)

We actually cuisine in India which are extremely spicy. I've had those too in the past. Noodles was totally fine but I don't think I can have many of these regularly.

(ICO) WELL - Airbnb of Healthcare
powered by blockchain

https://goo.gl/VtQ6rF ----- WEBSITE
Excuse me for advertising. It is necessary to earn. I'll try to stop soon. :)

Omg!! This was the best ramen review I've ever seen​!
I'm glad you liked it!!!!!! <3

I just sent the picture as well! So sorry, I totally forgot about sending it to you :/

आपको बहुत - बहुत धन्यवाद! स्टीमफेस्ट 2018 में आपको मिलते हैं!

Thank you so much for the picture. I've updated my post with it. It was great seeing you and I look forward to 2018 Steemfest and hope to spend more time with you there. :)

As an Indian living in Seoul, I must say that Korean noodles are amazing but nothing beats good ol' Top Ramen!

And Korean cuisine is actually pretty similar to Indian flavours! I really enjoy it. Let me know if you do make the trip here :)

Hey! Thanks for the headsup. :)

Oh oh! Completely forgot about something else. Chennai has a huge Korean community so they've got a nice Korean store set up where you can buy things like spicy ramen, kimchi, sesame oil, seaweed paper, korean rice, dried mushroom, etc. If you don't want to travel as far as Korea, there's always Chennai :D

AirBrush_20180422170538.jpg

I had no idea korean noodles was so lovely. Here is a picture of a major brand in Nigeria called Indomie noodles . This 'onion' flavor is my favorite and I like it spicy with some extra chilli, green peas, diced carrots and some shredded fish or chicken . Okay! now i'm hungry... lol

Thank you for sharing this with me. :) I'll be sure to try this whenever i'm in Nigeria. :)

This is my favourite noodle here in Nigeria, so nice to know my brother @firepower is a foodie just like me, why not think of organizing a steemit.chat contest with the caption *what's your best food and why?

I love noodles a whole lot because it's easier to prepare and time saving.

FB_IMG_1524412271107.jpg

FB_IMG_1524412297313.jpg

FB_IMG_1524412318437.jpg

I want my share too @ramengirl
Thanks @firepower for visiting my blog generously last time. I'm so loving you brother.

Thanks for your comment dude. Btw, where is this noodles available?

Nigeria and most African nations

IMG_20180422_152526_446.JPG

There are many noodles but This noodles is still the best here in Nigeria

What is the name of this brand? Couldn't see it clearly in the small image you've posted.

It is indomie noodles Sir

I wanted to try those noodles in Venezuela and sell them packed in supermarkets like you, it must be an excellent flavor and easy to make

What brand is the one in your comment?

I'd also love seeing more people posting their favorite ramen from their country here. I really enjoyed the post, it was really entertaining as I'm an instant ramen lover myself but I don't really do well with spicy food haha. These are my fave kind, but I couldn't manage to find any picture with the garlic flavored ones, that's the best flavor in my opinion. IMG_4030.JPG

Very nice! Which country is this available at?

@firepower You know your trip helps you to connect with people's and make a special place in the heart. We explore new things this way and we observed and find something Which is far away from our eyes and imagination.

You are doing good for Steemit community and for Steemians.

In return people support you and show their love by giving you nice gift which helps them to reminiscent by you. This is the best way to make a special place in someone mind, heart and it's natural.

The good thing is that you like spicy food and she gives you Korean Ramen Noodles.

firepower Noodles

I will surely try the noodles you suggest, at least I can eat these noodles in India otherwise I don't get a chance to visit Korea and never get a chance to try their food and recipes.

Thank you so much for the kind words bro. :)

Oh looks yummy! I spend months eating it when I visited India. Became even professional in cooking it the Indian way with different spices and ingredients :)

oh wow that's nice! Where are you from?

I am from Tunisia, but Bollywood are very famous here since years. I visited Bangalore, Chennai and Kerala. What a very nice experience, but spend the most of time in Bangalore :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14